We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Erie-South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Erie-South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Erie-South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8050 Old Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Gas Card!
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Erie
solihull
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed for one night on the way to Buffalo. Have stayed on these before, the rooms are comfortable, they have a guest laundry (sad I know but really useful) which was used to great effect. Ideally situated right off the 90, breakfast included and nice pool.

Room Tip: none have a great view so don't worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Erie. I am pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay. That is one thing that we strive for. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    107
    28
    17
    3
See reviews for
108
68
17
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren, PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were in Erie for Wine on the Lake. Wine on the Lake had a promotion with certain hotels to provide trolley service, but all those hotels were sold out by the time I made my plans, so we booked at the Hampton Inn.

This was a typical Hampton Inn stay. The staff was courteous and professional. When we checked in, the gentleman behind the counter asked if we would like a list of restaurants in the area. A nice touch. While the hallways and the rooms are a bit dated, everything was clean and our room was comfortable. It even included a small refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast in the morning was what we've come to expect from Hampton Inn -- scrambled eggs, sausage, french toast, etc.

Unfortunately, the Hampton Inn doesn't have a courtesy shuttle. We didn't want to drive back from Wine on the Lake, so we asked the front desk to call us a cab. There is only one cab service in Erie and they are woefully understaffed, so we were told the cab would pick us up within the hour. There are several other hotels in the area, so while we sat in the lobby waiting, we were able to watch a good number of shuttles from other hotels zip back and forth. Our cab arrived about 80 minutes later.

Our cab drivers both to and from Wine on the Lake were both friendly and professional and did their best to get us where we needed to be in terrible weather. I know this isn't really a problem with the hotel, but it is tucked back away from Peach St. along I-90, and besides other hotels and a Subway, there isn't much around. If you're without a vehicle and/or don't want to drive, I would suggest staying at one of the nearby hotels that provides a courtesy shuttle. You'll save time and money in the end.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn. Unfortunately, we do not offer shuttle service. I will pass on your comments to the corporate office and see if there is a chance that we can look into a shuttle. I am please to see you did enjoy the rest of our trip. Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhards Bay, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our family loved the pool! It was spacious, the temperature was perfect, and the staff during breakfast and the front desk were outstanding. They were attentive to all of our needs. The location of this hotel was perfect as there are lots of family activities near by including restaurants etc. We look forward to coming again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the hotel. I am very happy to hear that your family was able to take advantage of our indoor pool. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel was the usual high standard we have come to expect from Hampton Inn hotels. Great sleep and cheerful staff, what more can you ask for. We normally plan our trips using Hampton Inn as our destination for each day of travel, we know the quality of hotel is consistent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Erie. We pride ourselves to be apart of a company that has such high standards, high standards that are in place for you, our valued guest. Consistency is Hampton Inn's middle name. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We visited the Erie area as a family to look at homes. We knew the general area and chose Hampton based on rate, complimentary hot breakfast, and access to an indoor pool. Everything about our stay was great. We would definitely stay at this Hampton again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Erie. I'm glad to hear your stay was very nice. I hope your family was able to take advantage of all of our amenities, while here for your quick trip. Good luck on the house hunting and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

From the lobby, to the quiet and clean elevator and approaching our room I was impressed. The room was spotless, large, nice flat screen TV and the wifi worked perfectly. The quality of the breakfast was impressive with fresh fruit and both hot and cold item from which to choose. I would repeat a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Erie. We are very proud of the recent updates that were accomplished here in 2013 and we are happy to hear the positive feedback. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
504 helpful votes 504 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Large, comfortable room. Excellent free breakfast - fluffy mini-omlettes and make-your-own waffles along with the usual breads, fruit, oatmeal, cereal, etc. Lots of restaurants within a 5 minute drive. 24 hour coffee and tea in lobby. I'm a light sleeper and the freeway noise in our room didn't keep me up, but ask for a south-facing room if it's an issue.

Can be a bit hard to find the entrance, especially at night. Go south from the freeway, right at first light, then right on Old Oliver Rd. (obvious street sign before the turn).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the hotel. Your kind words about the hotel just make working here all the better, knowing we are keeping our guests satisfied. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Erie-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Erie-South

Address: 8050 Old Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Erie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#4 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Erie-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Erie-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Erie-South Hotel Erie
Erie Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Erie-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;