We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous sized room with great amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Erie

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Erie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Erie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8061 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 35 hotels in Erie
Finger Lakes, NY
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Fabulous sized room with great amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We truly enjoyed our recent trip to Splash Lagoon and the Residence Inn was a big part of that. It was nice to come back from the water park through the short indoor tunnel and "home' to the quieter RI. They had a great pool and jacuzzi at the RI, too, much quieter than Splash Lagoon, even a small sauna, too, where you could literally dry off and warm up from the water park. This hotel also offers free breakfast buffet and a small free dinner with inexpensive wine, beer and soft drinks offered free of charge. Might be nice if the wines were a local NY wine rather than a boxed wine, though.
Some other reviewers have noted that it is crowded at breakfast - well, that is why you have a full kitchen and table in your room, just bring the food upstairs in dine in the comfort of your room. The rooms are huge with a large kitchen with full-sized fridge and a huge couch that could pull out for a bed and still have a couch next to it. We loved the fireplace and HUGE, 3-4 person hot tub in the bathroom.
VERY nice staff here, too. We checked in early, no issue, and had pleasant conversations with all staff members we encountered. My only reason for the 4 stars rather than 5 is a few little housekeeping issues, we had only 3 towels and had booked the room for 4 people, no issue to get more of course, there was a small, recent stain on the rug and there was a blood stain on the sheets of one of the beds which we asked to have changed. I know they had recent upgrades, but I still noticed a few small dings here and there throughout the space. Just little things like one of the beds had very little clearance for the door, etc. I would be happy to recommend hotel to a friend. Enjoy! Oh- and Splash Lagoon was great, and very large.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from Elevators - they could get noisy. We were on 3rd floor near staircase and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Manager at Residence Inn Erie, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are proud you chose to stay with us while visiting the Splash Lagoon Waterpark. We are committed to providing a clean, safe and friendly place for families to stay while enjoying all the fun and excitement that Splash Lagoon has to offer. Please think of us again when planning your next family getaway.

Warmest regards, Staff & Management of the Residence Inn of Erie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    56
    30
    17
    11
See reviews for
107
24
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here before & were always very impressed with the rooms & services, however, this stay, we booked a queen bed suite with a sofa pullout & we ended up in an extremely noisy room with two doubles near the stairwell. We happened to have two little ones this stay & we werent sure how they or any of us were going to get any sleep. After two hrs at night, listening to what sounded like a bunch of clydesdales, we finally called the front desk. All they were willing to offer was a late checkout and some free lazer tag passes. Needless to say, we were out of the room by 9:30am after having to eat breakfast in our room because it was so packed with nowhere to sit. We didnt use the lazer tag passes because you had to set up an appt and go outside the bldg. My total charge for my stay was almost $400.00. I would have rathered them offer a discount on my room as opposed to being offered things we had no use for. My advice, dont EVER book a room near a stairwell or elevator!!! ASK ABOUT THE LOCATION OF THE ROOM OR SPECIFY THAT YOU DONT WANT A ROOM NEAR THOSE TWO PLACES!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Manager at Residence Inn Erie, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
On behalf of the Residence Inn Erie team, I would like to apologize for the concerns expressed regarding your recent stay with us. Upon research I do see that your reservation was booked through Splash Lagoon Reservation Center for a waterpark package. Unfortunately, while the type of room is guaranteed (one bedroom exception), the bed configuration in the room is not as there are two options. I do again apologize that at the time of your concern, due to the hotel being at full capacity, we were unable to move your room to better accommodate you and your family. We hope to get another opportunity to provide the type of experience you have come to expect. Should we be of any further assistance please feel free to contact the hotel directly and we would be more than happy to discuss.

Warmest regards, Staff & Management of the Residence Inn of Erie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Check-in was smooth, given platinum arrival points. They were able to accommodate my last minute request to have a room close to an exit as I had a lot of things to carry in. Room was huge (even for a suite) with a large jacuzzi tub that could seat 4. There was a reception in the lobby with complimentary wine and beer, a very nice touch when they do that. I would return to this property; very friendly staff.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Manager at Residence Inn Erie, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are proud you chose to stay with us while visiting Erie. Our goal is to deliver a service experience unlike any other while providing a guest room with all the touches of home. We hope you will think of us again when you return to the area.

Best regards,

Staff & Management of the Residence Inn of Erie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Newly renovated. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice. Tons of selections, hot and cold, but crowded. Only complaint is the indoor pool was freezing. Should have been heated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Manager at Residence Inn Erie, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your previous trip to Erie. I apologize that the pool water was cold when you used our indoor facility. We do heat not only the spa but the pool water as well but experienced a minor maintenance issue with the heating unit during your stay. Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding our property. The team of the Residence Inn of Erie hopes to see you again very soon as we wish to be your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in one bedroom suite with family of 5 for gymnastics meet and then visit to Splash Lagoon.. Enough room for the five of us (a little tight, but not bad for one night). Small kitchen area, great breakfast spread. Newly remodeled. Clean, comfortable, convient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Manager at Residence Inn Erie, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Erie. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will think of us again when you return to the area. With our spacious rooms and amenities, we wish to be your home away from home.
Warmest regards, Staff & Management of the Residence Inn of Erie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

After driving for four days across the country the room here allowed for our family of 4 (myself, husband and two toddlers) to have PLENTY of room to stretch out and the bed was super comfortable. We were headed into a storm and we knew this hotel would be a great place to camp out for a couple of days if we needed to. Whenever I plan a drive to visit family this hotel will be on our stop list. The only real complaint was the tub being oversized. It was challenging to bathe two toddlers in a tub the size of a small pool!! Overall, Great Stop!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Manager at Residence Inn Erie, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit the area. We do offer guest rooms with a standard bathtub as opposed to the enlarged whirlpool tubs in the majority of our suites. Those rooms still have the fully equipped kitchen and pull out sofa in the living area. Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home for you and your family.

Warmest regards, Staff & Management of the Residence Inn of Erie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
658 reviews 658 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 221 cities Reviews in 221 cities
769 helpful votes 769 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn which is one of the hotels connected to Splash Lagoon over the Holidays and had a great stay despite the huge crowd. Although we had not been here for a few years, this hotel had become our preferred hotel for visiting Splash Lagoon but had been showing severe signs of wear due to heavy use by families visiting the water park. Fortunately, the hotel was completely remodeled in the past year with new carpet, furniture, TV, appliances, etc and done so very nicely. The rooms are huge with a kitchen area, typical of Residence Inns, and a fireplace which is really a nice touch when returning to your room from an indoor water park during an Erie winter.

As previously mentioned, the hotel was packed; completely sold out mainly with families visiting the waterpark so the hotel was packed and the workload, as well as stress I imagine, upon the staff was great yet the staff handled and helped everyone efficiently and politely from what I experienced and observed. The front desk was amazing, efficiently checking everyone in and out, answering all questions and resolving the myriad of minor issues that are bound to arise with such a large crowd before they become major while being polite and cheerful every time. Breakfast was also very good but very busy with standing room only at times. As one can imagine, food ran out quickly but again the staff rose to the occasion and promptly replenished the food with minimum waits.

I can’t say enough positive about the wonderful, helpful staff and this should be reason enough to give this hotel a try if you are visiting Splash Lagoon or Erie but the huge, wonderfully remodeled rooms are another good reason to stay as well.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 114, 115, 116 and 117 as they bound the connection between the hotel, its lobby, elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Erie

Address: 8061 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Erie 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Marriott, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.