We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected great authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aromas Del Sur

Aromas Del Sur
548 S State St, Ephrata, PA 17522
717-738-0101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 65 restaurants in Ephrata
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This restaurant was opened in October 2010 by a group of three Colombian sibilings. We like to say we serve Spanish food but most of our dishes are cooked and prepared with Colombian influence. We wanted to bring a little part of South America to the Ephrata and Lancaster area and educate people on our lifestyle. Please come by and enjoy something we are very passionate about. We have delicious appetizers which come out fast and are filling along with our plentiful entrees. We serve your typical dishes such as pork, steak, and chicken which are usually always accompanied by their rice and beans. These dishes are prepared with Colombian spices and seasoning, but are not spicy as many believe just flavorful. We have options for reservation, take out, BYOB, and large parties. TAKE A LOOK AT OUR NEW WEBSITE!!!Please feel free to call during business hours.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected great authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The food was generous and delicious. A very authentic taste. We took our food togo, the atmosphere was quaint great music in the background and the staff was courteous. We have food left for a whole other meal.Will def. Visit again. We lived here for almost threes years and didn't know about it. What a shame I can't believe this place wasn't packed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your great review and spectacular ratings! We do enjoy giving generous portions because that is how our culture enjoy their meals. We do need help marketing our restaurant to locals but we are glad you found us and wrote this review to help us get our word out! Hopefully you will be back soon to dine in!

Muchas Gracias!

Aromas Del Sur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    81
    9
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, L.I., NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Could use some tweaking!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We wanted to try something other than Amish fare so we opted for dinner at this Columbian Restaurant. The table setting was very nice, with double linen table cloths and table set nicely. However, the ambience of the restaurant itself leaves something to be desired. The service was good and Arturo was attentive. No liquor license, so its BYOB, which we knew about beforehand and they do not charge an uncorking fee.
The empanadas (Columbian meat pies) for an appetizer were delicious with the added spicy salsa. We tried both the beef and the chicken. I preferred the chicken. It was tastier than the beef and more moist. Our entrees were the Cam Arones al Ajello - shrimp in a creamy, garlic butter sauce, that came with rice, green fried mashed plaintain patties and coleslaw(shredded cabbage, carrots and cilantro in a light dressing), which was very good. And the traditional Columbian dinner(Bandeja Paisa), consisting of a very thin tough piece of steak with a fried egg on top, chorizo homemade sausage, which was delicious and accompaniments. The chorizo sausage should be listed as an entrée by itself with the side dishes. Perhaps if they tweak the menu a bit and add some attractive wall hangings, they would do better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello!

We thank you for well written review with great recommendations we will take to heart. You are not the first customer to feel we could spend more time on our decor and are currently trying to improve our ambience. We like to see that our food and service was to your liking though!

Thank you again!

Aromas Del Sur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Columbian cooking in Ephrata, PA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We felt like one of the family by the time our meal was over at this charming little place in Ephrata. The empanadas are a great start to a dinner meal. On the day of our visit, a Saturday, two young ladies were outside the restaurant serving free (hot!) empanadas as a welcome treat. We had a tamale that was more than enough for two people to share, bursting with ingredients, served piping hot. We also had the cazuela, again such a large portion that the two of us shared the dish. The ingredients were freshly cooked in a broth that was among the best we have had. For dessert we had the figs with caramel sauce and cheese wedges and a flan. Yum! Our servers were attentive, informative and friendly. Each staff member stopped at the table a few times to chat, check on our needs. This place is well worth the effort to find and visit if you are anywhere in the Lancaster area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hola!

Thank you for the friendly review and great ratings! You described a very warm and comforting auroa about our place that can really transcribe to the reader and we thank you for that! The descripitons of the delicous were also spot on for any customer get a feel for what we cook. We appreciate your very insightful review!

Muchas Gracias!

Aromas Del Sur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Yummy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The lunch entrees at this Columbian restaurant are absolutely delicious!! Always fresh and served piping hot!! Empanadas are the bomb!! Sauce that is served with them is also excellent! Great service and friendly servers! Don't miss this little gem!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for the great ratings and review! We are glad you enjoyed many aspects of our restaurant and our friendly service. Hopefully you get to stop by again and try some of our newer specials and entrees!

Thank you very much!

Aromas Del Sur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Homemade comfort food at excellent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place with superior service and delicious food. Not just a bargain esp with 6.99$ lunch specials --that even include homemade soup--but so mouth watering I'd travel the hour and a half to do it again ASAP!

Spanish and Caribbean influenced and savory, but not to be confused with spicy Mexican type cuisine if tacos, burritos...no. This is an upgrade!

Rice and beans, pork, chicken, and beef dishes also come with scrumptious fried plantains, and tasty side sauces.

Herbs, spices, and flavors most will enjoy. Make this place a must-stop spot for you!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello!

We are sorry for the delay in responding to your amazing and insightful review! We really appreciate you answered many questions our new customers usually have such as the difference between Colombian and Mexican. Just like you said herbs, spices, and flavors are just different and enjoyable! Hopefully you are able to stop by again soon!

Gracias!

Aromas Del Sur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aromas Del Sur also viewed

Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Aromas Del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aromas Del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.