We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect little hideaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 West Bay Drive, Erie, PA 16507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The perfect little hideaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was a surprise find in the little town of Erie, Pa. The hotel is right on the lake and we were lucky enough to enjoy a lakeview room. The room and bathroom were spotless and spacious and feature a coffee maker for a quick morning fix. Very comfortable queen beds and quiet rooms. Do not miss having dinner in their superb restaurant! We had their "special of the day", a scrumptious grilled snapper and shrimp with broccolini served over fluffy wild rice. For appetizers we had delicious fried calamari followed by their signature cucumber salad. The entire meal was well prepared and well presented...a little pricey but worth the splurge! There is an adjacent parking garage costing $12 per night with unlimited access using your room key.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    162
    47
    21
    11
See reviews for
152
171
30
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just returned from an overnight at the Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel and our stay could not have been nicer. The location is beautiful, especially the patio that faces the bay. The boats pass by patio as they leave the marina. The pool is small, but our kids enjoyed it.
The staff was very nice and generously upgraded us to a bay view room. The view made it seem like you were on the water. It was beautiful! The breakfast was a little pricey, but very good and the waitress was great!
We would definitely stay at the Sheraton again! I cannot imagine staying anywhere else if we visited Erie.

Room Tip: Cannot beat the bay view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were extremley pleased with our stay at the Sheraton Erie, Pa.. The Staff was great and the rooms were very well kept and clean. The hotel was close to everything we wanted to visit and offered quite a Breakfast Lunch and Dinner menu. We will definetley be back for another quick getaway. Angelo and Penny

Room Tip: Get a Bay View room for an added treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with us. We take great pride in serving our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We weren't at the hotel very long---just a stopping place on our trip to Niagara Falls. But it was very nice. Great rooms. We didn't have a bay view, but we were just interested in sleeping. :) The check-in was quick and the staff were very courteous.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at this Sheraton for one night the last weekend of July. We also stayed here July 2011 and I wrote a full review with photos at that time.

The hotel is fairly new and in very good condition. The check-in staff was friendly and helpful. You can tell the hotel was built for and was to cater to mostly business travelers although I suspect that their clientele is mostly vacationers except infrequently when a large convention is next door.

The rooms have a great view of either the bay or the marina with a large picture window. As at least one other reviewer has mentioned, there is a very long, large desk right in front of the window so you can’t stand at the window to look out. The Sheraton staff might want to rethink the placement of the desk and possibly move it to the other wall beside the wall mounted TV.

We were in a king room and the bed was very comfortable. Both sides of the bed have a night stand and light hanging on the wall.

The bathroom was very clean but is rather small. The bathroom amenities were plentiful as were the towels. It has a large shower stall with clear sliding glass doors and no tub. The vent is very weak and the mirror fogs up entirely when taking a shower.

There are no closets in the room but only a large free-standing wardrobe for hanging clothes. The room has no clothes drawers.

The modern TV hangs on the wall in front of the bed. We enjoyed watching some of the opening sequences to the Olympics on it. Of note is that there was no ABC affiliate on their cable line-up. There must have been at one time as the indicator said ABC but it was actually E/I children's television network.

There is no refrigerator in the room but I understand if you request one, they will deliver it to the room.

The large desk has one bottle of free water on it and a one cup coffee maker with Starbucks coffee. They also have free Starbucks coffee at the bar in the lobby area in the morning. I noticed it was empty quite often.

We had breakfast in their restaurant. It has a great view of the bay. A little pricey but very good food and attention to detail.

All in all, this hotel is very nice albeit pricey but is likely the best Erie has to offer. We will stay here again when we travel to Erie and Presque Isle.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending in 04 & 16 as there will be a brick wall blocking your Bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We wanted a relaxing place to stay while visiting PA on a shopping spree to Grove City and so chose the Sheraton Erie Bayfront. The location is lovely with views of the marina on one side or the bay and state park on the other.

Check-in staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived a little early hoping they could take us, but alas no. We took a drive through town and were sad to see it in such bad shape from the recession. Stores, offices and homes were boarded up everywhere.

We came back at check-in time and they were ready for us. Our room was on the club floor, looking over the marina. It was very nice. Bed was comfortable. Everything was clean. We especially liked the special window blind that blocked the strong sunlight but still allowed you to see out the window. That was really great!

The Club Floor kitchen was well stocked with goodies, cold drinks and everything needed to make a hot drink. In the mornings a full breakfast was ready and constantly restocked. We really found the extra cost of a club floor room to be well worth it. There was also a computer and printer for our use too.

We had dinner in the restaurant, which I will review separately.

We took a walk around the pier, which was very nice. Plenty of things to look at, a couple of little pubs to have a beer at. There is a tower you can go up (small fee) and look out over the bay. We didn't do that, our room had just as nice a view and was already paid for! ;-)

Our only complaint is that the people across the hall were smoking in their non-smoking room and it 'wafted' through to our room. There's not much they can do about it when people ignore the no-smoking rules, and I suppose it was our own fault for not complaining to the desk about it.

We would definitely stay again and would definitely stay on the Club Floor again.

Room Tip: The "marina" view rooms are a little less expensive than the lake view rooms, but we found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for detailing your stay with us. We certainly appreciate all of the kind words you have shared. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We recently spent two nights at this hotel as part of our family vacation. A few comments:

The four-year old hotel still feels very new and is decorated in a nautical theme that befits its prime bayfront location. The lobby is very open and well-appointed and the marina outfront helps to create a vacation-like environment.

The club floor lounge served good breakfast items and offered cold drinks throughout the day...highly recommended it if you are traveling with small children.

Our floor had a very well-maintained laundry room located near the elevator...a very welcome convenience.

We had a 2 queen bed room with bay view which was perfectly fine for our family of two adults and two children. Everything seemed very fresh and well-maintained. The bathroom was fine. The room had a nice leather-like sitting chair, and a long desk against the outside wall facing the bay, both of which were very useful. We did not need a refrigerator since we had access to the club floor, but a refrigerator would be a very useful addition and there is plenty of room for it under the desk.

The hotel is close to downtown but you may prefer to drive. A walk might be nicer when the construction in front of the hotel is completed.

The hotel is also about 10 blocks away from the minor league baseball park (Erie Seawolves). We made the decision to go to the game less than 30 minutes before the first pitch and had no problem getting tickets, parking, etc.

The restaurant/bar area seemed very nice, although it did seem a bit expensive...they cater to a lot of business travelers. However, a breakfast. lunch or dinner there could be a nice treat and enable you to enjoy some nice views of the bay.

Lastly, all of the staff members that we encountered throughout our stay were friendly, upbeat and helpful...no complaints whatsoever.

I highly recommend this hotel for families, couples and business travelers. It is very convenient to the downtown area as well as Presque Isle State Park. We would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Opt for a bayfront room with club floor access if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your recent experiences with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay as much as you have indicated and we look forward to seeing and serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Address: 55 West Bay Drive, Erie, PA 16507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Erie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#1 Green Hotel in Erie
#3 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the new Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel,the area's first waterfront hotel. Enjoy the stunning Lake Erie views and an array of amenities designed with your comfort in mind. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, free WiFi, and HD TVs. Dine in at the Bayfont Grill and enjoy a delicious menu of regional cuisine with breathtaking waterside views. The Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel's central location is also ideal for business, weekend getaways, or to discover the historical and cultural natural wonders of northern Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Sheraton
Sheraton Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.