We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marblehead Chowder House

Marblehead Chowder House
4101 William Penn Hwy, Easton, PA 18045-5032 (Formerly Marblehead Grille & Chowder)
+1 610-258-4301
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 234 Restaurants in Easton
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Founded in 1996 the ideas for the Marblehead Chowder House were actually hatched a few years before. Sitting at "The Barnacle," overlooking Marblehead Harbor one raw winter day, while the spume from the rough saltwater painted the windows and the Sam Adams Lager flowed freely, a concept was born. Casual, coastal and cozy - fresh seafood, fin fish, shellfish and hearty chowders in a warm, relaxing atmosphere that says "seaside" - a place that had tradition, patriotism, and a New England heritage about it. Fresh ingredients, house-made soups and chowders, comfort food with a twist freshly prepared to order were all musts! Features unique to New England were the foundation - Ipswich Belly Clams (aka steamers, softshells, pissers), fresh Lobster Roll, a Raw Bar with half-shell oysters and clams and, of course, live Lobsters arriving regularly. Authenticity was crucial - only without the sea breeze, gulls and scent of saltwater. Lighthouses and other nautical decor highlight the ambience to create a coastal dining experience like none other in the greater Lehigh Valley. Marblehead was created by Jeff and Noreen Mohler (Cap'n Clawed Lobster and Lady Bisque), who also owned the Aspen Inn and New Street BridgeWorks, both in Bethlehem. Prior to getting into the restaurant business almost three decades ago, Jeff had a long and varied career in teaching, journalism, professional sports management and marketing. Noreen, now a nationally ranked senior amateur golfer, previously played on the LPGA tour and was the women's amateur champion in three different states - RI, MA and PA. She recently was named Captain for the 2010 United States Curtis Cup team, which will compete against Great Britain and Ireland in June 2010 at Essex County Club in Manchester-by-the-Sea, MA, not too far from Marblehead. Our mission is to provide a great place for our employees to work, enabling them to prepare and serve delicious food in a warm, friendly and efficient manner. We want to assure you, our guest, of a memorable visit and encourage you to tell your friends and return often. Your satisfaction is guaranteed or we will make suitable amends.
Easton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Great food, reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had another great experience at=last night at Marblehead. My wife is partial to their Crab Norfolk, which is all crabmeat in a delicate sauce. I had the sea scallops which were boiled to perfection. We had the crab peirogies for an appetizer and they were delicious and meant to be shared. For a very pleasant dininf experience, I highly recommend this restaurant!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    71
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Dinner at Marblehead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Marblehead Grill & Chowder House in Easton, Pa. is a great place for seafood, and they offer other items, such as steak and chicken. The prices are reasonable, especially the Blue Point Specials, and the portions are filling. Make sure you make reservations!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Try the lobster mac and cheese and the blue cheese wedge! the service is great with fresh fish every day. But, be sure to have reservations...even on Tuesday it's busy.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, price and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I have been eating at Marblehead for 11 years. We are always very happy with the food and pleasant and very efficient staff. This management knows how to treat people. A club membership is offered at no cost with discounts and coupon vouchers throughtout the year. Also occasional "games" and scratch off cards add to the fun.
It's always an enjoyable time at Marblehead !!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Amazing yet again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Im from out of town and come up about once a month. My first stop is always Marblehead. The service, and food is always amazing! The Prime Rib is by far my favorite on the menu! Fresh seafood in Easton....YYUUUMMM!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marblehead Chowder House also viewed

 

Been to Marblehead Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marblehead Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.