We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Place, Hot Room!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Erie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Erie to your Saves list
Residence Inn Erie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8061 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cool Place, Hot Room!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a Residence Inn that is probably most suited to families with younger children and to shoppers. It has undergone some renovation and I think there is still some renovation going on. The room was clean and quiet in spite of complaints I read to the contrary. The pool was a comfortable temperature, clean and in a very relaxing environment and the hot tub was suitably hot. The breakfast was more than adequate. The price for a 1 bedroom suite was very reasonable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Direct connection to Splash Lagoon is a plus for families who intend to use this facility (we did not). It’s only about an hour drive to the Grove City outlet mall from here, it is a far superior facility for the price, and there is much more to do in the area compared with the hotel offerings near Grove City. Our only complaint is that the air conditioning did not work. I tried adjusting it with no success. I called the desk before we left for a day of shopping and they promised to look after it. We returned to find no air conditioning. Apparently someone had come in and adjusted the thermostat but never came back to check to see if the adjustment had worked. By the time we got back there were no staff who could deal directly with the problem. So an old window air conditioner was brought in, set on a coffee table and the window was opened. Though a valiant effort, this was one of the silliest solutions I have ever seen. Fortunately we were given and accepted the alternative to move to a different room in which the air conditioning worked flawlessly. Upon checkout we discovered we had been awarded some reward points for our trouble. Few things in life are perfect and travel often involves inconveniences. Management were more than fair in terms of how they dealt with the problem in the end. I would caution however, that when you have a full day to deal with a problem, you want to follow up on a solution fairly soon after attempting it to ensure that it worked. If it doesn’t work, then you still have time to deal with it. This would in all likelihood have eliminated the problem and resulting inconvenience. Due to the overall quality of the hotel, pool, breakfast, and value for the money, and the genuine efforts by management to deal with the problem once it was understood, I would return to this hotel and recommend it to others. Just make sure you check the heating and air con to make sure everything is working properly before you go out!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Manager at Residence Inn Erie, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
On behalf of the Residence Inn Erie team, I would like to apologize for the concerns expressed regarding your recent stay with us. We hope to get another opportunity to provide the type of experience you have come to expect. Should we be able to be of any further assistance please contact the hotel directly and we would be more than happy to discuss.

Warmest regards, Staff & Management of the Residence Inn of Erie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    69
    31
    17
    12
See reviews for
127
29
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The recent upgrades at this hotel have added one more reason to make it my top choice to stay when ever in the area.

Close proximity to shopping, the splash lagoon, scores of dinning options are another reason apart from the great, very spacious, comfortable and well equipped suites that offer a far greater value and comfort than most of the other hotels in the area.

Having stayed there a couple of weeks ago, it was great to see a much improved hot breakfast, now being served on china instead of the disposable stuff.

Five stars to the staff as well for some great service.

A great value overall. Will definitely go back upon our next family trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Manager at Residence Inn Erie, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
The Residence Inn team thanks you for sharing your experience. We are so very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your visit and we look to the next time when we can be of service. Our spacious suites are the ideal setting for a family to stretch out and relax with all the touches of home.

Warmest regards, Staff & Management of the Residence Inn of Erie, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland,ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Decided to go to Erie for a last minute weekend trip and very glad we did. Found a couple of rooms at this hotel last minute thanks to Gloria. We told Gloria it was our 40th anniversary and she went all out to make sure everything went well. She recommended places to go which all turned out great. The rooms were outstanding. They were one bedrooms , very clean and very quiet. Price was great and everyone we met was terrific and helpful. Check out Bostons next door for great appetizers and drinks. Would absolutely stay here again . Thank you Gloria and staff for making everything wonderful.

Room Tip: Get the one bedroom with fireplace and whirlpool tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Manager at Residence Inn Erie, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
On behalf of the Residence Inn Team, I would like to thank you for taking the time to describe your recent stay with us. Our focus remains on providing service that exceeds your expectations, while offering spacious guest suites with all the touches of home. We believe in the spirit of hospitality and strive to provide all our guests with a home away from home.

