We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel To Stay During Your Vacation At The Poconos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fernwood Resort

Save Saved
You added Fernwood Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fernwood Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5785 Milford Road, East Stroudsburg, PA 18302   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Hotel To Stay During Your Vacation At The Poconos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed at the Fernwood Hotel And Resort this weekend for 2 nights and three days. This is my first time coming to the resort and poconos. I was more than please with my stay at fernwood. I choose to stay in a villa. The villa was clean, organize and gorgeous. I stay at the studio villa. The small kitchen was great and the living room , room and bathroom were amazing. The pools are clean and big. I only got few complains of fernwood. 1-there is too much clorox in some of the pools. 2- it would be nice to put a flat screen in the room. 3- odor spray for the bathroom. These are minor upgrades. finally, choose this hotel as your stay if your coming by the area of tannersville,bushkill,east straudsford and poconos because it is worth it.Thanks to the staff. Fernwood Hotel And Resort See You In Two Weeks !!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit to our Resort.

It is always our pleasure to serve our guests by welcoming them into a friendly, relaxing atmosphere.

Our resort has many different villa accommodations to offer families and friends of all sizes. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay while with us.

With our activities and amenities at the resort, there is something for everyone to enjoy. Our location is also a great asset, as we are close to fine dining and great local activities.

Guest feedback is very important to us and we do indeed value our guests input and concerns. We have made significant improvements property wide and will continue to do so that we can accommodate our guests to the fullest.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    27
    42
    84
See reviews for
94
49
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

As I booked online I had not spoken to anyone from the hotel, then on the way up our GPS stopped working and I had to call for quick directions and was very pleased to have William at the front desk bring us right in. Once we came into the hotel William greeted us by name and with a smile asking if his directions were helpful, and yes they were! He then helped to get us into our room and explained a lot of the local attractions and discounts that we could get at those attractions. Our room was clean and comfortable, not the Ritz Carlton, but for the price a very comfortable room and we had no complaints. The grounds were clean and comfortable, and it is very apparent that they are actively working on improvements. We were very happy with the kind and competent staff and will return. A great getaway at a great price!

Room Tip: for couples a recommend the deluxe king with the Jacuzzi tub and the in room sauna. A nice size roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center would like to sincerely thank you for your review, and especially for your stay here with us. I will be sharing this review with many of the staff members, especially William, as we were all excited to read it. You are correct we have been working very hard on the Hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future, so that you may see more of the improvements being completed. Again, I would like to say thank you on behalf of the entire staff.

Steve Bartlett Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed at the Fernwood this past week for work. You can tell the main outside building has been renovated as well as the pool area. Landscaping looks good. Go inside the hotel building, and you just went back in time to I'm guessing late 1980's to early 1990's. Just as the other reviews described, dirty fixtures and carpet, black silt coming out of the shower, toilet and sink, old TV with snowy picture. The mattress was old with just a thin sheet on top. I ended up sleeping on the bathroom towels. You can see other hotel buildings on the property that have been let go and are an eyesore.

I know the facility has new owners and are trying to bring back the hotel. I think they need to gut the rooms before letting people stay there. They are too far gone and gross at this point. I know I won't go back there again.

Room Tip: Maybe check out this hotel next year if they have updated the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
First and foremost I would like to thank you for your stay and understanding during this pivotal time for our hotel. Yes, Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center was recently purchased by new owners. In the past few months we have been working nonstop to get upgrades and renovations done. We have recently completed renovating the lobby of the hotel, 3 new restaurants, upgraded the outdoor pool, fitness center and the entire façade of the entire building is currently receiving a great facelift. We are moving forward towards renovating the hotel rooms over the next few months. We hope you will come to stay with us again in the near future to see some more of the renovations we have been working on very diligently.

Steve Bartlett Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at the Villas at Fernwood for 3 days. The place is not a four or five star resort. However, for a family of four it provided enough space without us being on top of each other. We get the ez card for $100 but didn't utilize any of the resort facilities especially after trying to have dinner at the bbq restaurant and waiting almost 20 minutes for someone to even approach us for a drink order. After complaining to front desk and them telling us they couldn't do anything about it we figured why get stressed out while on our mini vacation.
In regards to the condition of the villa everything was working properly, it could of use some updating but it did serve it's purpose well for us. Would I stay again? For the price which I felt was high I would choose a different resort to enjoy my time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for most recent stay with us at Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center. The Villas are perfect for a family of four or even more. To address the time issue you had at Big Daddy’s Family BBQ, this review and comment was immediately brought to the attention of the Big Daddy’s management. We are working on training our new staff members every day. Again, we thank you for you’re past stay here at Fernwood and hope to accommodate you again in the near future.

