We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fernwood Resort

Save Saved
You added Fernwood Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fernwood Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5785 Milford Road, East Stroudsburg, PA 18302   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gorgeous !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Once again im back !!! Back in july i stayed in the studio villa and now im back to the 6 people villa wow!! It blew me away !! Amazing!!! 2 rooms 2 beds by the living room gorgeous kitchen sofa and chimeny in living room...it is comfortable for 6 people to sleep but 14 of us slept fantastic !! Rooms clean and well organized !!! Kitchen huge well decorated...living room amazing! This resort is amazing i love it !!! Next time going for the biggest one for about 30 people !!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    35
    29
    44
    87
See reviews for
101
50
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend in a Fernwood villa as it was the host hotel for a triathlon. The villa was dirty and smelled like stale cigarettes. The kitchen was not clean and the towels were all stained. The water pressure was lousy. Overall, just an awful accommodation. To top it off, they overcharged me and then, when I call to correct the issue, they were rude to me and claimed the charges I was upset about were not made. Avoid this place unless you are stuck staying there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here last weekend as it was the host hotel for a triathlon event. I had a room in the Villas. I travel a geat deal and I can honestly say that I have never ever stayed in a worse place.
When I initially checked in the door to my Villa wouldn't open so they switched me to another place ( after a half hour wait). When I finally got in a unit the fun began. The downstairs toliet was not flushed after having been used. A dirty knife was left in the sink. There were flies in the downstairs portion of the villa. There was not even one blanket in the unit ( there were no blankets on the bed - a first in my experience). Only one small bar of soap was in the unit but it was sort of academic because the shower wouldn't work. In short the place was a dirty wreck. I had paid for two nights ( they required a 2 night minimum) but left immediately after the race and only spent one long and sleepless night at the Fernwood Villas. STAY AWAY!!!!

Room Tip: there are none
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We booked two nights at Fernwood because it was the host hotel for a race my boyfriend was doing (Poconos Half Iron Tri). If not for the convenience of the race events I would have done research to find nicer accommodations. What I’m saying is that unless you have a really good reason to stay at Fernwood, don’t.

The hotel was already full when I made the reservations so we ended up booking a Studio Villa for two nights. They were overbooked so they ended up giving us a one bedroom. We had somewhat of a tough time finding the villa since the area is very poorly marked and there are trees blocking the signs. That was really frustrating. There are feral cats running around the property and there was garbage all over the place.

The villa itself was pretty clean but a little bit smelly and everything looked really old. The bed was disgusting. It was more like a cot with a headboard and incredibly uncomfortable. Thank goodness we brought our own pillows. The shower head was weak and clogged so water sprayed everywhere. We decided the next morning that even though we were booked for two nights we would leave a day early. As long as we checked by 10am we would be refunded the 2nd night so that worked out well.

Coincidentally, I stayed at this exact same resort as a child when we went on a family vacation probably in 1987 or 88; nothing has been updated about the resort at all.

I don’t know how the price compares to other resorts in the area but I would do lots of research before considering this resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arranged for a two night play & stay package in a Studio Villa. The unit - #6145B was clean and very comfortable. It was very quiet ... great if it's "just the two of you"! The bathroom was roomy and clean, but there was unsightly dark brown caulking around the toilet and there was not a single hook to hang anything on ... had to lay my articles on the tub sill - the only other choice was to lay them on the floor (disappointing). There wasn't much of a sight from our patio, but it was still pleasant. The little kitchenette was adequate for our purpose - great to have a few things in the fridge and a nice hot cup of coffee in the a.m., or a glass of wine at the end of the day. Aside from the inconvenience of bathroom hooks, this unit was fine. The sleeping area was fine separated from the kitchenette by the couch. I liked the feature of having a couch and table and chairs in the unit rather than just a bedroom. There were plenty of places to eat - but NOT on the premises ... what was available there was not appealing.
The BEST part of our two days was the golf course! The changing tree colors were beautiful, the course was great for novices and ardent golfers, the greens were meticulous, the fairways - well tended and the staff was friendly and accomodating. There were no waits on the course -- it felt like we had the place to ourselved!! We agreed we would consider returning ... but would be very choosey as to where we would want to be located. The hotel itself was in chaos ... construction all around and somewhat congested. The check-in staff were very friendly and kind.
I expected a "resort compound", but Fernwood has no formal "drive up the road" appeal -- it's on the main road (Rt 209) with the hotel (more like a motel) on one side of the main road and the villas across the street -- and there were hundreds of villas! I could not tell if people were renting and staying there permanently or were there for the weekend in some of the areas.
We both agreed this was a great get-a-way for the two of us. I don't think it would be a great place for a group.

