We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 North Hampton St, Easton, PA 18042   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Special Offer
$25 Gift Card
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Easton
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family stayed here when we visited the Crayola Crayon Factory among other places. Our kids were 5 and 2 and I wanted a place that gave us some space so we could cook meals and feel more like a rented house. This hotel is more of a revamped condo style building with some permanent residents that own and then some that are used for people like me. The overall size of the unit we had was enormous for a family of 4. The decor was amazing and I was blown away with how nice the bathrooms were. My kids didn;t want to leave the shower stall areas which was very funny. We had multiple flat screen TV's, the beds were very comfortable, had great views of the small downtown area and it was very quiet.

we got breakfast in the little cafe on the main floor (can;t remember the name). The woman that worked/owned it was very nice and I had one of the best bacon egg and cheese bagels (cracked peppercorn bacon...yum). Their coffee was also some of the best I ever had and I bought a small package of coffee from them to take home.

If we ever make it back to this area, this will be my choice hotel. I won't even consider another one. Maybe a little pricey, but having all of the convienences of home while on vacation was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand E, General Manager at Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review while you and your family visited the newly renovated Crayola Experience. We are glad to have had you as our guest and we look forward to your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    29
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
46
31
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We love staying at the Grand Eastonian Hotel and have been since our son started at Lafayette College in 2011. It's not only the closest hotel to campus, the staff is great, the building charming, very clean and the variety of rooms is awesome.

We have stayed in 2 bedroom suites when we bring other kids and the regular hotel rooms when it's just my husband and I. While we love the suite experience with a spacious living room, full kitchen and dining area, we also enjoy the simple elegence of the traditional room as well.

My husband enjoys the beautiful furniture with inlaid wood patterns and the comfortable bedding throughout the hotel. I love the indoor pool and the friendly staff.

Anyway, we are closing out this school year and will be back in August.

Thanks for taking great care of us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand E, General Manager at Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Paula, Thank you for the review of your experience while staying with us recently. It has been a pleasure having you and your family as our guest. We look forward to your return in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Visitng Lafayette College, so this was closest. I completely agree with the review below that the hotel is mediocre (ditto: cold room, paper-thin blanket, plastic coated and noisy matress pad like a "waterproof" liner, insanely slow/unpredictable elevator--had to use the freight elevator 2x because the main elevator wasn't functioning). Also, the room (we didn't book a suite) decor was a mix of industrial "loft" and a garage sale traditional (unattractive). We found absolutely no charm anywhere--not in the lobby, shoddy hallways or our room. On the plus side, our bath was really large and very nice, and the location is convenient to the college and great for the downtown. A very average hotel, perhpas the "suites" are better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand E, General Manager at Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I am sorry that you stay with us was not up to your expectations. Recently, we “re-divided” some of our rooms, this was done to our larger 2 bedroom suites. This action created a 1 bedroom suite a well as a “tradition” hotel rom. This step has allowed us to offer a wider range of products for our guests and at different price points.

We are in the process of furniture and bedding upgrades in our guest rooms and public spaces over the coming months.

Please stay with us on your next visit and if you want a large, spacious suite, we still have many for you to select.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked this hotel for its convenient location near State Theater in Easton, to attend a concert by Irish tenor, Paul Byrom. We got much more than convenience! Since the hotel was sold out due to concert, we were very pleased when Zelda, the desk clerk worked so hard to accommodate our group's needs. The rooms are actually condos, with a variety of layouts. Our room had a single king bed, large bathroom with whirlpool & shower, large closet. Wood floors were walnut stained, walls an off-white, which was repeated throughout hotel. Don't let the nondescript maze of hallways fool you! Our friend's "room" was larger than most apartments! Each room had a unique size, and securely locked doors allowed for flow from one room to another, if desired. Obviously designed to fit the condo owner's needs. The hotel really was "grand!" I wish we had had more time to see the charming city of Easton. By the way, dinner at Pearl Baker's is a must (try the bacon jam!).

