We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was dirty, but the manager made it right.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3041 West 12th Street, Erie, PA 16505 (Formerly Hampton Inn Erie - North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Erie
roseville, MI
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Room was dirty, but the manager made it right.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We checked in, and the room had not been cleaned very well. The bed had not received fresh sheets and pillowcases, as evidenced by the body hair on the sheets and the stains on the pillowcases. However, the night manager made it right.
Unsupportive mattress, beware those with a back sensitive to this. Average free breakfast. Completely mediocre in almost every other way. I can't believe the number of five-star reviews. This hotel is worn, and could use an update, but what do you expect for Erie, PA.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    58
    37
    16
    9
See reviews for
49
38
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Stayed 3 nights at the Comfort Inn on 12th Street. Easy check in, they had our room available even though we were there before normal check in time. Friendly staff. Earned a free night stay. Room clean. Furniture up-dated. Close to Presque Isle and other attractions easy to get around. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Super market with in couple of miles.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

we got out of here within 5 minutes......the only thing the ac/heating unit emitted was a loud buzzing noise......the door handle/lock was jamming/sticking, heaven help the occupants if there was a fire......when we picked up the phone to call down to the front desk, it was all sticky and disgusting.....when we went to write down the address of the hotel we were switching to, all the papers on the desks, etc. were coffee stained.....as we were leaving we told the front desk person..why and that he should tell the manager, all he said was he didn't care, it wasn't his job

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Had reservations. When we arrived the lobby was overflowing with pre teens in town for a hocky tournament. Would have cancelled and gone elsewhere but everything in town was full. Desk clerk assured us none of the group would be on the third floor - wrong. Kids ran up and down the hall until almost 11PM. Room itself was very nice, clean, well furnished. Location was quite a ways from I79, the mall area and the casino, but near Presque Isle State Park. Breakfast was adequate, seating area a little small. Depending on what you plan to do in Erie, this motel might be a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed over on a Saturday evening after a day of traveling along the lake to the wineries and seeing an Erie Otters game. While it could use a bit of refreshing as far as furniture (a bit dated and worn), it is a very affordable, clean choice! We checked in very quickly with a friendly young man and headed right up to our room. Room was quite large. The king bed and pillows were comfortable. Bathroom was spotless! Even though there was a hockey team staying on our floor, it was very quiet at night. Breakfast the next morning was really nice for a Comfort Inn! Waffles, eggs, sausage along with cereal, fruits and muffins, etc. Good way to start our 2 hour trip home. Would stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We are from Erie, and go back to visit from time to time. When we do, we always stay here; excellent location, great rates, very nice staff.

The positive reviews are accurate; this is a former Hampton, and they retain the same level of staff courtesy and a great breakfast.

Erie is known for small neighborhood bars serving ox roast sandwiches; it's not really ox, just tasty marinated sliced beef. The best ox roast in Erie is at the Pittsburgh Inn on West 8th st. They have a full menu also. Be sure to try the Smith's hot dogs!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Nice, comfortable rooms. The pillows are devine! Spacious, modern bathrooms. Included in the nightly rate is a very nice breakfast served every morning from 6-10am. When you're travelling with children, this is a great value. The staff was friendly and helpful, even the housekeepers. They have an outdoor heated pool, which the kids loved, and helped us fill up downtime between activities.
The hotel is close to many restaurants, from fast food to casual to a Japanese steak house/sushi bar across the street. And it's only minutes from Presque Isle and the amusement/water park. They run a shuttle to the casino on weekends.
This is really a nice place to stay for a family vacation that involves Presque Isle and/or the amusement park. The complimentary breakfast makes this Comfort Inn a great value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 3041 West 12th Street, Erie, PA 16505 (Formerly Hampton Inn Erie - North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Erie
Comfort Inn Erie
Erie Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.