We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knoebels is Fun. NOT!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knoebels Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knoebels Campground
Save
You added Knoebels Campground to your Saves list
Rt 487, Elysburg, PA   |  
Hotel amenities
Northeast PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Knoebels is Fun. NOT!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

This was by far the worst campground I've ever experienced. As a former Scoutmaster, I'm no rookie. Before you go, consider the following:
*Campsites are extremely close together and the largest percentage of them offer no shade.
*The ancient rest rooms were dirty, damp and in desperate need of repair. The stalls had partial swinging doors with no inside locks.
*Showers were dirty, outdated and featured an on/off button that allowed for a 12 second blast of water. This shower button took a fair amount of force to engage and I have no doubt that many children and seniors would experience extreme difficulty using them.
*The number of restroom/shower buildings is inadequate for the physical size of the campground. Expect the high probability of a long walk to the bathroom.
*The shuttles used to transport campers were in various states of disrepair and driven by what can be best described as (with one exception) grumpy old men.
All in all, a huge disappointment. The well-to-do Knobel family practically owns Elysburg,PA and it pains me to think that they would offer such horrible accommodations at such a high price. (Our son-in-law rather aptly dubbed this campground and facilities "Knobels' Ghetto").
Keep in mind that this review is of the Knobel's Campground adjacent to their amusement park. I have not stayed at their nearby "Old Glory" campground area (nor would I dream of so doing after this experience).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
48
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester County, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We camped here June 2008 for a week in a pop-up camper and had a great time. Knoebels really is a fantastic place, especially if you don't like getting ripped off at amusement parks. The emphasis is on family fun and not robbing people blind of all of their money. The rides are great, the mini-golf, the live entertainment, the ice cream, and the fudge. We mostly ate at our campsite but if you wanted, you could eat at a different place every day in the park. There are no water hook-ups at the sites and the sites are small, especially the ones right in the middle of the park. The bathrooms are definitely dated but cleaned often. Mom alert - you may want to bring those paper toilet seat covers because there are no toilet seats. Showers are free.

We also drove to Lake Glory down the street to check it out for next time. The sites are more spacious there, it's quieter, and they have a shuttle to Knoebels.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

This was my kids, 8,5,3, first camping trip. It poured, but we got a site with a platform. Swept off the puddles and put the tent up. It was fine. The woman at the next site helped us. The bathrooms were clean, the showers were fine. The amusement park was open, rain or shine, and we had a great time. Enjoy yourselves....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

Despite the campground's convenient location adjacent to the amusement park, the campground staff was extremely arrogant. Our site was double-booked, so the afternoon of our last night at the campground, we were forced pack up and move to a less desireable site immediately after another camper arrived to claim the spot. The reservation staff literally laughed at us for complaining. We were given no consideration for our inconvenience. There was also a lot of drinking and partying, not a family atmosphere at all.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2004

Since I met my husband in 1977 and married in 1981 we have made Knoebels an annual event. My husbands parents own a house in Pennsdale, PA and we always visited Knoebels.
But our annual event took change eight years ago, when we invited a few friends from church to go camping with us. Over the last years we have had as few as 32 and the most of 74 people attend this four day outstanding vacation!
We have covered dish dinners and also a covered dish breakfast, scavenger hunts, trick or treating at each camp site and the best is Mr or Ms. Knoebels, which the winner is determined by the amount of brass rings one gets! The fellowship is awesome and the rides are the best.
We are so greatful to God for this great way to spend time with other believers at the end of the summer.
Won't you try to start a family tradition this summer ... you won't regret it! "PHOENIX!"

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knoebels Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knoebels Campground

Address: Rt 487, Elysburg, PA
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Elysburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Elysburg
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
800 sites adjacent to PA's largest free admission amusement park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knoebels Campground Hotel Elysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knoebels Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.