Room Tip: Be sure to ask how big the "room" is - you will be mightily surprised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand E, General Manager at Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay with us. Your positive feedback motivates our staff. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Four of us booked a two-bedroom suite for a night in Easton to see a show. It was a stunning hotel. The suite was far bigger than expected - two bedrooms, two baths (one of which had a double vanity, shower, and jacuzzi tub), and a large living/dining area and kitchen. The hotel was turned into condos a few years ago, but, when the economy tanked, it was turned back to a hotel, so suites like this are giant. Everything was clean and modern with really good finishes. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, especially the last at the front desk when we checked out. She told us all about the history of the hotel and the town and was very nice. If I ever have a reason to go to Easton again, this is where I'll stay. It can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand E, General Manager at Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you sharing your experience while staying with us recently. We are glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

One of the places my wife and I love to go is Easton, PA, because they have excellent restaurants along with numerous bars and nightclubs all within a two block radius. The problem is that we don’t want to drink and drive, so we like to stay somewhere within walking distance. We discovered the Grand Eastonian while looking for a place to stay in Easton.

The Grand Eastonian is a really nice hotel. If you’re not familiar, you should check out their website. They generally offer two main room styles: suites and rooms. However, they’re known for their “suites”, which include modern kitchens with full size appliances, fireplaces (fake), dining areas, flat screen TVs, etc. The “rooms” are generally in line with standard hotel rooms, except the tubs are whirlpool tubs.

Generally speaking, if you pick from the internet, their suites are “queen” suites, with no whirlpool bath, and their rooms are king rooms with no kitchen, fridge, or anything except the whirlpool tub. But here’s the thing: the desk clerk told me that they intentionally only show two room types on the internet, even though they have many others (including a three floor room with 3 king bedrooms!) What they do is upgrade the early bookers in order to make the less popular rooms available for booking on the internet. So the earlier you book, the better chance you have of being upgraded at no charge. I think of the seven or eight times we’ve stayed there, we’ve been upgraded at least five or six times. I’m not sure why they do it this way, because they sell out almost every weekend. But no arguments from me. We’ve stayed in the best rooms they have, and they’re nothing short of spectacular. In fact, we just stayed there last weekend and were upgraded from a standard king room to a king suite with an additional queen bedroom.

With respect to the actual suites: they’ve always been clean when we’ve been there, although they have a rough look to them (the walls and ceilings appear to be bare cement support structures painted white.) Many times one or more lights are burned out, but they’ll replace them if you ask. And we’ve seen a couple of suites where the fireplace didn’t work properly (or at all). We’ve never really minded, however, since we were usually getting a suite for the price of a room. The configuration we’ve seen the most is a queen suite with the king room attached. Essentially the door between the two rooms is unlocked, and you get to use both. This gives you a queen bedroom, a king bedroom, a normal bathroom with standup shower, and a “master” bathroom with standup shower and whirlpool tub.

The staff is very friendly, and they all seem to like the hotel and the surrounding area. The hotel offers free continental breakfast most mornings, but we’ve never taken advantage of it since we actually live nearby (15 minutes away). Plus, Easton has some of the best eateries around!

All in all, it’s an excellent hotel in the middle of a city with a lot to do. We plan on going back a lot in the foreseeable future.

Room Tip: Book early! They upgrade early bookers if they don't sell out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand E, General Manager at Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We appreciate your complimentary review of our hotel. Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I went to the region on business and had a car ordered for the morning, which unfortunately never showed up. Without being prompted the GM offered to give me a ride and made sure that I got to where I wanted to get to. This took probably an hour out of his day, but he never minded and was adament to help.
The lady at reception in the morning was very helpful and also quite welcoming. You can tell this is a small place where people care about their customers and the people they meet. The room was adequate and great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand E, General Manager at Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel and staff. We look forward to welcoming you on a return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel

Address: 140 North Hampton St, Easton, PA 18042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Easton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Easton, Bethlehem or Allentown is for business or leisure, you will love staying at The Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel. Our historic hotel blends today's modern comforts with historic charm and architecture! Experience the best lodging suites and rooms in Easton, ideal for day, weekly, monthly or longer stays. Enjoy our spacious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites complete with fully stocked kitchens, soothing fireplace and multiple baths. Add our Free WIFI, free fitness center, indoor heated pool and free continental breakfast, for the perfect stay! Plus, with 5,000 square feet of event space, we are the ideal venue for weddings, meetings and first class social gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Eastonian Hotel Easton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.