We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service I ever had” 2 of 5 stars
Review of T J Rockwell's

T J Rockwell's
800 Mount Gretna Rd, Elizabethtown, PA 17022-1333
717-367-5544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worst service I ever had”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We called ahead and waited a long time anyway. They were busy so that was ok but waiting for our server to greet us for another 15 minutes is not ok. We then order drinks and appetizers. We got our appetizers before our server returned with drinks. I had to get up and walk over to the servers station to get plates because our food was dying on our table. We finished our apps and didn't get our dinner order in yet. It seams like our server had too many tables to attend to. I served years ago and I know how it is but this place was too much. Great looking place lousy service. I'd stay away on a busy night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    56
    38
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Really Nice Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

On my son's recommendation we went for lunch and I wouldn't have found it without him. Not in town but in a rural setting outside of town. Very busy but we were seated right way. Nice atmosphere and there is an outside deck also. The service was excellent, there's an extensive menu and the food was really good. We shared a "tower" of onion rings with two different sauces, really good texas petal sauce. I had a reuben which was thick and really good and he had a BBQ chicken and ranch wrap. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Little bit of everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you have children stay away from the bar at the patio. Swearing drunks when I was there. Food is always good, prices are a little high. They do have a big menu and a big beer selection also a swing set kids in the ever expanding deck.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A sunny afternoon on the deck is always nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

They had roasted pork from the grill and I asked to top it on the carribean salad. It was okay but they only used head lettuce instead of fresh tender baby greens . Would make their salds better.
Enjoy the Seafood Thursday and Sunday specials.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Consistent, always busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have been to this place a number of times in the last couple of years. From happy hour time the place is always busy. The service is ok. The food feels massed produced but it is tasty and reasonable. Same formula makes their place in Mechanicsburg busy also.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T J Rockwell's also viewed

Elizabethtown, Lancaster County
Elizabethtown, Lancaster County
 
Elizabethtown, Lancaster County
Elizabethtown, Lancaster County
 

Been to T J Rockwell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T J Rockwell's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.