We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not My First Choice!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Restaurant and Red Carpet Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added The Cottage Restaurant and Red Carpet Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Cottage Restaurant and Red Carpet Inn and Suites
4554 Admiral Peary Highway, Ebensburg, PA 15931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Ebensburg
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not My First Choice!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

When I telephoned for a reservation I spoke to a very helpful woman who was cheerful and friendly. When I arrived to check in it became obvious that she must only work in morning; the woman that checked me in acted like I was interrupting something important. I was given a room on the first floor and found it down the end of a dingy hallway. I was a little concerned about the safety of the place until I saw a security camera on the wall next to my room's doorway, then I noticed the cables coming off the back of the camera dangling.

The room was out dated and not close to spotless. The bathroom had new fixtures which gave it a nice appearance. The ceiling fan sounded like a Sopwith Camel attempting to turnover. The sink sprayed across the room; I guess new fixtures need to be installed properly. AN exterior door to the parking lot slammed close all night.

The continental breakfast was set up in a room that could be used in a serial killer movie. The choices were limited, but the coffee was good.

I finally got to meet the friendly voice on the phone when I checked out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    3
    2
    9
See reviews for
7
1
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We travel all over the United States and stay in all kinds of hotels. This was a good stay and they are undergoing a remodel, so it's even getting better. The front dest was very helpful and polite & we took a tour before deciding to stay since there are several not so good reviews here on trip advisor, but it was clean and comfortable, we were quite pleased with the stay and they also provide a $21.00 discount for Windmill workers!! So we ended up staying for $45 !! We will stay here every time we have to come here!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

had stayed there once before and it was questionable. returned there on business. we were put in the same shabby room (recognized the hot pink duct tape i used the last time to secure the cover to the ironing board), however this time we had heat rather than a.c. the door was still not able to be closed from the outside (room 108). had the lovely young lady change me to room 107. called several times re: the a.c. was told to open the window (which had no screen) to cool the room off. my husband finally called the front desk and we got what passed for a fan which we put on the ironing board in front of the window to attempt to get some cool air into the room. having had a MAJOR breakdown earlier in the day that we all worked on due to time limitations, we were hot and sweaty and in need of a cool place to sleep.......silly us. this morning when we checked out, my husband was told that no discount would be provided because the entire motel clientele suffered from the same problem because they have a water system that services the entire motel and it is either heat or a.c. the a.c. finally did kick on ........at 6 a.m. this morning. i must add that the restaurant/bar is much better than in previous reviews as it is obviously under management other than the motel folks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I found the Red Carpet Inn and Suites perfect for my needs. I needed a hotel/motel near Portage, PA that accepted dogs and Red Carpet fit the bill. We had a nice room with everything we needed near an exit to walk the dog. Continental breakfast was adequate. The Cottage Restaurant offered delicious food at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: If you have a pet, ask for a room near the field so you can walk your dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We recently stayed at the Red Carpet Inn, It's close to St. Francis University and it was all that we could get on graduation weekend. Upon first arrival, I noticed that all of the outer security readers by the doors were torn off with wires hanging. The room was old, dingy, not very nice. The bathroom was 1960's and was clean enough to use, not impressive in the least. The security reader to get in the room usually took 3 tries to get it to work. The bedding was clean, believe me I checked in a place like that. There was never anyone at the front desk, when I checked out I just left the key on the desk.

The bar was kinda seedy, a couple of drunks stopped my wife and I as we walked thru, one gentleman came close to a knuckle sandwich. My wife made me walk out the back door and around the building so we didn't see that idiot again.

I listened to loud talking in the hallways and doors slamming ALL NIGHT! I was glad to get up and out. The hallway smelled like nicotine alley.

Would I stay there again ... only if it were the last place in Ebensburgh available ... huh, that's how we ended up there this time. They are playing on university traffic ect, if it weren't for that I am guessing it would be empty.

Room Tip: Pick a room in a different hotel, Comfort Inn is right down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here under the recommendation of a friend who was getting married in the area. She had blocked rooms at this place without walking the property.
Let's start by saying, a truck stop would have felt safer. There were three grown women sharing our room and still felt it necessary to put the coffee table against the door to ensure safety.
When we arrived and checked in there were a construction workers boots left in our room. The room did not have screens on the windows, we felt the need to air out the smell of the room.
There was hair left in the shower, holes in the walls where pictures used to hang, burnt lamp shades. We slept in our jackets.
The restaurant and bar closed at 8 pm on a Friday night, and they were not open by noon on Saturday.
It looks to me that is family run and they are not used to a high volume of people. Their clientele appears to be construction workers and hourly renters. Lastly, the curtain does not cover the entire window that peers into your room.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at this facility for 1 brief hour before checking out because I was horrified at the smell and general lack of cleanliness of the room. In addition to the appliances being unplugged, the room was filthy. I promptly checked out and when the front desk person asked if I didn't like my room, I was suprised this would be her first reaction if this wasn't a frequent complaint. Never even attempt to stay there...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCIS, Owner at The Cottage Restaurant and Red Carpet Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
I find this review to be very suspicious considering we didn't have any incidents like this occur at the property. I am here 24-7 and not once was I told a customer checked b/c they thought it was filthy. If it was so disgusting why wouldn't you turn around and go back to the front desk? Why would you sit there for an hour? All of our guests are welcome to check rooms before checking in as long as there is an employee to walk them to the room for sanitation reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cottage Restaurant and Red Carpet Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Restaurant and Red Carpet Inn and Suites

Also Known As:
The Cottage Restaurant And Red Carpet Hotel Ebensburg
The Cottage Restaurant And Red Carpet Hotel
Address: 4554 Admiral Peary Highway, Ebensburg, PA 15931
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Ebensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Ebensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Cottage Restaurant and Red Carpet Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Restaurant and Red Carpet Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.