We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoss's Steak & Sea House

Hoss's Steak & Sea House
840 N Hanover St, Elizabethtown, PA 17022-1303
717-361-9402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 37 Restaurants in Elizabethtown
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Description: Hoss’s Steak and Sea House is a family restaurant featuring fresh-cut steaks, seafood, and tender chicken entrees…all cooked to order!Enjoy our fresh and wholesome Soup & Salad Bar with homemade soups, just-baked breads, fresh fruits, delicious desserts, and soft-serve ice cream. We feature a fun menu for kids and offer family-style banquets in our comfortable banquet rooms
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Haven't been to a Hoss's since my kids were little. Hasn't changed much, although I must say my steak was prepared perfectly and had great flavor. i am not a fan of salad bars but the people I was w/were and they gave it high marks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It makes me, it makes me, sssss sick!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Strange thing about eating here is that I get hungry for a salad bar every once in a while. It is the only one around so I go back and every time I do later that night I get indigestion and nausea. Don't know if it has preservatives on it or it is me, but don't have that problem at the competition. I've heard other people say the same. Too bad cause it always looks good.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Walked in and cautious. Great salad bar, soup bar, and dessert bar. Steaks were really, really good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food - nice place to take your family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

When we are hungry for a good salad we always go to Hoss's. They keep there salad bar at this location stocked and cleaned. The meals are average and we feel are priced good for what you get. The service is normally good. We have had one bad experience but the manager more than made up for that one bad experience. Only complaint is the new ices and desserts that I was looking forward to trying that they had added to dessert bar are not very good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“A nice place to take your family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Hoss's is a good family restaurant, well priced with one of the best all you can eat soup and salad bars you will find. it's hard not to try all four or five soups during your visit, each tasty. They maintain and keep the salad bar stocked with fresh items, and an incredible selection of fine greens. The steaks we had were tasty, and almost all were done properly with only one being medium rather than medium rare. The help is polite and keeps your drinks filled, and the ice cream is a good finish.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoss's Steak & Sea House also viewed

Elizabethtown, Lancaster County
Elizabethtown, Lancaster County
 
Elizabethtown, Lancaster County
Elizabethtown, Lancaster County
 

Been to Hoss's Steak & Sea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoss's Steak & Sea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.