We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Price & Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Rose Motel

Save Saved
You added The Red Rose Motel to your Saves list
The Red Rose Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Red Rose Motel
2346 South Market Street, Elizabethtown, PA 17022   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Elizabethtown
Cold Spring, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Reasonable Price & Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here while visiting family in the area. We stayed in the newer section of the hotel. The rooms were basic rooms that are dated but clean. The mattress was comfortable. They allow dogs for an additional $5 a night which is extremely reasonable compared to the other hotels in the the area. I had forgotten my hairdryer and the office let me borrow one for the stay. This is my second stay here but the first time I have left a review. There is a Burger King right next door and a Turkey Hill market right across the street. 5 minutes from Mt. Joy or Elizabethtown if you need more than that. The staff was very nice and were available at any time I needed them. When I made my reservation I requested the same room I had stayed in and they were able to accomodate it. If you stay on the side where the burger king is, it is pretty bright but I prefer it that way but you could not see the light in the room. Would definately stay here again. If you are not looking for all of the bells and whistles, stay here.

Room Tip: Newer section is less dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Is there anything below basic room? Can you say "Dump"? Refrigerator in room, and a coffee pot as well; but you have to supply your own coffee. Also supply your own facial tissues. God forbid you have to sneeze. The room does come with a fly swatter! Norman Bates would be happy here. Not cheap, either. Pizza place across the street, but other eateries are not close.

Room Tip: Go some place else. There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveport, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Although the hotel is not a Hilton, the price and location is right. We've stayed several times and have had consistent service. The office is open 24 hours a day which is nice if you travel late. There are lots of amenities near the hotel and Hershey Park is only 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear, de
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

The room was dingy to say the least, if I had any sense I would have left after opening the door of the room and taking the $60.00 loss for the night. The soap provided was smaller than a domino piece and I noticed centipedes scurrying across the bathroom floor when exposed to the light. The shower was smaller than a phone booth and the chair in the room was a rickety and dirty and should have been thrown out years ago.
The bottom line is that you get what you pay for and for as much as I travel I should have known better than to expect anything worthwhile for the price. I would have been better off sleeping on the ground at the 'Return to Mananas' site.
STAY Away from this place

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Red Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Rose Motel

Address: 2346 South Market Street, Elizabethtown, PA 17022
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Elizabethtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Red Rose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Rose Hotel Elizabethtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Rose Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.