We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely local with great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The English Partridge

The English Partridge
Bighton, Alresford SO24 9RE, England
01962732859
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bighton
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner
Description: A 'LOCAL' FOR EVERYONE The English Partridge at Bighton is everything a traditional country pub should be ... and it's yours to enjoy. Set in tranquil countryside, this charming hostelry is perfect for lunch and dinner. It offers the very best in pub food, classic ales and a timeless ambience. You'll relax and feel at home right away. Like other establishments in the Miller's Collection, the English Partridge has been lovingly restored, retaining its historic features while meeting today's high expectations regarding style and quality.
Medstead, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A lovely local with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The pub has been re-open under the new name for a couple of months now and I have eaten here on two different occasions during that time. The pub is actually smaller on the inside than it is in the inside, so don't be surprised if you can't get a table!

The atmosphere is spot on - warm and cosy; a log burning stove will be arriving shortly, and there is a great mix of locals in the bar areas and a dart board (and team who play on Mondays), as well as a room dedicated to dining.

The menu is written on black boards which keeps the place feeling very traditional, and consists of a great mix of classics such as Fish and Chips, Pie, and an amazing pie, as well as more exciting additions like partridge, pidgeon, pulled pork and black pudding, and cod with brown shrimps (although watch out at the menu changes sporadically)! The food is of a really high standard - top quality meat, perfect portion sizes, and the cheese board is great to share! I feel the prices are very fair, representing the quality and homemade-ness, as well as the quality of the service and location.

The only downside is it can get a bit noisy at times, but this will helped by the addition of seat cushions which are said to be coming soon.

Overall a great little pub - feels like a local but serves brilliant food. Highly recommended!
Oh, and all the ales are local!

Enjoy :D

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Naughty school boy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I booked a table for two on a Saturday night a few weeks in advance. The dining area is on the righthand side of the pub with a "bar and seating" area on the left. We were guided to a tiny solitary table in the bar side away from the main area which made me feel somewhat of a naughty school boy being punished. It was quite loud due to several people in there drinking, fortunately they left just before the starters turned up. The pigeon breast starter was rather unimaginative, consisting of two breasts, half a slice of black pudding and a few bits of crispy bacon and for £7.50 I felt a little hard done by, it was however very tasty. My wife's starter was extremely nice (chicken liver parfait) as was her main course steak. They have a very good range of local beers at a good price but the wine by the glass was a tad pricey in my opinion. The last thing that annoyed me was, all evening I could see into the main dining area where there was an empty table, this was given to a couple that turned up at 21:00 who hadn't booked. My wife said to look at is as a positive and to treat it like we had private dining.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“The English Partridge, Bighton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Popped in after hearing about the refurb.
A lovely pub, one you can relax in with great (normal) food and friendly staff.
A return visit is due.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Took my daughter and friends for lunch and everything excellent will definately make a return visit xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Alresford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great Country Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We'd been looking forward to trying the good here following the refurbishment, and weren't let down.

Friendly staff combined with a busy atmosphere and none to fussy menu, will leave you coming back for more.

Our choices ranged from Pigeon and mushrooms fit starters, and liver and bacon, ham egg & chips, with rolled shoulder of lamb.

Nothing too much trouble with excellent service throughout the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The English Partridge also viewed

 
Alresford, Hampshire
 

Been to The English Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The English Partridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.