We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Personable & Inviting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 West Bay Drive, Erie, PA 16507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Erie
GreenLeadersGold level
Rochester, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Personable & Inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were traveling from upstate NY to Pennsylvania with our 2 dogs the evening of 12/21 when we started experiencing bad winter weather. We quickly looked up pet-friendly properties in Erie and decided to try the Sheraton Erie Bayfront. We were not disappointed. We checked in around 10 pm and we were given a bayfront room upgrade upon request. The hotel was decorated very nicely for the holidays and after getting our dogs and stuff into the room, we went down to the bar area for a cocktail and appetizers. While there were few people around, the atmosphere was relaxing and inviting, which was needed given the tense driving conditions we had just traveled in. The corn/crab chowder and pizza were excellent and hit the spot! The fireplace and decor, combined with the snowstorm outside, made it feel like a nice, quick holiday getaway. The reception and bar staff were very friendly. The only issue was that when we called the property, we were not informed that there would be a $50 pet fee - this is probably because Sheraton uses a centralized reservations department - you think you're calling the actual property but you're not. However, this issue was quickly resolved by the manager upon check-out in the morning - the pet fee was waived when I explained the miscommunication with the central reservations department. We appreciated this as the fee would've been ~50% the room rate, which we think is extremely high. Thankfully, the manager was very understanding. And all the staff was so friendly that morning as we were leaving. People were giving us weather conditions of the direction we were traveling and the restaurant staff sent us on our way with complimentary tea and hot chocolate. Everyone was just so personable and friendly, wishing us a safe trip and happy holidays. It turned out that the manager grew up in the area where we currently live - small world! In any event, we would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a bayfront view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you were able to utilize so many aspects of our hotel and enjoy the level of service that we provide.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    158
    45
    21
    11
See reviews for
129
153
30
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My son and I came to town for a Straight No Chaser Concert at the Warner Theater (amazing), and stayed at the Sheraton. It was easy to find, and was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The lobby, bar and business center was a large open area. The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was large with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Because it was close to Christmas there weren't a lot of guests, so that may be the reason it was so quiet...but it was very quiet. We didn't have a lake view, but it is right on the lake.
There is a large parking deck attached to the hotel, so your car is out of the elements...but there is a fee for parking. There were two bottles of Nestle water in our room, one was complimentary...the other was $2, but we didn't realize it until we had opened the 2nd bottle.
There is not a continental breakfast, but there was a coffee maker (1 cup) in the room...hoping there wasn't a charge for that because I certainly used it!
This hotel is close to lots of restaurants and shops on State Street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us.
We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Happy Holidays,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is right on Lake Erie with beautiful views. Parking is ample but you must pay for it as the ramp belongs to the city. I was informed of this when I made my reservation though so I was ok with it. The lobby is very attractive and the bar is nice. Room was small but well laid out, but didnt like the double doors into the bathroom and they didnt close well. Not great if you are sharing. There is not a lot right by the hotel for eating or shopping and if the wind is blowing it isn't great to walk anywhere. But the location is great if you are visiting either Gannon University or the hospital.

Room Tip: Unless you are planning to be at the hotel at the appointed times for drinks or breakfast, skip payi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your recent experiences with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Happy Holidays,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have stayed here on several occasions when I have traveled through Pennsylvania. The hotel is located on Lake Erie, with views of the harbor and downtown. The rooms are very comfortable and the lobby is beautifully decorated. The restaurant is excellent for both dinner and breakfast. I suggest getting a table on the patio with a view of the water if the weather cooperates. The hotel staff is very friendly, professional and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water if available. It's fun to watch the boats in warm weathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experiences with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Happy Holidays,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had a business trip to Erie and did not know the area at all. This Sheraton is outstanding in every way- easy trip from airport, tons of parking and a covered walkway from garage to hotel/restaurant, fab restaurant with a cozy bar/lounge area and the nicest staff ever. Hotel is linked to convention center, and dining area has a beatuful view, steps away from the lake. Well done, Sheraton!

Room Tip: All areas seemed quiet and updated and easy to control heat and cold in rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your recent experiences with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Happy Holidays,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Great view! Amazing room! nice workout facility.
Only beef was the parking.... They had an empty lot adjacent to the building near the fisherman's wharf. Unclear if we could park there or not when we asked about parking they said its $12 a night located in the garage. They didn't provide any other means for parking.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room, view and fitness facility so much. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Happy Holidays,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Had to travel to Erie on business. After a week of all day meetings, it was great coming home to this place every evening. The food was phenomenal. I ate breakfast and dinner there. The lobby was cozy and I met many different people there. We even had a large banquet there one evening and the upstairs room was very nice. Next time I travel to Erie, I'm definetly staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for detailing your positive experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your extended stay with us as well as our restaurant The Bayfront Grille and our Catering Facilities. We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you to Erie.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Address: 55 West Bay Drive, Erie, PA 16507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Erie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#2 Business Hotel in Erie
#5 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the new Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel,the area's first waterfront hotel. Enjoy the stunning Lake Erie views and an array of amenities designed with your comfort in mind. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, free WiFi, and HD TVs. Dine in at the Bayfont Grill and enjoy a delicious menu of regional cuisine with breathtaking waterside views. The Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel's central location is also ideal for business, weekend getaways, or to discover the historical and cultural natural wonders of northern Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Sheraton
Sheraton Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.