We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming hotel in a charming little town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 North Hampton St, Easton, PA 18042   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Gift Card
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Easton
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A charming hotel in a charming little town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Four of us booked a two-bedroom suite for a night in Easton to see a show. It was a stunning hotel. The suite was far bigger than expected - two bedrooms, two baths (one of which had a double vanity, shower, and jacuzzi tub), and a large living/dining area and kitchen. The hotel was turned into condos a few years ago, but, when the economy tanked, it was turned back to a hotel, so suites like this are giant. Everything was clean and modern with really good finishes. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, especially the last at the front desk when we checked out. She told us all about the history of the hotel and the town and was very nice. If I ever have a reason to go to Easton again, this is where I'll stay. It can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand E, General Manager at Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you sharing your experience while staying with us recently. We are glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    29
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
46
31
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

One of the places my wife and I love to go is Easton, PA, because they have excellent restaurants along with numerous bars and nightclubs all within a two block radius. The problem is that we don’t want to drink and drive, so we like to stay somewhere within walking distance. We discovered the Grand Eastonian while looking for a place to stay in Easton.

The Grand Eastonian is a really nice hotel. If you’re not familiar, you should check out their website. They generally offer two main room styles: suites and rooms. However, they’re known for their “suites”, which include modern kitchens with full size appliances, fireplaces (fake), dining areas, flat screen TVs, etc. The “rooms” are generally in line with standard hotel rooms, except the tubs are whirlpool tubs.

Generally speaking, if you pick from the internet, their suites are “queen” suites, with no whirlpool bath, and their rooms are king rooms with no kitchen, fridge, or anything except the whirlpool tub. But here’s the thing: the desk clerk told me that they intentionally only show two room types on the internet, even though they have many others (including a three floor room with 3 king bedrooms!) What they do is upgrade the early bookers in order to make the less popular rooms available for booking on the internet. So the earlier you book, the better chance you have of being upgraded at no charge. I think of the seven or eight times we’ve stayed there, we’ve been upgraded at least five or six times. I’m not sure why they do it this way, because they sell out almost every weekend. But no arguments from me. We’ve stayed in the best rooms they have, and they’re nothing short of spectacular. In fact, we just stayed there last weekend and were upgraded from a standard king room to a king suite with an additional queen bedroom.

With respect to the actual suites: they’ve always been clean when we’ve been there, although they have a rough look to them (the walls and ceilings appear to be bare cement support structures painted white.) Many times one or more lights are burned out, but they’ll replace them if you ask. And we’ve seen a couple of suites where the fireplace didn’t work properly (or at all). We’ve never really minded, however, since we were usually getting a suite for the price of a room. The configuration we’ve seen the most is a queen suite with the king room attached. Essentially the door between the two rooms is unlocked, and you get to use both. This gives you a queen bedroom, a king bedroom, a normal bathroom with standup shower, and a “master” bathroom with standup shower and whirlpool tub.

The staff is very friendly, and they all seem to like the hotel and the surrounding area. The hotel offers free continental breakfast most mornings, but we’ve never taken advantage of it since we actually live nearby (15 minutes away). Plus, Easton has some of the best eateries around!

All in all, it’s an excellent hotel in the middle of a city with a lot to do. We plan on going back a lot in the foreseeable future.

Room Tip: Book early! They upgrade early bookers if they don't sell out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand E, General Manager at Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We appreciate your complimentary review of our hotel. Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I went to the region on business and had a car ordered for the morning, which unfortunately never showed up. Without being prompted the GM offered to give me a ride and made sure that I got to where I wanted to get to. This took probably an hour out of his day, but he never minded and was adament to help.
The lady at reception in the morning was very helpful and also quite welcoming. You can tell this is a small place where people care about their customers and the people they meet. The room was adequate and great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand E, General Manager at Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel and staff. We look forward to welcoming you on a return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed in the two bedroom suite with my sister in January. The suite worked out very well for our purposes at the time. The kitchen was great and there was a large dining table in addition to an island. We picked up food and brought it back which was a great opportunity to just hang out over a busy weekend. The suite was two floors which was pretty cool, however, the blower in one bedroom was really loud. We loved having our own bathrooms. The living room furniture needed to be updated - the couch was stained and uncomfortable. The young woman at the front dest was less than welcoming. I thought it was a good alternative to the typical side of the highway motel.

Room Tip: If you are looking for two bedrooms, ask for the suite that has two floors - lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand E, General Manager at Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to the area. We are addressing your concerns. Thanks for helping us improve our service and standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the most expensive hotel in the Easton area, I recommend you save your money and go to the Holiday Inn Express down the street. It looks nice, but the the staff is inhospitable. The mattress was uncomfortable, the room was cold and the blanket was slightly thicker than a Bounty paper towel. The elevator is very slow, and you need a complicated code to enter the building after 7pm, and if you have trouble with that, good luck getting into the building. The bathroom is so far from the bedroom that you are wide awake by time you find it, if you should have to use it during the night. We had a rough night and overslept. Check-out was at noon. I called at noon to ask for more time I was told to get out of the room by 12:30: the hotel was so empty at the time, I didn't even see a mouse, much less a housekeeper. When I checked out the man behind the desk asked me about my stay, I told him it was awful, and he told me to have a nice trip home. There is no AAA discount for this place, and though the room is a suite, there is not any place else to sleep but the bed in the bedroom so it would not work for a family, and the only big thing to see in Easton is the Crayola factory. I paid $159.00 for the night. The other hotels in the area are half as much money. It was a horrible experience and it ruined my trip.

Room Tip: Go to the Holiday Inn down the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand E, General Manager at Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to discuss your recent experience with us. We are always working on improving our product and services. I regret that our hotel did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Very interesting renovation with a grand lobby and new updates to old architecture. I loved the indoor heated pool and workout room. Wood floors, marble bathroom with whirlpool tub and large walk in shower.

Two things spoiled the experience a bit for me. Very spotty wireless Internet and no access in the pool area. The other was the heating in the room. No controls and a noisy vent stuck to the ceiling that ran all the time. A bit too warm for sleeping.

If they could improve on these two and the breakfast I'd give it five stars.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We visited family in Easton during the holidays and booked a suite at the Grand Eastonian.
We were kings for the day in this massive 2BR unit (202). The dog was even welcome. Bedrooms were great. They have a well heated pool, with a lift for elderly or handicapped.
This suite was part of the old ballroom and a friend told me I was standing right where JFK stood at a reception in 1958. The staff is outstanding, and the Green Harvest Cafe should not be missed. My bill was under $200! We will be back.

Room Tip: 202 was a 2BR duplex. We had 16 people join us for breakfast and could have accomodated another doze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel

Address: 140 North Hampton St, Easton, PA 18042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Easton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Easton, Bethlehem or Allentown is for business or leisure, you will love staying at The Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel. Our historic hotel blends today's modern comforts with historic charm and architecture! Experience the best lodging suites and rooms in Easton, ideal for day, weekly, monthly or longer stays. Enjoy our spacious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites complete with fully stocked kitchens, soothing fireplace and multiple baths. Add our Free WIFI, free fitness center, indoor heated pool and free continental breakfast, for the perfect stay! Plus, with 5,000 square feet of event space, we are the ideal venue for weddings, meetings and first class social gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Eastonian Hotel Easton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Eastonian Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.