We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Accommodating Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lafayette Inn

Save Saved
You added Lafayette Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lafayette Inn
525 W. Monroe St, Easton, PA 18042   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Full Breakfast, WiFi
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Easton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly, Accommodating Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife learned that she had to fix a grant application she had emailed earlier. The lap top they loaned didn't work (wrong program) so the owner let her use the office computer. Much appreciated. Good service; excellent breakfasts in a nice dining area. Beds were comfortable. Near Lafayette College. Easton is a neat town to drive around, and this inn is a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    15
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
36
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I spent the 4th of July long weekend at the Lafayette Inn in Easton. This is part of an annual short vacation that we so enjoy.

Once again we enjoyed the hospitality and great breakfasts that the Inn offers. The staff is friendly and helpful and our hosts accomodated every need.

We were happy to find that downtown Easton has opened new restaurants and shops since our visit last year and that our old favorites were going strong as well.

It happend to be Heritage weekend in Easton and we were impressed by how much the Saturday farm market has grown and the variety of goods offered.

We look forward to returning next July to stay in comfort with our "friends" at the Lafayette Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

As 300 year old Inns go, this inn is excellent. However, despite many, many obvious renovations, new appointments, and furnishings, there are some drawbacks. Third floor walk-up is tough, so don't book one of those rooms if you are in the least physically limited. Room 31 had some serious water leak in the past, and attendant mold in the corner between the wall and shower. Otherwise, the room was immaculately clean. Room was exceptionally quiet, and the bed was dream worthy. Shower was great. Toilet paper left a lot to be desired, pun intended. Breakfast reception and food was superb and the best experienced on this 14 day journey in the Northeast. There are several excellent restaurants nearby, and the one reception recommended was superb plus within walking distance.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor if you have physical problems. Otherwise, it is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at the Lafayette Inn with my daughter and sister. 5 years ago we took over the Inn for a family wedding and rehearsal dinner. We love everything about the Inn and we return at least once a year. The breakfasts are wonderful, the rooms cozy, the living room beautiful with cake and drinks at all hours. There is just something about how you are welcomed and treated during your stay that makes us want to escape to Easton from DC! We spent the day in Bethlehem, PA with the Moravian Bookstore, McCarthy's tea house and a fantastic knitting store. And don't forget American Hairlines where you can schedule all kinds of spa services. And great restaurants in Easton - we love the River Grill. Sigh - we want to schedule our return visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This Inn has so much potential. Nice location, nice house. Just attention to details in the room was over looked. Unfortunately, there were stains on the furniture and rug - a very big turn off. Paint was in desperate need of some touch ups. Linens were clean, the room was quiet. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was delicious. Nice hot shower. We were there for a very short stay (late check in and early check out) and we were comfortable enough. While our stay was nice, there is room for improvement with the overall appearance of the room. Stayed in room 22 - two double beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The inn is very charming and cosy, and the staff friendly and helpful. It's a huge old house (formerly part of Lafayette College) located on a beautiful tree-lined street. I love the wine and cheese offered at 4:00 PM in the lounge area. They also have a refrigerator full of sodas, a coffee/tea maker and fantastic cake. The sunlit breakfast room is lovely. The regular rooms are not gigantic (you can upgrade to more expensive suites), but they are comfortable and clean. The staff makes excellent recommendations for places to dine, and there are a few bars/restaurants within walking distance. Definitely one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed in, and I've been all over the world. I have a few beefs, one of which is I wish they would make omelets (they do Belgian waffles), as the only eggs available seem to be hard-boiled. It would also be nice if the lounge refrigerator had some more healthful options, such as bottled water or juice. Otherwise, I can't think of anything negative to say. Room charges are comparable to Hampton Inn-type places, and the experience is much more homey and hospitable. I stay there often as I have relatives nearby; I would recommend to anyone traveling to this area.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have showers, so if you like a bath as I do, make sure you get a room with a tub. La...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LafayinnBB, Owner at Lafayette Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We thank you for your comments and suggestions - you must have stayed at the inn during a weekend when we do quiche, French toast, pancakes or other hot entrees. During the weekday we do make omelets to order as well as scrambled eggs and the Belgian Waffles. In addition to providing bottled water in the room we will also look at adding bottled water into the lounge refrigerator as one of the many beverages available to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was misled by the reviews. This inn must survive based on it's proximity to Lafayette College. It has the potential to be charming but it is obvious the owners are not putting any money into the upkeep. Our room was musty smelling and the carpet was downright filthy. I couldn't stand to walk on it in my bare feet. The bathroom smelled of mildew and the back of the shower curtain was full of it and the tile floor needed a good scrubbing! It was desparately in need of a paint job. The outlet that was most convenient to charge phones was not working properly. It was reported but not repaired during our 2 night stay. There is a fountain and garden in front that could be lovely...if they just had a gardener or someone who would pay attention to it. On the plus side...the employees were all very friendly and whoever makes the baked goods deserves a gold star! The complimentary wine and cheese offered late Saturday afternoon was a nice touch. The breakfast room was light and airy and very pleasant. While I will never stay there again, I hope for future guests the owners pay more attention to items mentioned in this review.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LafayinnBB, Owner at Lafayette Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Nancy P.,
We thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us regarding your recent stay. We do respect your privacy so we had to wait until the room was emptied to replace the outlet, as this required the power to be completely turned off to the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lafayette Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Inn

Address: 525 W. Monroe St, Easton, PA 18042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Easton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lafayette Inn in Easton, PA is a perfect base for discovering the Lehigh Valley. Located just two blocks from Lafayette College and one mile from downtown Easton PA's Crayola Factory and State Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lafayette Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel Easton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lafayette Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.