We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LODGE!!! I don't think so.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Entriken
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination
Save
You added Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination to your Saves list
3101 Chipmunk Crossing, Entriken, PA 16638   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Entriken
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“LODGE!!! I don't think so.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We had 4 couples in 4 rooms. For the price there was no WOW factor. Lodge rooms are run down and out of date. The furniture was worn out with multiple repairs. Wallpaper was pealing off the walls. There is no access to the lake unless you drive to the marina or camping area, and that was small. The restaurants at the marina, which you had to drive to, had limited selections, and were not great for the high price. Double check the cancelation and refund policy, it should be a red flag that this is not a great place to stay. Rented a pontoon boat for half a day, which was new and very nice, but was limited to what part of the lake we could use. Didn't see as much of the lake as we wanted. I would rate the lodge a three, no better than a medium priced hotel.
On the up side what we saw of the lake was geogous, this part of PA is hilly and beautiful. I will retun to see more of this country but not at this 'RESORT'.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex E, Public Relations Manager at Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experiences at Lake Raystown Resort. We are in the final planning stages of upgrades to the property commencing this fall. We hope you'll like the changes as they include upgrades to the lodge rooms and food/beverage outlets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    42
    21
    22
    12
See reviews for
72
22
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new cumberland, pa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Not only is this one of the most prestigious areas in Pennsylvania but the personnel that work in this resort are the most accommodating and professional that I have ever encountered. The management and staff make you feel relaxed and leave you with the feeling it was their mission to make your day a little bit better. And they are very good at it. I have vacationed there for the past 8 years with my family and friends and look forward each year to returning. I hate telling everyone about this place because I want to limit it to me and my friends but this resort deserves to have people shouting their praise.

Room Tip: If you have children then the Beach Bungalow is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We discovered your resort early this summer and have camped there three times so far-both during weekends and during the weekday. What a wonderful experience. It is so peaceful. The lake is beautiful. We fished, hiked, went paddle boarding (a must!! -loved it!!), and took amazing pictures. The restrooms were very clean, the showers hot and plentiful, and the cleaning staff very accommodating. The other campers were very friendly, they invited us out on their boat and gave us leftover pancakes and treats. The front desk staff was extremely friendly, very helpful, gave us a heater to warm up our tent on the cold May night, and answered our numerous questions. The gift shop helped us out when we ran out of eggs, we were able to get a fishing license there and stacks of wood as we loved to sit around the campfire. Thank you for a great summer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Thus place is awesome. We stay here every year with our whole family and stay in the buildings by the mini beach. great lake and super fun atmosphere. The water is so glassy and perfect for water sports/cursing. There is also arts and crafts that me and my little cousins love going to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Springs, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We rented a Lakside cabin, but really there was only a sliver of the lake that we could see from our cabin. With no clear path around the lake, or to the swimming area there were dozens and dozens of campers and their dogs constantly invading our space- casually walking through our campsite...it wasn't their fault as the "Resort" gives no clear walking paths from one place to another. At night there are very few lights and walking is dangerous, even on the paths and parking lots. We didn't think that renting a cabin would be like camping, but at this "Resort" it's not much different (bring a flashlight)
On the first night while we were enjoying our fire, an over zealous security guard drove his gas powered golf cart right through our campsite because he thought our dining fly looked like a tent. He wanted to make sure that we knew there were no tents allowed on the cabin sites!!!!!
Off he went...
It's advertised that the cabins have air conditioning, but the AC was cheap and under-powered for our cabin. Coming in off the lake to cool off only to have a raging hot and musty cabin with no real place to relax is what you get. The deck furniture provided with the cabins were 2 plastic uncomfortable chairs. Seriously???? The drapes in the cabin are cheap like everything else in this "Resort", and at night lookers can see right through them into your bathroom, bedroom, or cabin. As you try to adjust these cheap privacy drapes(which are too small to begin with) the dowel rods constantly come out of the bracket and have to be readjusted. The refrigerators are TINY and the kitchen was a joke. I am over 6 foot tall and my head and feet touched the walls of our bedroom(so much for a good night sleep) I've never been to prison, but I'll bet the beds are more comfortable there. I tried to stay awake as long as possible, because I dreaded going to bed in this cabin.
As we were booking our vacation we asked if there were any activities during the week. Of course we were told there were many, but actually there were NONE. There is absolutely nothing to do at this "Resort" unless you have a boat and spend all day on the water. This "Resort" spends not one cent to entertain their guests (at least during the 4 days that we were there...(How much does it cost to run a BINGO game or Karaoke or organize a volleyball game????)
Everything about this place spells CHEAP. It's very obvious by reading other reviews and by our 4 day stay that the owners return very little money back into their "Resort". And I believe it is false advertising. We have stayed at many resorts and this place is definitely not a resort. Overall we were extremely disappointed with our stay and likely we will not return anytime soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex E, Public Relations Manager at Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experiences at Lake Raystown Resort. We are in the final planning stages of upgrades to the property commencing this fall. We hope you will like the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Entriken hotels

