We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ice cream!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Udder Choice

The Udder Choice
1812 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1108
717-733-4300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 68 Restaurants in Ephrata
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Akron, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good ice cream!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great stuff here. Not the cheapest place to get a cone but it could be one of the best!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    44
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmanstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I love the meals, ice cream, servers, and prices. I have been coming here for years and hold parties here. I would highly recommend them.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“As sandwich shoppes & ice cream parlors go, a standout!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Somewhat of a throwback to the past with its quaint decor and hardwood floors it delivers just what it purports to do. The sandwiches are varied, grilled or plain, on a variety of breads of your choice. I had a chicken salad on a croissant as did one of my companions, my wife ham and cheese. All had generous portions and were accompanied by coke products. Our glasses were promptly refilled and our waitress checked on us three times, pleasant and courteous. Although we were there at noon the restaurant (not our first visit) seems crowded with locals and tourists. The staff is plentiful and dashes about the restaurant catering to both the sandwich and ice cream trade. A display of antique ice cream scoops is obvious on entering and the menu board had at least six kinds of soups on it. The waitress will give you the check and you pay at a common register at the counter, they do not accept American Express. A pleasant luncheon experience. Ample off-street parking.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very nice place that specializes in their ice cream. Nothing fancy,but a great stop if your out & about & wanting a great desert.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Try the Holstein”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stopped a few times recently for ice cream. Have had soups before and they were good. Try the Holstein sundae. Simple vanilla ice cream, hot fudge and marshmallow. Very yummy. I have found the service to be a little slow but friendly. This place is a real taste of Lancaster County.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Udder Choice also viewed

Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 
Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 

Been to The Udder Choice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Udder Choice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.