We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood restaturant in PA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marblehead Chowder House

Marblehead Chowder House
4101 William Penn Hwy, Easton, PA 18045-5032 (Formerly Marblehead Grille & Chowder)
+1 610-258-4301
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 214 Restaurants in Easton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Chowder, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: To make reservations, please visit us on Open Table! Founded in 1996 the ideas for the Marblehead Chowder House were actually hatched a few years before. Sitting at "The Barnacle," overlooking Marblehead Harbor one raw winter day, while the spume from the rough saltwater painted the windows and the Sam Adams Lager flowed freely, a concept was born. Casual, coastal and cozy - fresh seafood, fin fish, shellfish and hearty chowders in a warm, relaxing atmosphere that says "seaside" - a place that had tradition, patriotism, and a New England heritage about it. Fresh ingredients, house-made soups and chowders, comfort food with a twist freshly prepared to order were all musts! Features unique to New England were the foundation - Ipswich Belly Clams (aka steamers, softshells, pissers), fresh Lobster Roll, a Raw Bar with half-shell oysters and clams and, of course, live Lobsters arriving regularly. Authenticity was crucial - only without the sea breeze, gulls and scent of saltwater. Lighthouses and other nautical decor highlight the ambience to create a coastal dining experience like none other in the greater Lehigh Valley. Marblehead was created by Jeff and Noreen Mohler (Cap'n Clawed Lobster and Lady Bisque), who also owned the Aspen Inn and New Street BridgeWorks, both in Bethlehem. Prior to getting into the restaurant business almost three decades ago, Jeff had a long and varied career in teaching, journalism, professional sports management and marketing. Noreen, now a nationally ranked senior amateur golfer, previously played on the LPGA tour and was the women's amateur champion in three different states - RI, MA and PA. She recently was named Captain for the 2010 United States Curtis Cup team, which will compete against Great Britain and Ireland in June 2010 at Essex County Club in Manchester-by-the-Sea, MA, not too far from Marblehead. Our mission is to provide a great place for our employees to work, enabling them to prepare and serve delicious food in a warm, friendly and efficient manner. We want to assure you, our guest, of a memorable visit and encourage you to tell your friends and return often. Your satisfaction is guaranteed or we will make suitable amends.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Seafood restaturant in PA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I visit almost every month with my family. Both me and my wife enjoy their quality of their seafood, especially their Lobster Bisque soup and Crab cakes!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    84
    20
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

i have not been here for a number of years & i do not know why. Very good food at reasonable prices. One of very few Valley restaruarants serving quality seafood & shell fish. Had the warm loster roll & it was great. Had a few shucked clams & they were delicious & very fresh! We will be making this more of a monthly visit rather than yearly!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, PA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Decent prices, service and seafood selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have gone here a few times now. Appetizers: Lobster bisque and calamari were very good. My husband had to send back the crab bisque because it was very salty, but it wasn't a problem and the server offered a replacement. They offer a choice of 3 fresh fish specials, cooked however you like, with a choice of sauces. This restaurant is always busy so make sure you have a reservation. TIP: Request a reservation in the dining room, otherwise you might be put in the bar area. The bar area is nice enough but the benches are very uncomfortable. Another TIP: join the captains club for points to be used towards free entrees, coupons, specials and even a free gift certificate on your birthday for $24!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice place, great for seafood lovers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

First things first, make sure you join the email list and loyalty programs. Their coupons, specials, and mailings are OUTSTANDING!

Service is always good. Food is always fresh. I'm a big fan of seafood and I also live close to this restaurant. You wouldn't believe how many shipments of fresh fish arrive! This is a great local place without any major chains, branding, etc. The atmosphere is inviting, the bar area seems cool, and it's a great place to take bigger groups.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Champagne Dinner was great idea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We went to the Chowder House for our 35th wedding anniversary with my parents, our children and our new grandson, Austin. The server was excellent. She was very attentive. At the end of our delicious dinner, we played the fishbowl game and we won a free Champagne Dinner for two! We returned the next week to use our coupon for the free dinner and were pleasantly surprised at the bill the server brought us. $0.00 !!! We both enjoyed our meals. The lobster bisque was its usual deliciousness. I had a New York strip steak with a Lobster Tail. The tail was very tasty - steak done to my likeness. My husband had the tenderloin tips with crabmeat. He said it was very tasty. We always have a great meal there. My husband always says he feels like he is on vacation when we go there. Keep up the great work, Marblehead.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marblehead Chowder House also viewed

 

Been to Marblehead Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marblehead Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.