We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Smithton Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Smithton Inn to your Saves list
Historic Smithton Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   900 W. Main Street, Ephrata, PA 17522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Appetizer or Dessert
Ranked #3 of 9 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at the Smithton for our anniversary, and it was a great decision! Rebecca and Dave are so welcoming and keep a beautiful Inn. Dave gave us a great tour of the property. We found all the history attached to the home fascinating. Rebecca's food is delicious! My husband and I have 3 small children and we have not left all three before overnight, this was a perfect getaway. We plan to stay here again, and we recommend The Smithton to anyone looking for a cozy, welcoming getaway in the Ephrata area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
175
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

What a warm, inviting, comfortable stay we had at the Smithton. Rebecca and Dave were excellent hosts with great recommendations of all types. They know where to go and how to get there. The breakfasts were superb and they went out of their way to accommodate our desires and needs. They made us feel at home in the Historic Smithton. Sandi/Susan, Washington State

Room Tip: Just let the hosts know what you need and they will match you with the right room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our recent visit was filled with wonderful memories. The amazing history behind the Inn, delicious and filling breakfasts, and warm evenings spent by the fireplace. Rebecca was so helpful with information about area attractions and helpful hints. It couldn't have been better. We look forward to a return trip soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visit the area a few times a year to antique the area shops, and this visit was just as wonderful as the last. Dave and Rebecca continue to make improvements to the property to make it an even nicer experience with each successive visit.

The guest rooms are large, clean, and comfortable, and the common areas are spacious and inviting. Breakfasts for the three days of our visit were varied, creative, and delicious, whether prepared by Rebecca or Stephanie.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Ephrata in September to support a benefit show for a friend of ours, and we stayed at the Historic Smithton Inn. Rebecca and David are wonderful innkeepers and have created an experience that soothes and delights. We stayed in the Chocolate Room, beautifully done and exceedingly comfortable -- the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Love the quilts!

The breakfast is served with fresh ingredients -- we felt pampered and much cared for! Guaranteed we shall return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed two nights here during our first visit to Lancaster County. Our room (Sage) on the first floor was surprisingly large. We are used to small, cramped hotel rooms. The large bathroom, great shower, and comfortable bed with its Amish quilt were pluses. The wooden floor was impressive, even though it is not original to this building. The inn was very clean and quiet. We thought the breakfasts were healthy and filling, and the coffee good. Off-street parking was also a plus. The proprietors were charming, informed about local art, and very generous in helping one decide what cultural sites to tour and where to eat. Their recommended restaurants were very good and reasonably priced. We enjoyed our stay and would return again in a flash.

Room Tip: Good access to the parking lot is available from first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My sisters and I recently spent an extended weekend in Lancaster County -- there are many places from which to choose. We are so fortunate that we chose the Historic Smithton Inn, Rebecca & David are charming and helpful. Yeah, Lucky the dog does tricks, but what Rebecca does with simple local ingredients for breakfast is far more impressive (sorry David!). There is so much going on in this area of our country that our days were full and it was wonderful to come back to the Tailor Room(s) to rest and visit as sisters should. (No fighting - Mom would be proud!). Oh, just selected the rating "Sleep quality" -- the sheets are luxurious!

Room Tip: Two levels with a living room, kitchen and screened porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Address: 900 W. Main Street, Ephrata, PA 17522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Smithton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.