We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Lakeview Rooms!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 West Bay Drive, Erie, PA 16507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Erie
GreenLeadersGold level
Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Lakeview Rooms!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My high-floor lakefront room had the best views ever! I really felt like I was on a cruise ship looking out a window! The front desk staff was superb, very professional, provided a smooth check-in. Lobby was appealing, wait staff at the bar were top-notch. The bed was very comfortable and provided sound sleep. I have no complaints, other than that room service didn't get my order right. I didn't complain about it, but they probably would have corrected it if I would have. The workout room was everything I would expect, but the pool was a bit small. (I don't understand why some hotels even bother to put in a pool the size of a puddle!)

The whole time I was there, I couldn't help but think this would be a GREAT place to have a wedding in the summer -- right on the lakefront, with top notch staff... what more would you need?

Room Tip: Lakeview WELL WORTH the extra. Ask for an upgrade when you check in! I wasn't booked lakeview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and could not be happier about your comments regarding the level of service you received.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    158
    45
    21
    11
See reviews for
129
153
30
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a room here at the Sheraton for two nights while attending a friends wedding. It was a great stay with just minor bumps.

We didn't expect the only real parking for the complex would be an additional $12 a day but at least the ramp was clean and while we were there had lots of spaces available. The staff were all very friendly and the room was already well air conditioned when we arrived. Rooms were very neat and clean and the view overlooking the Preque Isle bay was just superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to mention the service and cleanliness that you enjoyed while you were with us.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel was beautiful. We had a club level room on for 1 night as we were just passing through and wanted to ride bikes around Presque Isle. The room was super clean, the bedding was terrific, although the bed itself was a little hard for my preference, and I loved the Robe. My husband loved the Bose Radio in the room and of course the flat screen on the wall. The Starbucks coffee in room was nice and the continental breakfast provided right on your floor on the club level was great! Wish we could have stayed another night to enjoy more. We didn't have the chance to enjoy the appetizers etc. in the evening on the club floor, but they looked great too. My only negatives of the room would be more shelves in the shower for shampoo, etc and a ledge to shave my legs - minor things! Also, as others have noted the $12 parking fee in the garage next door should be included for the price - not a deal breaker though.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor with a view of the Bayfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with us. We are delighted that you took the time to detail all of the aspects of your stay that you found so memorable.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Location Location Location! Loved it! The Sheraton is on the Bay side of Lake Erie by the Convention Center & picturesque Dobbins Landing Pier and the Marina. This area with the Convention Center, Skywalk & 2 independent restaurant's/bars (Rum Runner’s Cove and Smugglers Wharf) all within walking distance is morphing into an upscale resort feel...unlike the old Lake Erie accommodations that changed an arm & leg for a flea bag hotel ~ lol! The Sheraton Bay front also has a restaurant on site along with outdoor patio seating with the “fire pit”. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was delicious. Also had drinks outside and enjoyed the view. The decor and design of the lobby and rooms is nautical but very classy. The water dispenser flavored with assorted citrus fruits floating within is visually a nice touch in the lobby area! We didnt have to leave and drive anywhere if we chose not too (but of course we did go over the Presque Isle State Park. Also a must do is Sara's & Sally's Diner still standing from the 50's - awesome memorabilia and diner food). Lastly, I LOVED the "lakeside" room at the Sheraton Bayfront. The view was spectacular for watching all the activity on the lake! The only negative is that the room price is a little steep for Erie. With AAA discount is still came to approx. $550 for 2 nights but it was over the 4th of July weekend which included the awesome fireworks over Lake Erie. We will return!

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms provide a spectacular view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with us. We are delighted that you took the time to detail all of the aspects of your stay that you found so memorable.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple,Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is very nice and the room was superb, however,the room was a bit dusty and the window was quite dirty. My daughter had an asthma attack. The guy at front desk, I believe , the manager was quite apologetic. Also, the pool water looked murky. The staff at the front desk were very friendly. I will probably give this hotel another try the next time I'm back in Erie area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that to hear about the level of service that you received.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euclid, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is about the fourth time I have returned to this nice get away spot. I stayed there this past week with my 88 year old mother, and as usual, everything was wonderful. We always stay on the Club Level. This is a really good deal, the view is spectacular and the service great. It is so nice to roll out of bed and there's breakfast waiting for you on the same floor. No hassles. The staff, especially on the Club Level are very friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. Also, it is very close to a huge shopping area, lots to do, festivals, the park and so much more.

Room Tip: The Club Level, 8th Floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay so much. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the amenities and service on the Club Level.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Anniversary biking trip to presque isle park. This is the only nice clean hotel option near park. A bit sterile feeling..can't put my finger on it. We travel a lot. Staff appears very young & robotic they are reading a corporate script..no pulse. Room clean..bedding comfy. Hotel restaurant was over priced. $11 for grilled cheese. Cove next door was good for bar food. Wharf in parking lot good bloody mary and charming patio. So the kicker is our bikes were stolen right off our car within an hour..broad day light..hotel parking garage that hotel charges to your room 12 bucks per day. Its a shame. So I guess my review is hindered by feeling violated. Erie police officer was outstanding, I believe he put fire under hotel staff to jump on this situation. Security camera showed 3 juveniles stealing our bikes. Kiss those goodbye. Why charge high rent prices if you have low rent issues? Our anniversary evening was spent in hotel security office. Missed our dinner. Walked in circles around hotel grounds trying to calm down. Hotel guest services sent us a piece of cake & milk. ? Don't eat either but to exhausted to send it back..its sitting in the corner. Sorry but parking reimbursement would of been nice gesture. We tried to order a movie to calm down. Every movie we liked was $17.99! Are u kidding me sheraton? I pay $10 to own the movie. Don't think we will be returning..maybe day trip to park & back home.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Address: 55 West Bay Drive, Erie, PA 16507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#1 Green Hotel in Erie
#2 Business Hotel in Erie
#5 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the new Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel,the area's first waterfront hotel. Enjoy the stunning Lake Erie views and an array of amenities designed with your comfort in mind. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, free WiFi, and HD TVs. Dine in at the Bayfont Grill and enjoy a delicious menu of regional cuisine with breathtaking waterside views. The Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel's central location is also ideal for business, weekend getaways, or to discover the historical and cultural natural wonders of northern Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Sheraton
Sheraton Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.