We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average small mountain for beginners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shawnee Mountain Ski Area

Shawnee Mountain Ski Area
Shawnee Mountain Ski Area, 401 Hollow Road, East Stroudsburg, PA 18356
570-421-7231
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shawnee Mountain Ski Area is the Pocono's Favorite Family Ski Resort and the closest Pocono ski area to New York City and Northern New Jersey. With 23 slopes and trails, 2 terrain parks, snow tubing and top rated children's programs, Shawnee Mountain has something for everyone.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average small mountain for beginners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

relatively small mountain is good for beginners to get comfortable, if you are above you will be bored. few major lifts closed at a time creates lines but slopes are not too crowded

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    71
    25
    7
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hope, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great for family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Prices are good, and nice place for the family. Close to home. food ok. Great to teach young kids to ski

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawneemt, Public Relations Manager at Shawnee Mountain Ski Area, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are happy you and your family had a great time at Shawnee Mountain Ski Area this season. I will pass along your comments to our children's program and ski school. We hope to see you again on the slopes soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good for beginners and advanced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went skiing this past weekend at Shawnee. I am a beginner, so I was able to go on the green circles and feel pretty safe. My boyfriend is more advanced and really enjoyed the more difficult paths. 2 of our friends came and didn't ski, they hung out in the lodge all day. The bar offers a lot of specialty drinks. There is a fire place and plenty of room to sit and relax. Great time! Also if you stay at Shawnee Inn you can use your guest pass to get a discount on the ski passes.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Made our weekend...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If it wasn't for this place, our weekend would've been a disaster. But everyone at Shawnee was helpful and most definitely friendly. Can't wait to go back! This place made our trip worthwhile.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's alright”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The resort is small, which we liked. Easy to find everything. They really only have 1 beginners slope. The staff is super friendly though and the price is good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shawnee Mountain Ski Area also viewed

Tannersville, Pocono Mountains Region
Blakeslee, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Analomink, Pocono Mountains Region
East Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Shawnee Mountain Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shawnee Mountain Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.