We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good, but still smell of smoke in parts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3041 West 12th Street, Erie, PA 16505 (Formerly Hampton Inn Erie - North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Generally good, but still smell of smoke in parts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We enjoyed our stay--beautiful pool out back, great breakfast with make-your-own waffles for breakfast. But we still could smell cigarette smoke in our bathroom, and didn't realize how annoying that can be until you smell it. Bed linens are lovely and beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    56
    37
    16
    9
See reviews for
46
38
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed here while travelling by bicycle. I called to reserve a room by phone and did not want to read my credit card number over the phone in public. They held the room anyway. While I was there, the courtesy shuttle driver was kind enough to allow me to ride to a nearby drugstore. The property is clean and well-located near some restaurants. It is probably the closest motel to the airport if you need that. The room was clean and well-equipped and very quiet. The price was fair for the location and the amenities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here twice and both times we were greeted with politeness and rooms were clean. Our grandson loved the pool as it was warm and plenty of toys for the kids. The beds were comfortable and we slept very well.

Room Tip: Overall it is a nice quiet place to rest and very good breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel the last week of June and overall it was a nice hotel! We stayed at this hotel a few years ago and we really enjoyed the newly renovated rooms with large TV's and free Wifi!
The location is great and a lot of restaurants will deliver to this hotel. The room was clean and large. We ended up with an accessible room but it worked out ok. The AC worked well and was quiet. We were on the first floor beside the "A" entrance and it was fabulous - so close to our car if we needed to run out to get anything. I thought it would be loud with the dining area not far away along with the registration desk but it was so nice and quiet. We really enjoyed this hotel and we would return the next time we are in Erie!

Room Tip: Any room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Checking in after 4 pm, I was surprised to hear that our room wasn't clean yet. When we got to the room and found that the wall paper was dated, the carpethadahuge stain, the refrigerator was missing, and the room smelled like urine. When I picked up the phone to call the front desk, I found that it was broken. Save your money and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We started staying here about 5 years ago and it was pretty good albeit pricey. I stay a lot at Fairfield Inns that don't cost much more but get a lot more. This being about year 5 it's going down the slippery slope. Showing wear and dirt. We are not smokers but took a smoking room and the smell is incredibly terrible. I have had to stay in smoking rooms before where at least an effort is made to quell the stinky aroma. NOT HERE! This would be great place for Captain Obvious to make an ad of where not to stay. Sorry to see it slide downhill. Location is good but we will try another place next time. We opened the window a tad to try and evacuate some stink and it darn near fell out!
All hotels should adopt no smoking except outside. Here they get the convenient rooms on the bottom floor where they should get the top floor.

Room Tip: Consider another hotel a little further out for a nicer facility. This one is going downhill sorry t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

OK, this was a decent place and I would stay here again

Stayed here one night, 6/20/2014, and was pleased it was a decent place. I pulled up around 10pm and there were several people outside the front entrance in animated but pleasing chatter. The lobby had 4 or 5 groups of people talking, several had children under 12 years old. All seemed like a lively well attended hotel. Front desk was pleasant enough and they checked me in quickly. I went to park around back and when I got out of my car there were 40 or so people at the outdoor pool, many children included, all having a fun time with the pool there. I knew I chose a good family hotel. Definitely I would stay here again.
A few notes:

- room was clean and nice size
- room was cooled with a/c before I arrived: nice!
- bedding good with 5 pillows for king bed, pillows comfortable
- the bed turned out to be comfortable for sure
- the sheets crisp and clean
- a nice 34" or 37" TV with good channels
- fridge & microwave
- bathroom clean and good size
- plenty of towels, clean and not too old
- room work area adequate with comfortable chair
- decent room lighting
- in-room Internet worked well, easy to connect
- free breakfast was good. Eggs, sausage, waffles, breads, fruit- decent quality and a bit better than I would have expected for this level hotel

Like I said, I would stay here again no problem!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 3041 West 12th Street, Erie, PA 16505 (Formerly Hampton Inn Erie - North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Erie
Comfort Inn Erie
Erie Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.