We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to Like?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Erie-South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Erie-South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Erie-South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8050 Old Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Gas Card!
Ranked #2 of 35 hotels in Erie
Tiburon, CA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
502 helpful votes 502 helpful votes
“What's not to Like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Large, comfortable room. Excellent free breakfast - fluffy mini-omlettes and make-your-own waffles along with the usual breads, fruit, oatmeal, cereal, etc. Lots of restaurants within a 5 minute drive. 24 hour coffee and tea in lobby. I'm a light sleeper and the freeway noise in our room didn't keep me up, but ask for a south-facing room if it's an issue.

Can be a bit hard to find the entrance, especially at night. Go south from the freeway, right at first light, then right on Old Oliver Rd. (obvious street sign before the turn).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the hotel. Your kind words about the hotel just make working here all the better, knowing we are keeping our guests satisfied. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    100
    29
    17
    3
See reviews for
104
64
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watervliet, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

our room is always clean and fresh and the staff is the most professional and friendly we have experienced! Everything is so clean that we ask for the same room each time. Look forward to our trip because we know we will be welcomed with open arms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about the Hampton Inn Erie. We pride ourselves on the longevity of our staff and the passion we have for our guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stopped here for the night, greeted by friendly staff at front desk.

The room was clean and spacious, the only compliant would be you could hear the highway traffic through out the night but they do supply you with ear plugs if needed, next time I would just request a room that didn't face the highway.

The complimentary breakfast was good, lots of choices.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Erie. I was excited to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. Hampton's recently updated their breakfasts foods and we have been hearing great reviews. I am sorry that you were on a room with the highway noise. We try to be proactive and place ear plugs in the rooms for the light sleepers. Next time you reserve a room here, yes, please request the parking lot side of the hotel. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clendenin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

we had a stay for several days for 11 rooms housing 2 basketball teams , coaches and chaperones. our stay was very good and the staff was great. during our stay, we encountered no problems except for some road noise on the back of the facility. great experience and will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Erie. I am glad to hear your group had a pleasant stay. I apologize for the truck noise, unfortunately some of our rooms are located on the highway side. I hope your group decides to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great spot, very comfortable sleeping and the Complimentary Breakfast was great. Great value for what we paid for a family of 4. Staff was very friendly and courteous with while we had breakfast. Would recommend this hotel to anyone passing thru on a trip south.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hampton Inn Erie. I am very happy to hear your family enjoyed their time here. I hope next time it could be for a bit longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I read many reviews before staying here.....we do business in Erie quite a bit and decided to try a new bed.....our normal at the holiday inn was just getting too uncomfortable, more like rock. Hampton has great beds but reviewers forgot to mention the ear plugs they leave by your bed are because you can possibly get a nights sleep without them! The trucks pass right by your window ALL NIGHT LONG! I hate earplugs but even I used them and could still hear the trucks whipping by! Never again....sorry guys!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We’re very sorry for the noise issue you encountered during your stay at our hotel. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. Your review will help us correct similar issues in the future. We hope that the next time you’re in the area, you’ll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Another great weekend. The staff was more than accommodating along with the rooms and breakfast. I talked to Tawnya for our group reservation, met her upon our arrival great person. Rooms clean, comfortable, good breakfast. We have been here many times and will be back for more. Many places to go and visit and always looking for different places to visit.

Room Tip: right off 1-90 convenient to malls, stores and other attractions
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of the Hampton Inn Erie. I am glad that you got to meet Tawnya first hand. She is a great addition to our staff. We hope to see your group again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Erie-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Erie-South

Address: 8050 Old Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Erie
#4 Business Hotel in Erie
#5 Romantic Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Erie-South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Erie-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Erie-South Hotel Erie
Erie Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Erie-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.