Ellwood City, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were looking forward to staying near the lake and thought we were going to get a nicer location for our stay since it was advertised as a "resort." But for the money we paid, we were disappointed in the room. It was a glorified "Motel" room. The balcony needed some work, and the view of the lake was blocked while seated because of the railing on the balcony. Also, the railing was a splinter waiting to happen. And we had to drive from the registration area to get to the "lodge." No drink machines were on site at the lodge, and you had to pay for ice. And then we went to play miniature golf in the evening and were horribly disappointed. We had to pay to play, and the course was in horrible condition. I have never seen a miniature golf course in such bad shape. They should either rip it out completely and start over if they want to offer this, or just get rid of it completely. We should have gotten our money back for playing on such a terrible course. The food at the restaurant was average, although the portions were sizable. All in all, it put a damper on our stay at a very beautiful lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex E, Public Relations Manager at Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experiences at Lake Raystown Resort. We are in the final planning stages of upgrades to the property commencing this fall. We hope you'll like the changes as they include upgrades to the lodge rooms and food/beverage outlets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The name of this facility is very misleading. This is not a resort and the "lodge" is not really a lodge. The registration desk is at a small facility at the entrance to the property. Then, you need to drive to the "lodge" which are several two story buildings that are very motel like. There is no "lodge" structure with lounge areas that I normally expect when staying at a lodge. The rooms are a bit worn, looking rough around the edges. We had two double beds, a couch, table, and chairs. There was a very small coffee pot and microwave. The beds were comfortable. The room was extremely cold and we ended up turning off the A/C because it was difficult to regulate. The area was surprisingly noisy in the evening, with music coming from the lake - I image its a bit of a party scene. The view of the lake was pretty obstructed by trees so it wasn't very interesting. We attended a wedding reception at the conference center and even though the center is just up the hill, there are no walking paths or steps from the lodge to the center, which meant we had to drive. In fact, there weren't any walking paths anywhere around the lodge. I would never return here for vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex E, Public Relations Manager at Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We're very sorry to hear that your experience was not enjoyable. It is comments like yours that helps us make improvements for the future. Specifically, we have plans for upgrades to our lodge rooms and looking at allowable ways to improve our pathway system throughout the property. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration as we make plans for the coming year’s improvements. It is our hope that you will give another chance to earn your business in the future as we pride ourselves on offering only the best in customer service and safe, clean place to enjoy friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination

Address: 3101 Chipmunk Crossing, Entriken, PA 16638
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Entriken
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Entriken
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for family fun in a naturally gorgeous location, no need to look further. Lake Raystown Resort is Central Pennsylvania's top destination. With 400 acres of waterfront property, endless activities and top-rated accommodations for any budget, this is the type of vacation that will leave you feeling surprised and refreshed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Raystown Hotel Entriken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.