We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sunday brunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bertrand's Bistro

Bertrand's Bistro
18 North Park Row, Erie, PA 16501
+1 814-871-6477
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 345 Restaurants in Erie
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dallas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Sunday brunch here was a real treat. There is a fixed price buffet that includes the traditional breakfast foods, plus eggs benedict, a carved meat, soup, quiche, a dessert table and crepes made to order. It cost about $23 per person. Service was great as well. The location was very convenient. I highly recommend a meal here. Make a reservation, though. It can get very busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefbebert, Owner at Bertrand's Bistro, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Bonjour,
It is always a pleasure to read positive reviews like yours! We really appreciate ! Merci beaucoup!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    21
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, PA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Virtually perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My son and I had chosen to have a weekend away. I was interested by the reviews on this site of this restaurant. They could not have been more correct and this restaurant could really not have been better.

I had the escargot for an appetizer and it was done in the perfect classical style. I have a veil in mustard Dijon sauce and it was equally perfect. The dishes that my son had were simply great.

This is an expensive restaurant if you compare it to other dinner tabs. It is a really cheap restaurant if you know the cost of the food served.

Our waiter, Tom, was a excellent a waiter as one could ever hope or imagine. He pointed us to the next excellent dinner.

If you go to Erie and miss his place, you have lost the full potential of the visit. It is that simple.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefbebert, Owner at Bertrand's Bistro, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Bonjour,
We really appreciate your positive review and happy that you find us! Merci beaucoup !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A truly significant experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I came to Erie for our anniversary. We both value and love family operated restaurants and Bertrand's Bistro is the best one we have ever been to. Our waiter, Tom was so genuine and made our dining experience truly memorable. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was divine. We felt like family dining there and Tom, Stephanie, and Louanne all made the evening wonderful. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefbebert, Owner at Bertrand's Bistro, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Bonjour,
Again, I am very proud of my wife and staff for doing such a great job! Merci beaucoup et a bientot!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good French food in Erie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've dined here many times and enjoyed our meals every time. The Duck is always tasty. The French Onion Soup is excellent as well. Friendly wait staff and excellent Crepes for dessert make this a very good night out!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefbebert, Owner at Bertrand's Bistro, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,
We really appreciate your positive review! Merci beaucoup et a bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My daughter and I dined at Bertand's Bistro on Saturday night. The food was delicious and all the employees we encountered were genuinely concerned that our dining experience was top-notch. We were fortunate to have Nicholas as our waiter for dinner. The service provided by this young man was the best we have ever had in a restaurant. His knowledge of the menu items and how they were prepared was excellent, but special details elevated Nick's service to the highest level. One example was bringing an extra spoon to the table without being asked so that I could sample my daughter's French Onion Soup. Nick was friendly and personable while still managing to be very efficient at the same time. If you are looking for a fine dining experience with both excellent food and service I would highly recommend Bertrand's Bistro. We are planning on returning soon, and we will definitely ask for Nick to be our server!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefbebert, Owner at Bertrand's Bistro, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Bonjour,
We value your positive review enormously! It makes me very proud of my staff ! Merci beaucoup et a bientot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bertrand's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bertrand's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bertrand's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.