We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   355 Clearview Road, Ephrata, PA 17522   |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner with Amish Family
Ranked #5 of 9 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Weekend away!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I planned a weekend away and this was the perfect place to stay!! Relaxing, clean and beautiful. The views from our Princess Room were just beautiful!!! Cheryl greeted us and lead us to our room and she is very warm and friendly. The breakfast is just amazing!!! Stuffed French toast and the coffee is just wonderful!!! All I can say is this is a wonderful place to stay and we look forward to our next stay at Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast!!!! Thanks Cheryl you are a blessing to all who come to your Inn!!!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are wonderful!!! We did stay in the Princess Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, DE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It 5:00 pm June 29 and we were late by at least 90 minutes, however when we arrived Cheryl warmly greeted us and lead us up to the Garden Room. Each room is meticulously detailed, clean, and sets an atmosphere to relax by. .

We stayed two nights and found Cheryl and Barry to be excellent and seasoned inn keepers, very attentive to our needs, great resources for things to do and provided excellent leads to places to eat in the area.

The property is well maintained and nicely manicured. The views are relaxing and engaging. You can take walks along Clearview Road. This inn is also a great staring point for a bicycle tour of the country side.

Each morning breakfast was different and was an 5 Star presentation of a wholesome breakfast. Don;t miss the coffee.

Over all it was very pleasant stay in a period farm house operated by experienced and savvy innkeepers. The care and service we experienced was excellent. the combination of the home and service has guaranteed our return and to share this B&B with our friends so they too can have the same wonderful experience.

Thank you Cheryl and Barry for a memorable,quiet and relaxing weekend.


Warmest regards,

Ted and Mary

Room Tip: All the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Cheryl was an amazing host, very friendly and kind and accommodating to me and my family, the perfect rest before and after our wedding day. Food was superb and the rooms beautifully decorated. I whole heartedly recommend Clearview and will come and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I were here to celebrate our first year anniversary. What a perfect, quiet getaway. If you like being out in the country, then this is the place to be. we enjoyed the detailed vintage decoration. We stayed in the ''garden room'' and absolutely loved it. Our host and hostess were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. My husband got special permission from Barry and Cheryl to put little candles along the sidewalk and outlined a big heart shape in the front lawn. We would go back in a heart beat! Cheryl is an amazing cook. Both mornings we were served promptly. And everything was in order and our hostess even went out of her was to put candles in our room along with dish of strawberries. They went above and beyond to make our stay relaxing and hassle free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and i spent two nights at the bb to celebrate our one year anniversary! When we arrived we were very warmly welcomed, then shown to our beautiful room (garden room), it was very clean and neat. Breakfast both mornings was OUT OF THIS WORLD, vonderful goot!! :) Barry and Cheryl let me surprise my wife the last night we were there, with the set up of over 100 candles in the walk and yard! They were all for it, and my wife loved it! My wife and i have stayed at several romantic "couple getaways" but this one was one of the best we have ever had! The location, the view, the service, just excellent all around! We were so blessed to have stayed at this wonderful bed and breakfast!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in the Washington Room which is an attic room. We got to see three rooms and they were all appointed nicely with pretty bedding and well thought out eclectic antique décor. The property is beautiful and the common spaces are warm and lovely. So what went wrong?

We arrived to discover that Cheryl and Barry, the proprietors, weren't there. Okay, not the end of the world and the young people who served us that weekend were delightful.

Our room, while attractive, was dusty, so much so that we were having allergy reactions to it. Dead bugs and dirt were on the sills and although the bathroom was okay, I got the feeling that the room itself had not seen a dust rag in a long while. We also had a "giggle the handle" toilet.

Our breakfast food was so-so. We had quiche the first day with a fruit cup. One of our party didn't like pineapple, so our breakfast hostess was nice enough to take note of this the next morning and left pineapple out of her bowl. The second day was supposed to be French toast, but the bread was so large and hard it was difficult to eat.

Our other little surprise was that we were told we were being charged a $25 fee for setting up a dinner with an Amish family. That fee seemed hefty to me and we all grumbled about it. The person working the desk told us they would check with the owners since there was no mention of the fee on our bill supporting the idea that we weren't told. Wisely, we weren't charged.

This place has the potential to be great instead of getting an average rating from me. More TLC is needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLWIssler, Manager at Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are so sorry that your experience that weekend was not exceptional. As we explained to your other 2 traveling companions, we were forced to leave town that weekend with an important situation and had to choose between canceling your reservations or leaving the inn in the care of a fairly new employee who is no longer with us. We chose to honor the reservations but the quality of service from our helper was not up to our normal standards. Our rooms are always dusted on check-in day but obviously not that day. The room you choose was on the third floor which was clear on our website and they are actually the rooms that most of our return guests prefer because of the rustic ambiance, the exposed stone walls and brick chimney. The third floor does have an occasional bug in the spring which we always remove before check-in. Again this was obviously not done. We will accept responsibility for the lack of training for the young employee. We hope that we will have another chance to show you a much better time at Clearview. You will notice that until the weekend you came, every one of our reviews had been excellent. We are certain that the next time you will change your opinion of our inn. Barry and Cheryl Wissler, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Three couples traveling for a long spring weekend and looking forward to experiencing a bit of the country. The property was a charming old farmhouse with a beautiful garden. We were welcomed warmly by the son of the owners who were out of town. He did a great job of showing us to our pre selected rooms where we settled in. My husband and I stayed in the Princess room which was decorated in typical Victorian style with many ruffles and trinkets. We had the following issues with our room: bed frame needs to be oiled as it was so squeaky every time one turned over, room needed to be cleaned it was incredibly dusty, and our bathroom shower had mold in the corners. Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room. With the owners away, I feel the standards must have slipped a bit. The morning we were leaving, the staff had already removed our towels as we had breakfast so it was difficult to finish getting ready to leave. Nice place that needs a good cleaning.

Room Tip: Princess room overlooked the pond and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLWIssler, Owner at Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We are so sorry for what happened the weekend you were at Clearview. As you may have read in our response to your fellow traveler's review submitted two weeks ago, when you stayed at Clearview we were called out of town on an emergency situation. We were forced to leave the inn in the hands of a newly trained innkeeper who is no longer with us. Our only other alternative was to cancel existing reservations and we felt this would be unfair to your party of three couples who would have had real difficulty finding a place where you could all stay together. If you will read our other reviews, we have had all very positive comments from all our guests for the last 7 years since we opened. This is truly the first time we left the inn like this and the service was simply not to our normal standards. We trust you will forgive us for this and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 355 Clearview Road, Ephrata, PA 17522
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in Country Inns Magazine, this 1814 stone farmhouse has been restored and furnished with antiques. Located on 180 acres of farmland overlooking a pond, this is a quiet property ideal for a getaway. A full gourmet breakfast is served in the morning. All rooms have private baths, queen beds and two comfortable sitting chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.