We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but frustratingly expensive. Needs a few tweaks to be worth $$” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3041 West 12th Street, Erie, PA 16505 (Formerly Hampton Inn Erie - North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Erie
Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice, but frustratingly expensive. Needs a few tweaks to be worth $$”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hard one to review. Erie in the summer = expensive rooms. Just the way it is. The place is pretty clean, the front desk quite friendly, the lobby is huge, but then you have a few "gotchas". Normally I wouldn't ding a place as hard as I do for these, but the big gotcha is the price. About 180 a night for a single room, two double beds. For THAT, I expect a refrigerator/microwave in EVERY room, not just the kings, and I expect working ice machines on every floor. They're a bit landlocked, so parking can be an issue too. Overall I'd say I'd rate it 3.5 stars - it would get 4 stars easy if the refrigerator/microwave comment were addressed (and let's be serious - at these prices, it really, really needs to be addressed) and the general maintenance of things in the building (ice machines, etc) were a bit better. Almost there, but not quite. I honestly don't know if I'll come back - I haven't made up my mind on that yet, which probably means you (the reader) have some comparison shopping/reading to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    62
    46
    18
    10
See reviews for
58
43
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was the perfect hotel for our 2-night visit to Erie. We gals were on a shopping trip and found this hotel had everything we needed at a great price! They offer a nice free breakfast in the morning (7AM-10AM), the beds were pretty good and the outdoor swimming pool was a nice spot to unwind with a cocktail, and a dip after shopping all day. Yes, the décor is a little tired but the staff was very pleasant and it was everything we needed. It was 12 minutes drive to Millcreek Mall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel if very close to Presque Isle and would be a great choice for visitors there. But for the business traveler not the best.
I found the hotel to be clean and well taken care of. Rooms were old but clean. The AC in my room could have been a little colder. Room had very few plugs and no desk so it was challenging to work on my computer. There was a small table though. Most frustrating was the WiFi. It was strong in the lobby but horrible in my rooms I could not keep signal. Making for an unproductive night

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

When I book a 2-star hotel, I know what I'm getting. But the Comfort Inn in Erie had a few surprises up its sleeve. Good ones. First off, Bobby at the front desk was immensely helpful, giving me directions to local wineries and restaurants, and the fellow in the morning was just as accommodating. Also, the room was much bigger than I anticipated. Another plus. The room itself was clean and, for a smoking room, was surprisingly free of odor and burns. Great quality for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Overpriced. Old. Dingy. Dark. Depressing. Lobby even smells old and musty to go along with it.
At $50-70 a night this wouldn't have been a bad place. But for $130, are you kidding me? Next time I will stick with The Glass House Inn when I am in Erie. Its also old, but not dirty, or smelly, and the AC works amazing. And the front desk there is always awesome.
Anyway, to be specific about this hotel, because I hate vague reviews. Walking into this hotel was disappointing right off the bat. The lobby is dark, the carpet is worn, and it smells. Made me nervous for my room. Got to my room, thankfully it smelled better than the lobby and hallways. The comforters and blankets were very old and gross and you could not tell if and when those were ever washed, lots of questionable stains on the underside. Nasty. Also, when we walked in the sheets were half off the bed!!! Not like someone had slept there, but like the housekeepers just threw them on and walked away. Brilliant, now I get to make the bed before I go to sleep. Pillows were hard and and small like blocks, and not comfortable. Carpet was worn and had lots of stains. Noisy AC that barely cooled the room. Was hot all night. They do have very nice flat screen tv's that we enjoyed!
Now for the bathroom. It at least appeared clean. The water pressure in the shower was terrible!!! We turned on the shower and just had to laugh it was so bad. I couldn't even get mad anymore I just felt like we were on candid camera. It came out in a single trickle. So much for rinsing my hair.Too bad Tripadvisor doesn't allow videos! Oh, and the faucet almost came out of the wall when I tried to turn it on.
There is no fitness center provided. Huge turnoff. Did not try the pool.
Breakfast- Stale Cheerios!!!!! I actually spit them out. And they are one of my favorite cereals - generic or name brand. Then I tried a bagel. Stale, couldn't even bite into it. So I went with the waffles. They were good. My boyfriend tried a couple of the other baked things, all stale and hard. They of course had standard hotel eggs also. Coffee was good at least!
The people that rated this hotel highly obviously have low standards and don't travel much to know what a hotel of this price range should be. (or maybe I got a really bad deal on this place!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Staff is great. Free breakfast is always a good perk. Rooms are very out dated and rather dingy. Mattress is worn out and the ac isnt the greatest.You could find better around this area for the same price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LATROBE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very worn comforters, bathroom filthy, microwave unclean, very dated, not enough room to eat breakfast in lobby (too many kids putting hands into food and putting stuff back), no elevator, had to lug all luggage up steps, refrigerator did not keep water and food cold. Buyer beware.....they charge high prices for poor quality rooming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
6.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#10 of 36 in Erie
4.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
5.1 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 3041 West 12th Street, Erie, PA 16505 (Formerly Hampton Inn Erie - North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Erie
Comfort Inn Erie
Erie Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.