We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms...great views...but-” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 West Bay Drive, Erie, PA 16507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #4 of 35 hotels in Erie
GreenLeadersGold level
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great rooms...great views...but-”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Sheraton Erie Bayfront is a beautiful hotel inside and out. A fully stocked bar awaits as guests enter the hotel as well as a swimming pool and fitness center adjacent to the check in area. The staff is very friendly and greets you each time you walk by. My only complaint was the noise- not from the other guests but from the outside. We happened to be there during a windy night as gusts reached 40 to 50 mph. For the course of the night and into the morning a "howling" noise was coming through the outer vent of the hotel into the heat / ac unit in our room. The noise kept me awake for a good part of the night. I didn't say anything to the hotel staff but was a little disappointed as we have stayed at lower end hotels during such wind events in Erie and have not had a similar problem. Would I stay here again? Absolutely. Would I consider another hotel if it was windy? Yes.

Room Tip: If possible, request a lake side room.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    141
    42
    18
    11
See reviews for
117
134
30
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I'm a Sheraton fan. I collect Starwood points. This is just another typical Sheraton hotel for me. I've been here a couple of times for College Soccer in the area and the location is decent. The view of the Lake is pretty. The rooms are nice, clean and comfy - no complaints here. The Internet WiFi is only free in the lobby (like all Sheraton hotels). Staff are friendly. Parking is not free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We certainly appreciate your brand loyalty. I did want to mention that we do have complimentary wired and wireless Wi-Fi in all of our guest rooms in addition to in our lobby and dining areas. We made this change about 2 years ago.
We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison City, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

-Hotel rooms super
-View great
-Location (since we had gymnastics meet at convention ctr) awesome
-Breakfast........SUPER EXPENSIVE!!!

Family of 3 ordered:
- OJ
- 2 coffees
- Waffle
- Quiche
- French Toast
- Order of sausage

Total Cost: $52.00 + tip of $10= $62.00

I believe that is a little over the top!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel on December 24, and 25, 2012. We arrived at the hotel in the mid-afternoon and were warmly greeted by 2 staff members who did everything they could to make us feel welcome. Stefan (from Croatia) was especially helpful that day, and checked us in quickly with lots of helpful suggestions. He felt like my new best friend, and I was given warm hugs when we checked out 2 days later.

The room had a perfect view and was spotless and had excellent amenities, (except No refrigrator).....Ice was down the hall. Wi-fi service worked very well and was free. We took a holiday rate that included breakfast, and those two meals were almost anything you wanted.....Things like unlimited juice and unlimited coffee were icluded with whatever main course you chose. Excellent service.

On Christmas day, we met with family members in the lobby bar in front of the fire place for pre-dinner drinks----and again.---Service was terrific. Our dinner in the Bayfront Grille was significantly better than I ever expected from a hotel dining room......I would eat there again, even if I was not staying at this hotel. Kudos to the chef. The presentation was so visually pleasing.....Only mishap-----one dinner was missing-----It eventually came after everyone was about finished eating----and I quite honestly, think that meal should have been complimentary, which it was not.....In our 2 days at this hotel, that was our only complaint and for me that was an embarrasement, since the missing dinner was for a 93 year old aunt who was my guest.

And of course, I hope to stay here again and have meals at the Bayfrount Grille....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experiences with us from your stay over the holidays. We are very pleased to hear that the level of service you experienced was great. Thank you also for mentioning our associate by name and sharing the wonderful service you received from him.
We look forward to serving you and your family again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayville, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I've been meaning to review so this is a little late. Stayed two nights after Thanksgiving, and two nights after Christmas with family. This is a great hotel, bright, clean, with a very accommodating staff. Michael at the front desk is amazing, so helpful. If you can book as an SPGmember do so. The club level has everything for you, we stayed up there and relaxed! Kids enjoy the pool and hot tub. The restaurant has delicious food, and again great staff. Rooms are new, clean, great beds. No complaints!!

Room Tip: NO bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your past experiences with us. Thank you also for pointing out the great service you received by our team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Sheraton is a in a great location overlooking Lake Erie. We got a great off-season rate and a beautiful view of the lake included in that. What really drove the price up was that neither parking nor breakfast was included in the $100+/night rate. This really irked my very appetite-driven fiancee, who couldn't get a breakfast the size he was used to for less than $20. Dinner was also quite expensive at the restaurant downstairs--over $50 for a salad, entree, dessert, and glass of wine--just for one person! In terms of fitness, the gym was great, but the pool was tiny. Overall, just know that you'll be spending twice what you expected if you stay here.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the lake--great views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experiences with us. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I booked a little "mini-vacation" night away from home at this hotel for New Year's Eve. The design of the building itself is great and the rooms are fantastically decorated. I love the dark, rich colors. When we checked in, the lobby was VERY busy because there was a NYE party at the convention center next door and there apparently was a room deal with this hotel; but, check-in was very efficient and friendly. We had a bayfront room and the view was great. The next morning, breakfast in the lobby restaurant was fantastic.

The only 3 negatives (and these are very small negatives),
- The price for New Year's Eve was ~$30-$40 more/night than a typical Monday night.
- The shower is pretty narrow especially when you add the handle inside the shower that just out at arm level (we were not in an accessible room). I repeatedly bumped into either it or the shower curtain.
- Parking - if you want in/out privileges to the garage, you need to pay for parking through the hotel - $12 - and use your room key - details weren't given until we asked at the front desk. If you don't want in/out, you can pay the garage cashier $10.

Room Tip: bayfront is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay and thank you for bringing in the New Year with us. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Address: 55 West Bay Drive, Erie, PA 16507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Erie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#3 Business Hotel in Erie
#5 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the new Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel,the area's first waterfront hotel. Enjoy the stunning Lake Erie views and an array of amenities designed with your comfort in mind. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, free WiFi, and HD TVs. Dine in at the Bayfont Grill and enjoy a delicious menu of regional cuisine with breathtaking waterside views. The Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel's central location is also ideal for business, weekend getaways, or to discover the historical and cultural natural wonders of northern Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Sheraton
Sheraton Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.