We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A DUMP” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fernwood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fernwood Resort to your Saves list
Fernwood Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5785 Milford Road, East Stroudsburg, PA 18302   |  
Hotel amenities
Jamaica, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WHAT A DUMP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Was there this past weekend for a R&B event .The music was great and went back in time.So did the hotel rooms.I dont think this place has been updated in twenty years.They should close the HOTEL until the renovation is completed.They use to be great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the R&B Weekend. This is an event that we have been hosting for years. The hotel has recently come under new ownership in the past year. It may be obvious that we are undergoing many different upgrades and renovations. Some areas that have already been upgraded are the lobby, the Astor Ballroom, Both indoor and Outdoor pools, the entire façade of the building, the Event Center and much more. Next on the every growing list of renovations are the hotel rooms themselves. We would like to ask you to stay with us again in the future to see the property once more upgrades have been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    31
    51
    102
See reviews for
120
55
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallkill, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband booked a night at this "resort" to surprise for a night away. On reading the reviews and seeing he pictures that people have posted on other websites I decided to cancel he reservation and go some place else. He staff at he "hotel", particularly Cindy, cold not have been more rude. Given the state of their hotel hey should be much more forgiving with their three day refund policy. It is not as if they are turning people away.Shame on you Fernwood

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
On Behalf of Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center I would like to apologize for your unsatisfactory stay with us most recently. The type of customer service you are explaining is unacceptable and management staff was notified. However, there is nothing our front desk staff can do when it comes to the three day refund policy, essentially their hands are tied. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future to see all of the upgrades when complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

At first glance the room looked ok! After taking quilts off the bed i saw the blankets were all worn, only had real pillow cases on 2 of the four pillows. the other two were pillow covers with the zipper. Chairs had crumbs all over them, floor looked like it wasn't vacuumed. we went out and bought new pillows and pillow cases. and when i got up to go to bathroom during the night i had to kill a roach in bathroom.
staff was very nice and friendly!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
First and Foremost I would like to apologize on behalf of Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center. We are saddened that your most recent stay with us was not everything you were looking for. We were recently purchased by new owners and since the purchase our maintenance staff as well as everyone else has been working none stop to upgrade the entire facility. A lot of improvements have been happening across the entire property of Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center. We ask guests to be patient with these improvements as our next projects are the hotel rooms themselves. Everyone here is excited about the upgrades and I urge you to come back and stay with us again in the near future to see more and more of the upgrades come to life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This place is seriously a dump. Carpets in rooms are stained and dirty. Furniture is outdated and beat up. Bathroom is nasty. I will never stay here again. I can't believe they have the nerve to call it a resort!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
On behalf of Fernwood I would like to thank you for your stay and your feedback. I would also like to share information with you that the hotel was recently purchased by new owners. We have been working nonstop to get upgrades and renovations done. We have recently completed renovating the lobby of the hotel, 3 new restaurants, upgraded the outdoor pool, fitness center and the entire façade of the entire building is currently receiving a great facelift. The next projects we have begun are the hotel rooms themselves. Many meetings and decisions have been made and the construction crew will be breaking ground shortly. We hope we will have the chance for you to come and stay with us again in the future. My hopes are that you would not be disappointed.
-Steve Bartlett Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a family reunion here and were concerned because we had read unfavourable reviews about the resort. We called ahead of time and were told that they were undergoing extensive renovations but all units were not completed. We requested accomodations in their renovated units and were pleasantly surprised that the staff(Justin) made the extra effort and ensured that all of us were accomodated in 4 renovated villas next to each other. The villas are definitely large enough to accomodate 6 people and had well equipped kitchens. The towels and beds could be upgraded but in general we feel we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Ask for their renovated units and an address that your GPS can pick up. Rout e209 and River Road doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Once again im back !!! Back in july i stayed in the studio villa and now im back to the 6 people villa wow!! It blew me away !! Amazing!!! 2 rooms 2 beds by the living room gorgeous kitchen sofa and chimeny in living room...it is comfortable for 6 people to sleep but 14 of us slept fantastic !! Rooms clean and well organized !!! Kitchen huge well decorated...living room amazing! This resort is amazing i love it !!! Next time going for the biggest one for about 30 people !!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend in a Fernwood villa as it was the host hotel for a triathlon. The villa was dirty and smelled like stale cigarettes. The kitchen was not clean and the towels were all stained. The water pressure was lousy. Overall, just an awful accommodation. To top it off, they overcharged me and then, when I call to correct the issue, they were rude to me and claimed the charges I was upset about were not made. Avoid this place unless you are stuck staying there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Address: 5785 Milford Road, East Stroudsburg, PA 18302
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400-acre Pocono Mountain Resort located adjacent to the Delwaware Water Gap National Recreation Area offering one and two bedroom fully appointed villa rentals. Four seasons of activities include single and family four season tubing, ropes course, zip lines, 18 hole golf, canoeing, horseback riding, bumper boats, restaurant, live entertainment, mini golf, video game area, paintball, skiing at nearby Shawnee and Camelback Mountains, water park packages with Camelbeach, shopping at The Crossings Premium Outlets and hiking at Bushkill Falls - the Niagara of Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Fernwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Pa
Fernwood Resort Bushkill
Fernwood Hotel Bushkill
Bushkill Fernwood Hotel Resort
Fernwood Bushkill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.