We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good, but still smell of smoke in parts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3041 West 12th Street, Erie, PA 16505 (Formerly Hampton Inn Erie - North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Generally good, but still smell of smoke in parts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We enjoyed our stay--beautiful pool out back, great breakfast with make-your-own waffles for breakfast. But we still could smell cigarette smoke in our bathroom, and didn't realize how annoying that can be until you smell it. Bed linens are lovely and beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Comfort Inn. We are glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    58
    37
    16
    9
See reviews for
49
38
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed here while travelling by bicycle. I called to reserve a room by phone and did not want to read my credit card number over the phone in public. They held the room anyway. While I was there, the courtesy shuttle driver was kind enough to allow me to ride to a nearby drugstore. The property is clean and well-located near some restaurants. It is probably the closest motel to the airport if you need that. The room was clean and well-equipped and very quiet. The price was fair for the location and the amenities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. It is our pleasure to help our guests have the most enjoyable stay possible. Thank you for staying at the Comfort Inn. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here twice and both times we were greeted with politeness and rooms were clean. Our grandson loved the pool as it was warm and plenty of toys for the kids. The beds were comfortable and we slept very well.

Room Tip: Overall it is a nice quiet place to rest and very good breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Comfort Inn. We are glad to hear your grandson was able to utilize and enjoy the pool. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel the last week of June and overall it was a nice hotel! We stayed at this hotel a few years ago and we really enjoyed the newly renovated rooms with large TV's and free Wifi!
The location is great and a lot of restaurants will deliver to this hotel. The room was clean and large. We ended up with an accessible room but it worked out ok. The AC worked well and was quiet. We were on the first floor beside the "A" entrance and it was fabulous - so close to our car if we needed to run out to get anything. I thought it would be loud with the dining area not far away along with the registration desk but it was so nice and quiet. We really enjoyed this hotel and we would return the next time we are in Erie!

Room Tip: Any room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
It is a pleasure to hear you were satisfied with your experience at the Comfort Inn. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Checking in after 4 pm, I was surprised to hear that our room wasn't clean yet. When we got to the room and found that the wall paper was dated, the carpethadahuge stain, the refrigerator was missing, and the room smelled like urine. When I picked up the phone to call the front desk, I found that it was broken. Save your money and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We started staying here about 5 years ago and it was pretty good albeit pricey. I stay a lot at Fairfield Inns that don't cost much more but get a lot more. This being about year 5 it's going down the slippery slope. Showing wear and dirt. We are not smokers but took a smoking room and the smell is incredibly terrible. I have had to stay in smoking rooms before where at least an effort is made to quell the stinky aroma. NOT HERE! This would be great place for Captain Obvious to make an ad of where not to stay. Sorry to see it slide downhill. Location is good but we will try another place next time. We opened the window a tad to try and evacuate some stink and it darn near fell out!
All hotels should adopt no smoking except outside. Here they get the convenient rooms on the bottom floor where they should get the top floor.

Room Tip: Consider another hotel a little further out for a nicer facility. This one is going downhill sorry t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Comfort Inn. I truly apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. We are looking to change the hotel to all non smoking as well as complete renovations in the near future. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us, as it helps us to know what we are doing, right or wrong. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

OK, this was a decent place and I would stay here again

Stayed here one night, 6/20/2014, and was pleased it was a decent place. I pulled up around 10pm and there were several people outside the front entrance in animated but pleasing chatter. The lobby had 4 or 5 groups of people talking, several had children under 12 years old. All seemed like a lively well attended hotel. Front desk was pleasant enough and they checked me in quickly. I went to park around back and when I got out of my car there were 40 or so people at the outdoor pool, many children included, all having a fun time with the pool there. I knew I chose a good family hotel. Definitely I would stay here again.
A few notes:

- room was clean and nice size
- room was cooled with a/c before I arrived: nice!
- bedding good with 5 pillows for king bed, pillows comfortable
- the bed turned out to be comfortable for sure
- the sheets crisp and clean
- a nice 34" or 37" TV with good channels
- fridge & microwave
- bathroom clean and good size
- plenty of towels, clean and not too old
- room work area adequate with comfortable chair
- decent room lighting
- in-room Internet worked well, easy to connect
- free breakfast was good. Eggs, sausage, waffles, breads, fruit- decent quality and a bit better than I would have expected for this level hotel

Like I said, I would stay here again no problem!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience at the Comfort Inn with other travelers. We appreciate you taking the time to do so. It is always a pleasure to hear that a guest has enjoyed their stay at our facility. We look forward to your next trip to Erie and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 3041 West 12th Street, Erie, PA 16505 (Formerly Hampton Inn Erie - North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Erie
Comfort Inn Erie
Erie Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.