Room Tip: Stay in the villas on the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife wanted to go see bushkill falls. We saw the pictures on fernwoods website, And it looked nice. When we got there, the grounds were packed with cars. The place was overflowing with people, there must have been a conference. The main desk refered us to a building that was reminicent of a tenement on the other side of the property. When we got to our room it had not been cleaned. I was shocked at the room as it was completely different from the pictures. We went to go to the indoor pool but it was closed. That night we went to one of the restaurants and an overserved patron threw up all over. I had seen enough. The next morning we got a call from someone asking if we'd be interested in taking a tour of their timeshare villas. I thought this was a joke, because frim the price the villas is where I thought we had booked a room. I was so angry we decided to leave a day early. At checkout the man at the desk curtly informed me that their would be no refunds. I didn't care, I just wanted to get out. Trust me, I wouldn't waste time writing this unless I thought it would save someone making the same mistake I did.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Firstly would like to thank you for your stay and feedback as we can only grow from hearing the guests’ responses. Secondly, I would like to apologize for your inadequate stay. As for your room not being clean that is unacceptable and I extend my deepest sympathy towards it, housekeeping and other necessary departments have been notified of this miscommunication. The Hotel was recently purchased by new owners and as you may have noticed we have been working very diligently on upgrading and renovating the entire facility. Since the purchase we have renovated and introduced three new restaurants, updated the fitness center, overhauled both the indoor and outdoor pools, and built a brand new pool side bar. Currently we are in the process of restoring the Crystal Ballroom, refurbishing the event center, as well as the entire façade of the hotel is in the midst of a much needed face lift. As for the hotel rooms they are next on the extensive “to do” list. We have had several meetings with the room designer, and the renovation is scheduled to begin this fall. We appreciate your stay with us and hope you will stay with us again in the future to see more upgrades completed.
-Steve Bartlett Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Elmhurst, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We (me and my wife) stayed at the Fernwood Hotel and Resort Villa and came back today. We had reservation for two nights and three days but we came back one day earlier so we left today Sep 27th instead of staying till 28th. The place is disgusting and smelly. The headboard of the bed was broken and the carpet is extremely dirty. The studio villa had a jacuzzi but once you use that you don't get hot water when taking a shower and the shower head is so clogged that it sprays water all over. You are also paying for the first day just to sleep because the check in time is at 4pm and by that time most of the places to visit are close to closing hours. On the second day morning I received a call from the corporate office asking us to attend a an hour and half of meeting at "vacation preview center" and told us that for attending the meeting we will be receiving a certificate for free two nights and three days at a two bedroom villa with fire place, jacuzzi, and a kitchen. When we went to the vacation preview center a sales woman greeted us and tried to sell vacation packages to us and told us that if we don't purchase a vacation package we don't get the certificate for two days and three nights at the two bedroom villa. What a scam! Even the corporate people lie to you to sell the vacation packages. I was mad and asked for the manager and the sales woman came back telling us that the manager is busy and we can leave. When checking out of the villa their system had some error and showed that we had a balance of about $113 to pay, of course we didn't pay since all was paid correctly when we made the reservation but it is a dirty feeling treated like this. Never ever going back to this disgusting place ever again even if they really offer free stays.

Room Tip: The rooms are too old and dirty. They don't seem to change the carpet for god knows how long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Address: 5785 Milford Road, East Stroudsburg, PA 18302
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernwood Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400-acre Pocono Mountain Resort located adjacent to the Delwaware Water Gap National Recreation Area offering one and two bedroom fully appointed villa rentals. Four seasons of activities include single and family four season tubing, ropes course, zip lines, 18 hole golf, canoeing, horseback riding, bumper boats, restaurant, live entertainment, mini golf, video game area, paintball, skiing at nearby Shawnee and Camelback Mountains, water park packages with Camelbeach, shopping at The Crossings Premium Outlets and hiking at Bushkill Falls - the Niagara of Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Fernwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Pa
Fernwood Resort Bushkill
Fernwood Hotel Bushkill
Bushkill Fernwood Hotel Resort
Fernwood Bushkill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.