We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot for a quick stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3041 West 12th Street, Erie, PA 16505 (Formerly Hampton Inn Erie - North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good spot for a quick stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We recently stayed here to break up our trip home New York. The hotel is basically average.
It was worth the cost in terms of convenience and amenities that we required. It was fairly priced with our AAA discount which made it an even better bargain on a Saturday night.

The room was clean. The bed was seriously incredibly comfortable as were the pillows. The bathroom was clean but definitely out-dated and in need of some TLC.

The check in process was simple and the woman at the front desk was probably the second nicest woman I have ever encountered upon checkin into a hotel. I wish I had remembered her name but she was truly wonderful.

I liked this hotel and would stay again for the price.

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    56
    37
    16
    9
See reviews for
46
38
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lady Lake, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This comfort inn, as most are, was very clean and quiet. Erie, pa is a lovely town to visit and this property made the stay that much more enjoyable. The breakfast was nice, the property could use a little updating but for the price was a safe, secure place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chili, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

In town for a wedding, got this room as a block saved for attendees. While our room was a non-smoking room, in order to get to it from an entrance at back parking lot, we had to pass through a corridor with smoking rooms. Until we got a parking spot out front (no more than a dozen spaces) we went to our room by other entrances. Other than that it was an average place, nice that they had breakfast there.

Room Tip: Ask where your room is when registering so as to avoid the smoky section!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, and had a discount rate due to a block of rooms being held for a wedding. The room was clean and comfortable. Maintenance was done, but like our closet unit, it had 2 different handles on it, but then, it had handles. Our room door did not close all the way on it's own and you had to pull it to make sure it latched. Ice machine on our floor did not work. The breakfast was the same each day we were there. The eggs were no doubt poured from a carton and really had no taste. The sausages were good, and they had plenty of cereals, breads, danishes and other continental type food. It was good, but nothing special.
We were initially told that they had a shuttle that could take us to the wedding reception, but another desk clerk told us that they are typically for the airport, and are not very dependable. for other destinations. We asked the desk clerk for directions to a couple of places, and he wasn't that sure of how to get there. Glad I had my GPS.

Room Tip: If you book a king, yo have a microwave and fridge in your room. Stay away fro the smoking rooms, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

After a bad experiance at the Avalon Hotel in Erie on Sept 30th.2012 Mark came to our rescue.Upon answering the phone my wife told Mark our pridicament.We are at the Avalon and they shut their air off for the winter but it is Sept.30th its fall not winter and still pretty warm.The room is 90 degrees and they told us to open the windows.....no screens.We ask for refund and are told we have to call Hotels one who we booked with.We do and get refund.Terrible Terrible place.Mark at Comfort Inn took care of my wife and I by giving us an upgrade and making us very comfortable.Thank you Mark upon being so professional.........

Room Tip: Do not stay in town Erie the older Hotels like the Avalon and Sheraton at this time of the year shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flourtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is easy to find and not far from Mercyhurst and Gannon Universities which was important for our visit. It is a fairly standard hotel. Flat screen tv, around 35 tv stations available and HBO. It was September and about high 60's during the day and cool at night, but the room was very warm. I opened the window and turned on the AC but it took a long time to cool. The bed was OK, but the pillows were smallish squares and not very comfortable. The Front Desk offers passes to a local excise center which was an excellent alternative to a small exercise room in the hotel. Breakfast was the standard free hot meal with make your own waffles, prefab eggs patties, sausage, and variety of breads, pastries, and cereal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Inn near Presque Isle and the Erie Airport for 2 nights. Upon arrival, we realized that this hotel had previously been a Hampton Inn (until 2004). The room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the pillows the best yet of any hotel in which we've stayed. The furnishings have been changed out from the Hampton's to Comfort Inn's dated designs, but they did the job. Our room had 2 double beds with a night-table between them, a luggage table, a dresser with a flatscreen TV, a wardrobe, and a small table with 2 easychairs. There was an in-room coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, and a hairdryer in the bathroom.

Unfortunately, when we went into the bathroom, we noticed a smell of cigarette smoke in the wooden bathroom door. We closed the bathroom door before going out, assuming that a prior guest had chosen to smoke in the bathroom of this non-smoking guestroom. When we returned to the room later with air fresheners in hand, and opened the bathroom door, the whole bathroom reeked of cigarette smoke. There was a vent in the bathroom, but no exhaust fan -- Apparently, the ventilation system for the bathrooms connects to all the other rooms, including the smoking rooms. The bathroom reeked, the stack of fresh towels reeked (but hadn't when I checked them when we first smelled the odor), and the shower curtain reeked. We took our toiletries and towels out of the bathroom, and kept the door closed for the remainder of our stay. With the door closed, the odor of the smoke did not transfer into the main room. I cannot speak for any of the other rooms, but I did hear another woman speak of the same problem at breakfast on our last morning at the hotel.

On our first morning at the hotel, we got down to the lobby at 9:54 for breakfast, knowing that breakfast was "served until 10:00am". There was nothing left -- no hot food, no batter for waffles, no pastries. My husband grabbed the last slice of bread. The breakfast attendant walked by my husband, and said, "I'm closing in 5 minutes, I'm not replenishing." So my husband visited the front desk, and told the clerk that there was no food, and asked for more to be brought out. The front desk clerk said he would speak to the breakfast attendant, and soon after a pile of sausage patties were brought out, but that was all. Now, I understand that the hotel does not want to waste food, but the full compliment of breakfast should be served until 10:00a.m., and a small amount of overage should be factored into costs. We've never had a problem with breakfast at any other hotel at which we've stayed in the past. It was certainly not a case of "taking care of our guests", when our 2-year-old and 5-year-old had to share the last piece of bread, the last half-cup of milk from the pitcher for cereal, and I had to spoon-feed them peanut butter for their breakfast. We tried the Oatie-O cereal (it was either stale or not real Cheerios), but the boys couldn't eat the dry (there was no milk) off-flavor cereal. Breakfast was a huge fail.

So, all-in-all, the location of the hotel is excellent for Presque Isle, but if you're a non-smoker or someone who cannot tolerate the smell of smoke, I certainly wouldn't recommend it. Nor would I recommend its complimentary breakfast offerings--seating is limited, the food seems off-brand, and the staff is not responsive.

Room Tip: There doesn't seem to be such a thing as a "smoke-free" room. The ventillation system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 3041 West 12th Street, Erie, PA 16505 (Formerly Hampton Inn Erie - North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Erie
Comfort Inn Erie
Erie Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.