We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical castle inhabited by hospitality wizards.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langley Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Langley Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Langley Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hexham, Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham NE47 5LU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
Northwest
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Magical castle inhabited by hospitality wizards.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I booked the castle as a surprise Mother's Day gift with two rooms, high tea and dinner.

A truly wonderful experience and a very happy mother.

Stunning food, outstanding staff and the most comfortable nights sleep I've had for many a year.

If you're reading Tripadvisor to assist you in deciding whether to book Langley - hesitate no more. A magical marvel where you can live like a king.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Mr.Watson - Thank you so much for sharing your experiences following your stay at the Castle and for taking the time to post your review - Mothers day is always a special occasion and I am delighted that this was appreciated. I will of course, pass on your comments on to the rest of the team - I do hope you will be able to return to Langley in the not too distant future - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    83
    37
    15
    10
See reviews for
115
403
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My clever husband arranged this wonderful total surprise for my birthday and after much guessing was thrilled to arrive at this historical gem secluded in a lovely setting enjoyed by local wildlife and the resident peacocks,we have been here before and yet again the service was exceptional the food exquisite and the atmosphere so relaxing,all the obviously happy staff were discreet yet attentive and really made me feel special. My fascination with all things historical had me exploring the beautifully appointed huge bedroom with luxurious bathroom and four poster bed before heading to the magnificent drawing room for champagne and canapés then down to the Josephine restaurant for the most delicious meal I have had in a long time and I am extremely fussy.After a very comfortable nights sleep we enjoyed a hearty breakfast full English for my husband and eggs benedict for me of course cooked to perfection, so how could we leave this lovely place, thank goodness my husband had arranged a few days in the lakes but what a start to my birthday and when Anton the general manager took the time to wish me happy birthday I was very touched so thank you to all at Langley we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms at the castle are beautifully appointed and have everything you could possibly want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Andrew and Gail - It was a please to be able to welcome you to Langley and truly delighted that you enjoyed your Birthday celebrations. I and also so pleased to read your comments regarding the meal in the Restaurant - we are working very hard to offer the highest quality of food and hopefully service to match - What better way top start the day then with Eggs Benedict - I do hope that it will not be to long before we will have the pleasure of your company again - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Every year on Mothers Day my sister, my daughter and I arrange to take my Mum (who is 83 and has mobility problems), for afternoon tea.This year I booked it at Langley Castle. This turned out to be very disappointing. Turning in from the road we were delighted with the castle and it's setting and the Receptionist's warm welcome. However, learning that tea would be served upstairs in the Drawing Room but that there was no lift, was disconcerting. The staff said we could use a service lift and escorted us through the hotel, through the dining room, a services area and a corridor used as a storage area for stacked chairs. These had to be moved to allow my Mum past. Learning at this point there are no toilets upstairs, we had to go back through the hotel to the toilets near the entrance. Thankfully, as we passed through the Dining room for the second time, the staff suggested we have tea there.

