We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Mess” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plum Pudding Inn

Plum Pudding Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plum Pudding Inn
Save
You added Plum Pudding Inn to your Saves list
29 North Market St, Elysburg, PA 17824   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Elysburg B&B and Inns
pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Mess”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

I believe a few years back this was probably a really nice place to stay. Liz and Fred are very nice people, very friendly. Liz has been ill and this may have affected the way the B & B is being run. The bathroom in our room was so small, that when you were using the tiolet you couldn't shut the door, your feet were in the bedroom. There were used facecloths in the shower and used soap also, kinda creepy!!! Very, very cluttered everywhere. Our breakfast was horrible, I couldn't even eat the eggs. The cream curdled in our coffee. I couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    0
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Liz and Fred Love their business and it shows. They are 'good people', accommodating and warm. The spaces are small, and the public areas filled with clutter, but if you want empty and sterile, you don't go to a B&B do you? The rooms are clean and comfortable, and breakfast is DELICIOUS and AMPLE. We most recently rented the house a few blocks away from their main buildings, with a large party of extended family . An old house with its quirks and oddities, it was a good home base for a weekend at nearby Knobel's.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Since we've made Knoebels amusement park one of ur regular summer vacation spots (approximately 4 years now) we had always stayed a the Glosser Inn Motel up the road. This year we were rudely treated by their staff when if there was any vacancy (they post no signs). So we decided to stay elsewhere. Luckily we came across a genuine B&B with a "back in time" feel. Our family of 5, 3 little children were greeted like family, and it got better throughout our stay. The room we stayed in was the western room. The room featured 1 queen sized bed, a bunk bed for the children, a very clean bathroom, refrigerator, A/C and a air purifier. We were also served a homemade breakfast (included in prie).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Just returned from a 2 night trip. We could not ask for more friendly warm hosts. The atmosphere was warm and comforting as well as the people who run the B+B. We would definitely return as well as reccommend to others. THe breakfasts were fabulous. Was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Our family of four (parents and 2 tweens) stayed two nights. Our room was a "family room" - 1 full bed and 1 bunk bed in a very small room(225q. ft. genrerous approximate). We had room in front of adjacent building so very noisy from proximity to Highway 34 - loud trucks all night. Generally clean but cluterred. Liz, our B&B hostess, was warm and welcoming. The breakfast was superb. The rate was approximately $147 per night. Overpriced for what was provided but one of the few B&Bs in town near Knoebels so that must be the justification for the high price. If you have no good alernatives, stay in one of the hotels in Danville (about 8-10 miles distance) for more economical and better alternative accomodations.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Postive:
Close to Knoebels theme park.
Fully cooked breakfast.
Friendly hosts.
Cute and friendy family dogs.
Air conditioner in room

Negative:
Very, very cluttered. If you are claustraphobic or a neat freak like I am do not stay here. You will be very dissapointed
Room had a shower with 3 bars of used soap with other people's hair on them along with 2 scrubber poofs.
Mold on the shower curtain.
No place to hang out besides tiny room.
When we came back to the house for the night around 8pm we were locked out of the house and the hosts were not home. There was a phone number on the door and they came home within 15 min to let us in.
Bed had lots of hair in it.
You have to pick an exact breakfast time. Not very convenient when your not sure what time you will want to sleep until.
Front and back yard is a mess. Looks nothing like website.
Overpriced with no amenites.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great trip to central PA . B & B is very close to Knoebels (our destination); it was nice to be "right there" instead of having to drive a distance to the amusement park. Room was clean! (which is so important to me!) Excellent breakfast that filled us up for the remainder of the day! Really enjoyed meeting Liz and Fred and their puppies! If we're ever in the area again, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plum Pudding Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plum Pudding Inn

Address: 29 North Market St, Elysburg, PA 17824
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Elysburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plum Pudding Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.