Warmest regards, Staff & Management of the Residence Inn of Erie, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Staff were very good, courteous and helpful. Front desk excellent. Well suited to family with indoor pool at ground level. Needed a late checkout till 1600 and was pleasantly surprised when they arranged for a small fee. Would return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Manager at Residence Inn Erie, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are proud you chose to stay with us while visiting Erie. Our goal is to deliver a service experience that exceeds your expectations while providing a guest room with all the touches of home. We hope you will think of us again when you return to the area.

Best regards, Staff & Management of the Residence Inn of Erie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed here in February 2013 because it was the least expensive hotel attached to Splash Lagoon when booking at that time. I could not believe how nice this place was for the price we payed! First, if you are planning on going to Splash Lagoon this hotel was directly attached. They all are in a way but some hotels require you to walk through another hotel to get there. To me, this had the best location. The room was amazing. Big sectional couch, separate bedroom, and the biggest jacuzzi tub I have ever seen. I think you could fit 6 people in it! There is a full kitchen with utensils, fireplace, and dining table.
Breakfast was included and was really good. There was a big buffet and plenty of seating. You could also walk to Splash Lagoon to eat there if you wanted.
The location is great too. There are lots of stores and restaurants right next to the hotel. We went to Steak and Shake a lot!
We were staying at the Residence Inn on a freezing cold week but inside the hotel it was nice and warm. The pool was also VERY warm which was nice and the jacuzzi was nice and hot! We actually preferred to use the hotel pool and jacuzzi rather than go to Splash Lagoon because it was less crowded at the hotel. Even though there were lots of families it was still very quiet at night. This is a great place to stay especially if you are coming with a family.

Room Tip: If you are going to Splash Lagoon ask for a room close to the entrance. We got one just by chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Manager at Residence Inn Erie, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
On behalf of the Residence Inn team, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. Our goal is to provide a home away from home with a highly trained team motivated to exceed your expectations at every opportunity. We hope to see you again very soon.

Warmest regards, Staff & Management of the Residence Inn of Erie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stopped at this Residence Inn on our way to Ohio for 1 night.

We select Residence Inns because of the chain's policy of allowing pets. Rersidence Inns have a fixed charge of between $75-100 as a pet fee, no matter how long you stay. This is not an issue for us as we appreciate the room being sanitized after the previous pet occupant(s).

The room was conveniently located and the staff was very welcoming. However, it was clearly obvious that the rug in the room was badly in need of a shampooing. Several stains were noted and our dog was constantly sniffing at them untill I spot cleaned the rug with cleaner we carry with us in the unlikely evernt of an "accident". The remainder of the room and kitchen was very clean however for the Pet Fee charged, the hotel should have the rug cleaned after every visit; especially if stains are evident.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Manager at Residence Inn Erie, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We strive to provide a clean, comfortable home away from home where families have the room necessary to stretch out and relax. However in this situation, the guest suite was not prepared to reflect the high standards loyal Marriott travelers have and demand. We hope to hear from you as we would like the opportunity to further address the concerns you had with the hopes of getting another chance to exceed your expectations.

Warmest regards, Staff & Management of the Residence Inn of Erie, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Definitely not up to expectations. Usually, the staff in this chain are on the ball but the only person who was remotely upbeat was the new staff member from next door. Not a 'good morning' from breakfast staff and an air that people were just doing their job. Room clean but no conditioner or hand lotion and only a small soap for basin and shower. The towels had seen better days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Manager at Residence Inn Erie, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
On behalf of the Residence Inn Erie team, I would like to apologize for the concerns expressed regarding your recent stay with us. We hope to get another opportunity to provide the type of experience you have come to expect. I would encourage you or a member of your party to please feel free to contact the hotel directly and we would be more than happy to discuss in greater detail the aspects of your stay that did not meet expectations.

Warmest regards, Staff & Management of the Residence Inn of Erie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Erie

Address: 8061 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16509
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#7 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Erie 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.