We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unhappy with room!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fernwood Resort

Save Saved
You added Fernwood Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fernwood Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5785 Milford Road, East Stroudsburg, PA 18302   |  
Hotel amenities
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Very Unhappy with room!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

At first glance the room looked ok! After taking quilts off the bed i saw the blankets were all worn, only had real pillow cases on 2 of the four pillows. the other two were pillow covers with the zipper. Chairs had crumbs all over them, floor looked like it wasn't vacuumed. we went out and bought new pillows and pillow cases. and when i got up to go to bathroom during the night i had to kill a roach in bathroom.
staff was very nice and friendly!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
First and Foremost I would like to apologize on behalf of Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center. We are saddened that your most recent stay with us was not everything you were looking for. We were recently purchased by new owners and since the purchase our maintenance staff as well as everyone else has been working none stop to upgrade the entire facility. A lot of improvements have been happening across the entire property of Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center. We ask guests to be patient with these improvements as our next projects are the hotel rooms themselves. Everyone here is excited about the upgrades and I urge you to come back and stay with us again in the near future to see more and more of the upgrades come to life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    35
    29
    44
    87
See reviews for
102
50
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This place is seriously a dump. Carpets in rooms are stained and dirty. Furniture is outdated and beat up. Bathroom is nasty. I will never stay here again. I can't believe they have the nerve to call it a resort!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
On behalf of Fernwood I would like to thank you for your stay and your feedback. I would also like to share information with you that the hotel was recently purchased by new owners. We have been working nonstop to get upgrades and renovations done. We have recently completed renovating the lobby of the hotel, 3 new restaurants, upgraded the outdoor pool, fitness center and the entire façade of the entire building is currently receiving a great facelift. The next projects we have begun are the hotel rooms themselves. Many meetings and decisions have been made and the construction crew will be breaking ground shortly. We hope we will have the chance for you to come and stay with us again in the future. My hopes are that you would not be disappointed.
-Steve Bartlett Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a family reunion here and were concerned because we had read unfavourable reviews about the resort. We called ahead of time and were told that they were undergoing extensive renovations but all units were not completed. We requested accomodations in their renovated units and were pleasantly surprised that the staff(Justin) made the extra effort and ensured that all of us were accomodated in 4 renovated villas next to each other. The villas are definitely large enough to accomodate 6 people and had well equipped kitchens. The towels and beds could be upgraded but in general we feel we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Ask for their renovated units and an address that your GPS can pick up. Rout e209 and River Road doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Once again im back !!! Back in july i stayed in the studio villa and now im back to the 6 people villa wow!! It blew me away !! Amazing!!! 2 rooms 2 beds by the living room gorgeous kitchen sofa and chimeny in living room...it is comfortable for 6 people to sleep but 14 of us slept fantastic !! Rooms clean and well organized !!! Kitchen huge well decorated...living room amazing! This resort is amazing i love it !!! Next time going for the biggest one for about 30 people !!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend in a Fernwood villa as it was the host hotel for a triathlon. The villa was dirty and smelled like stale cigarettes. The kitchen was not clean and the towels were all stained. The water pressure was lousy. Overall, just an awful accommodation. To top it off, they overcharged me and then, when I call to correct the issue, they were rude to me and claimed the charges I was upset about were not made. Avoid this place unless you are stuck staying there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here last weekend as it was the host hotel for a triathlon event. I had a room in the Villas. I travel a geat deal and I can honestly say that I have never ever stayed in a worse place.
When I initially checked in the door to my Villa wouldn't open so they switched me to another place ( after a half hour wait). When I finally got in a unit the fun began. The downstairs toliet was not flushed after having been used. A dirty knife was left in the sink. There were flies in the downstairs portion of the villa. There was not even one blanket in the unit ( there were no blankets on the bed - a first in my experience). Only one small bar of soap was in the unit but it was sort of academic because the shower wouldn't work. In short the place was a dirty wreck. I had paid for two nights ( they required a 2 night minimum) but left immediately after the race and only spent one long and sleepless night at the Fernwood Villas. STAY AWAY!!!!

Room Tip: there are none
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We booked two nights at Fernwood because it was the host hotel for a race my boyfriend was doing (Poconos Half Iron Tri). If not for the convenience of the race events I would have done research to find nicer accommodations. What I’m saying is that unless you have a really good reason to stay at Fernwood, don’t.

The hotel was already full when I made the reservations so we ended up booking a Studio Villa for two nights. They were overbooked so they ended up giving us a one bedroom. We had somewhat of a tough time finding the villa since the area is very poorly marked and there are trees blocking the signs. That was really frustrating. There are feral cats running around the property and there was garbage all over the place.

The villa itself was pretty clean but a little bit smelly and everything looked really old. The bed was disgusting. It was more like a cot with a headboard and incredibly uncomfortable. Thank goodness we brought our own pillows. The shower head was weak and clogged so water sprayed everywhere. We decided the next morning that even though we were booked for two nights we would leave a day early. As long as we checked by 10am we would be refunded the 2nd night so that worked out well.

Coincidentally, I stayed at this exact same resort as a child when we went on a family vacation probably in 1987 or 88; nothing has been updated about the resort at all.

I don’t know how the price compares to other resorts in the area but I would do lots of research before considering this resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Address: 5785 Milford Road, East Stroudsburg, PA 18302
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernwood Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400-acre Pocono Mountain Resort located adjacent to the Delwaware Water Gap National Recreation Area offering one and two bedroom fully appointed villa rentals. Four seasons of activities include single and family four season tubing, ropes course, zip lines, 18 hole golf, canoeing, horseback riding, bumper boats, restaurant, live entertainment, mini golf, video game area, paintball, skiing at nearby Shawnee and Camelback Mountains, water park packages with Camelbeach, shopping at The Crossings Premium Outlets and hiking at Bushkill Falls - the Niagara of Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Fernwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Pa
Fernwood Resort Bushkill
Fernwood Hotel Bushkill
Bushkill Fernwood Hotel Resort
Fernwood Bushkill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.