The menu said Tea for two so we expected two cake stands, but the four of us received one cake stand. The bottom plate had a selection of sandwiches which proved tasteless and dry around the edges. There were three fingers of each, about an inch wide and three inches long, more like a toddler's portion. There was no cake, but instead some very small petit fours, which I suspect had been defrosted and left out, because the pastry was soft and on a couple, the layers had started to slide. Like the sandwiches these were also tasteless. On the top layer were four impressive looking scones, which though heavy and dense were nonetheless tasty. Unfortunately the scones only came with one small dish of jam, just enough to spread thinly on one half-scone each. To be fair, the staff when asked, provided more jam and tea. This very poor quality and mean tea cost £50. I am still annoyed with myself for paying it without complaining, but I did not want to cause a fuss and distress my Mum. I will not be returning to Langley Castle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Gillian M - Firstly, thank you for taking the time to bring this to my attention and secondly, I would apologise for this lapse in our standards. We have worked very hard to be able to offer food and service of a high standard and I am equally disappointed that we have let ourselves down. I have emailed you and tried to speak with you to attempt to address this situation with you. I have taken several steps to improve our performance - I would hope that you would allow me to redress this matter and hopefully to be able to convince you to be able to return to Langley - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful place and the food was lovely, unfortunately the staff were slapdash and haphazard. When you visit somewhere like this you expect to be treated well, however the young man serving us literally threw our saucers and cups across the table spilling our drinks and making the experience unpleasant. We saw other staff members during our visit who were equally uninterested in us. I wouldn't review however this is our third visit and each time the issue has been the same. It's a real shame because it is simply stunning and it's wasted on poor staffing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Jess - I am most concerned to read your review of the Afternoon Tea - Whilst I am pleased that the scone etc - I am unable to account for the level of service - The comments regarding the staff a normally so positive - I will investigate this with my restaurant manager and ensure that this is not allowed to repeat itself. I would offer my apologies for this - I do hope that you will grant me the opportunity to redeem ourselves and will return to the Castle - Please contact me directly so that I may personally supervise your booking throughout - In coming back to the Castle I would certainly hope that I can change your mind about the standard of service and that you will be able post a more positive review next time - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Afternoon tea in the drawing room of Langley Castle, what a lovely way to spend an afternoon. The place itself is wonderful, the service very good and the tea very pleasant. We were asked what we would like in the sandwiches and tea, choice of, or coffee. Staff were around and helpful, but left us to a quiet tea. The three tier cake plate had sandwiches, scones with jam and cream and a lovely selection of cakes. All this in front of a log burning stove.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Jayne - Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent afternoon tea at the Castle - I am delighted that this was a pleasant afternoon for you and will pass on your kind comments regarding the Afternoon tea and the staff and put a copy on the notice board - I look forward to welcoming you back to Langley soon - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed at the Langley Castle Hotel for two nights (26-28 March), the hotel is very impressive and the room we stayed in was spacious, comfortable and fitted out to a very high standard. We ate in the hotel on both nights rather expensive but good quality. The staff were very helpful and efficient. The only disappointment was the battlements tour, brief and not very informative.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Castle view rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Harry - Thank you for taking the time to post your review - I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and the food in the restaurant - we did introduce the Pavilion Grill to be able to offer an A La Carte option and to be able to order only a main course such as a delicious Rib Eye Steak. I noted your comment regarding the Battlement Tour - the Tour is normally well received but I will look into this to ensure that the members of staff are able to give all the information necessary to enhance the experience - I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again before too long - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Langley castle has it all ! A beautiful building which oozes elegance,warmth & welcome out of every ancient stone !
From the minute our car turned in through the gates we were under its spell ! Standing proud in the mist & surrounded by superb woodland & gardens I was thrilled by my wonderful Mother's Day surprise weekend .
The staff were welcoming & helpful & very knowledgeable about all aspects of the castle & it's marvellous surrounding areas .
We stayed in castle view rooms, which had been the former coach house & stables . The rooms were superb & had all amenities of any good 5 star hotel . We even had peacocks outside who enjoyed biscuits :-)
The interior of the castle was a testament to design ,hard work & obvious love of the old building .
We took high tea in the drawing room & added a glass of champagne too , it all felt very regal !
Dinner in Josephine's restaurant was on a par with all the top restaurants across the world with the advantage of sitting in an ancient castle !
The food was delicious ... Compliments to the chef :-)
This short stay will live in my memory forever & I will certainly visit again !
Many thanks go to my son for arranging it all , he's the best !
And a sincere thank you to all the hard working staff for making it such a pleasure xxx

Room Tip: I really don't think any room would disappoint .. But it was rather nice in the castle view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Watty - Thank you so much for posting this review following your recent Mothers Day surprise - I have particularly noted your comments regarding the "regal" afternoon tea with Champagne and also your meal in the Restaurant - I will be passing these comments on to the Team - I look forward to welcoming you back to Langley - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Castle Hotel

Address: Hexham, Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham NE47 5LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Langley-on-Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Genuine 14th Century Fortified Castle, In Its Own Woodland Estate. All Rooms In The Castle Have Private Facilities, Four Poster Beds, Window Seats Set Into 7ft Thick Walls. Some Rooms Have Private “Features” Such As A Sauna, Semi-Sunken Bath, Double Air-Bath, Open Fireplaces.Castleview, Within The Grounds, Offers An Additional 18 Rooms, All With Private Facilities, And Wonderfull Views Upto The Castle.The Magnificent Drawing Room With Blazing Log Fire, compliments The Intimate Josephine Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Langley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langley Castle
Castle Langley
Langley Castle Hexham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langley Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.