We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight to stay here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 North Hampton St, Easton, PA 18042   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Easton
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a delight to stay here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We traveled here for a family wedding. Nine other rooms were reserved by family members for the weekend. It was a fantastic place to stay. The one bedroom suite I saw was standard size. The 2 and 3 bedroom suites were large and lovely. Our room was larger than many apartments! It had a fully supplied kitchen, dining table and living room area. We also had a deck. All the rooms were well decorated and comfortable. There was a problem with our reservation when we arrived. The customer service was excellent. They immediately fixed the problem and there were no further problems. It was a wonderful place to have a big gathering like ours. No problems accommodating all the people in our suite that would meet for breakfast, car pooling or relaxation after the festivities.

Room Tip: They were all interesting and different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    28
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
45
30
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We travel so much and while it is often comforting to just choose our favorite chains for a typical, no surprises experience, sometimes we just want something different. Something different is what we got at The Grand Eastonian, an old hotel with many strategic and charming updates.
Like the town of Easton itself, the hotel is quirky and full of character. On a quick glance, areas appeared to be dirty, but after closer examination, the truth is that the hotel is just old. It was actually quite clean. You know the type! For another example, it was built long before ADA-compliance was the norm. So while it is possible to get a luggage cart outside to the car, doing so requires walking the entire length of the hotel to reach the access ramp and around the corner to reach the parking lot. On Saturday morning, when we were heading out for a nice stroll to the excellent farmer's market just a couple of blocks away, this was not a problem. However, when we arrived late at night after a nine hour drive in bad weather, it was definitely not a plus, to say the least. Had we just been traveling with a couple of suitcases we probably would have been okay, but doggie was with us this time and we were staying for a mid-length duration, so it was challenging in a distinctively unpleasant way.
The elevator was excruciatingly slow and it had a terrible dinging--really, an alarming one, pun intended--noise every time it reached a floor before the door would open. It sounded as if we were being alerted to a malfunction or breakdown and that made us jump every single time we rode up or down. That said, once we arrived at our room with a lovely, clear span view of the Delaware River, the park, and the Free Bridge to New Jersey, it didn't matter.
The room itself was small, more like a big city hotel room size with a comfortable bed, a desk, and an old armchair I won't describe as charming. The closet was just about the size of the room, but only three hangers were provided. And the bathroom was huge, quite possibly the largest bathroom we have ever seen in a hotel like this one, with a super convenient double sink, a large shower, and a separate bathtub. I once lived in a studio apartment smaller than this bathroom. All in all, a mixed bag, but trending to the positive.
A couple of other negatives need mentioning. Skip the uninspired white bread and apple or banana continental breakfast, unless you actually prefer your coffee to be pale. Likewise, the fitness room and the pool were not features to be proud of. The noise level was very high and not merely because of city noise--rather, the insulation is not what I would have preferred. We could clearly hear conversations in the hotel room next to ours which was a little unsettling. Additionally, there was a huge party in the hotel one night we were there, and while some of the louder and more offensive guests were removed from the premises, it wasn't a great experience, especially couple with the Hispanic music and fireworks festival at the afore-mentioned park outside the window. That said, the hotel staff took care of problems swiftly, so what more can you really ask?
Bottom line: we would stay here again for sure if we were looking for a destination hotel where we could walk to all the excellent restaurants and nightlife. It was clean, pet friendly, just quirky enough to be on the right side of charming. We would bring our own hangers, ear plugs, and coffee, though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in the 3 bedroom suite for one night last week. It is just like a luxury condominium. Beautiful architecture. The staff was wonderful and the location perfect. We walked to dinner and the town square just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: The 3 room suite is worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stopped here on our route from Knoxville to Connecticut on the 2nd of July. Room was nice, not very large - bathroom was almost as large! Beautiful jetted tub which filled quickly and was very comforting after a long day's drive.

I'd forgotten my computer plug on the power bar in the lobby. I called a week later & the front desk person retrieved it and requested my CC info to return it to me as per hotel policy. I didn't realize the item was only worth a few dollars until several days later so I called again & ask them to simply throw it away if it had not been sent yet. The manager replied that he had just returned it the day before & my card was not needed.. it was returned as a courtesy. Postage on the box was $5.75.

I thought that was very kind of them to do so.

I do have a small negative - their complimentary breakfast is way under par & the atmosphere in the eating area is nil. That was a bit dissappointing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Eastonian is a beautiful 1927 Hotel.
It opened just before the depression hit and had a hard time ever making it. With its ups and downs it finally closed and became a vacant mess. But the organization called Nurture Nature saw its potential and have money to bring it back. They did a fantastic job. It became a ten sorry condo offering the grandest of condo living. But that was just before the big real estate crash. A few condos were sold and the rest remained empty but beautiful. The decided to keep the building going they would use the remaining sites as hotel rooms. We stayed in a two story three bath two bedroom that was absolutely beautiful with every thing you can want in a house.
Easton is a beautiful historic town with the Crayola Crayon Factory right in the middle.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Last year our wedding party stayed at the Grand Eastonian, so for our first anniversary we decided to relive that experience and stayed a night at the Grand Eastonian. The staff was super accommodating - with my reservation I requested a "room with view" and we were set up with a ninth floor room with a terrace that had a view of the city and the Delaware river.

For the money, the Grand Eastonian is a steal - getting full use of a beautiful 1,000 square foot apartment with all the conveniences of a hotel. Also it has a great location if you want to hit a few of the local watering holes and restaurants in Easton - or walk over the bridge to NJ. It's crazy to me that this isn't ranked the #1 hotel in Easton.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I went there for a business trip and was lured by the historic scene of the building. Got to the room, found mold in the shower and a piece of long hair in there as well...gross. There was a dog on the other side of the double doors separating my room from the other that was barking because he could hear me walking around...annoying. The sheets were pilling and the bed was uncomfortable. And lastly, the jetted tub ran out of hot water about 2/3rds the way filling up, so not much of a hot tub. All in all, kind of a creepy place with poor amenities. The continental breakfast was a joke compared to other hotels (Holiday Inn Express, Marriott, etc.) Won't be going here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel

Address: 140 North Hampton St, Easton, PA 18042
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Easton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best lodging suites and rooms in Easton, Bethlehem and the Lehigh Valley....here at The Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel.Enjoy our spacious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites complete with fully stocked kitchens, fireplace and multiple baths. Add our Free WIFI, free fitness center, indoor heated pool and free continental breakfast, for the perfect stay!For more GrandEastonianSuitesHotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Eastonian Hotel Easton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.