Steve Bartlett Chief operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed there the first weekend in June. The decor could use some upgrading. I wasn't sure what the ice block window was hiding, maybe it was a good thing that it was there. the room was clean, linens fresh. the shower had 2 small curtains instead of one and when you turned the temp selector to cold it was hot. The biggest thing was in th emorning there was NO hot water. At checkout the lady said it was because of everyone trying to shower at once. Come on people this is a hotel...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
I would like to thank you for your stay here at Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center. We are also very appreciative of your posting of your most recent stay with us. As you may have already heard, the hotel has recently come under new ownership in the past few months. We have been working nonstop to get upgrades and renovations done. We have recently completed renovating the lobby of the hotel, 3 new restaurants, upgraded the outdoor pool and the entire façade of the entire building is currently receiving a great facelift. Again, I would like to thank you for your stay and review, and I hope to see you stay with us again in the near future.

- Steve Bartlett Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Pennsylvania
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The resort villas at fernwood we stayed at in May of 2012 was a dump.Bathrooms were dirty, microwave caked with grease, wallpaper peeling off, fixtures dangling, furnishings worn in disrepair, insects in kitchen. Can't believe I wasted my time nd money. Please don't make the mistake of staying at this resort.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
I apologize that your most recent stay with us was not exemplarity. Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center has been going through quite some changes recently. In the past few months the hotel came under new ownership. We have been working nonstop to get upgrades and renovations done. We have recently completed renovating the lobby of the hotel, 3 new restaurants, upgraded the outdoor pool and the entire façade of the entire building is currently receiving a great facelift. As of right now, the hotel rooms have not been done yet, but are next on our list of upgrades. Here at Fernwood we strive to have only the best housekeepers, and encourage them to take the most utmost care possible. We sincerely appreciate your review and we hope you will come back and visit us again in the near future to see all of the updates through to their finished products.

-Steve Bartlett Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Do not be fooled by the Fernwood website. This facility is run-down and filthy. When we got to our room, we were greeted with a plunger next to the toilet!!! The carpets were filthy, the door didn't hang correctly on the hinges and after a rain, the water ran black (and filled with sediment). We would not have stayed, but we were there for a tournament and all other hotels were already booked. For less than motel quality, we were charged $120/night.

Room Tip: If you must stay, ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for you is posted review of your most recent stay with us at Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center. We have used your review and others to help train our new staff. In January, the hotel came under new ownership. We have been working nonstop to get upgrades and renovations done. We have recently completed renovating the lobby of the hotel, 3 new restaurants, upgraded the outdoor pool and the entire façade of the entire building is currently receiving a great facelift. As for the water running black, it was filled with sediment which was due to a large group of storms and two reports of tornado touchdowns bringing down numerous power lines and trees. This issue has since passed, as did the storms. This issue is being addressed as we speak, but this is another improvement and upgrade that will take time. Thank you for your most recent stay here at Fernwood with us, we hope you will come back and stay with us again in the near future to see some more of the great upgrades that will continue to occur all over the Hotel.
Steve Bartlett Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Also Known As:
Fernwood Pa
Fernwood Hotel Resort
Fernwood Resort Bushkill
Fernwood Hotel Bushkill
Bushkill Fernwood Hotel
Bushkill Fernwood Hotel Resort
Fernwood Bushkill
Address: 5785 Milford Road, East Stroudsburg, PA 18302
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernwood Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400-acre Pocono Mountain Resort located adjacent to the Delwaware Water Gap National Recreation Area offering one and two bedroom fully appointed villa rentals. Four seasons of activities include single and family four season tubing, ropes course, zip lines, 18 hole golf, canoeing, horseback riding, bumper boats, restaurant, live entertainment, mini golf, video game area, paintball, skiing at nearby Shawnee and Camelback Mountains, water park packages with Camelbeach, shopping at The Crossings Premium Outlets and hiking at Bushkill Falls - the Niagara of Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Fernwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.