We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Vista Campground

Mountain Vista Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Stroudsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Vista Campground
415 Taylor Dr, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301   |  
Hotel amenities
Pottstown, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our first time at mountain vista campground, but it won't be our last. The campground was clean and very nice. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean and people were having a good time. Lots of activities for all ages. Site was nice and level and spacious. Bring cash to pay money owed for your reservation. We had a great experience for our first time mountain camping. Would highly recommend this campground.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
10
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We found this campground on a national list of "Top 100 Campgrounds" we have a 36' Class A Motor home and tow a jeep. We made the reservations in the winter and mailed in our deposit because they do not accept cards. This is surprising considering the campground is quite large. We had a level, pull through gravel site with just enough room to park our jeep. The camp sites are close, but wooded so you don't feel like your neighbor is right on top of you. We brought our 5 and 3 year old daughters, and they loved it. Because of the gravel roads, the girls could not ride their bikes around the campground, however I saw older children riding bikes with no problems. The kids enjoyed "mining" for gems, the playgrounds and fishing in the pond. I even caught a large mouth bass! We did not swim but the pool looked great, we watched others play tennis and basketball. Saturday night they had a band under the pavilion and we really enjoyed sitting by the fire listening to the music. My only suggestion would be to upgrade the shower/bathroom areas. Everything works, it's just that they just feel musty, old and outdated.

Room Tip: All the sites looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I have have stayed here several times at Mountain Vista Campground and will definately keep this on our short trip list. The staff are super friendly and the campground is well maintained. Although we didn't use the pool or tennis courts, they looked clean and inviting.

The campground was semi-booked/full when we stayed in July 2013 but you wouldn't hae none it from the peacefullness of the campground. It was great to see the staff periodically drive through the campground checking on things and making their presense known.

The bathrooms building was clean and well maintained. The only issue I have with the showers is that you have to manually hold the handle to take a shower which makes it a bit challenging to shower onehanded. The outside seating area was inviting with the benches, seats and loungers.

Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband, daughter + I stayed here for two nights on our way back from MD. I found it strange that upon making the reservation, I was told that they did not accept credit or debit cards and to bring cash or check. I had to detour to an ATM prior to our arrival. Staff seemed competent but not overly friendly or warm. We were directed (in our 40' Class A) through winding gravel roads (this place is BIG on GRAVEL) then into a rather narrow site with a downward pitch that was beyond the ability of our leveling system. Once we were positioned, there was virtually no room to either side. The entire campground is VERY wooded which was nice during the heat of the day + very quiet at night. We didn't use the pool, tennis court or other amenities but they seemed clean + well maintained but were VERY FAR from our (and most) sites. The store was well stocked but the woman behind the counter actually made me wait until she finished eating before ringing me up. We were able to get a cab to bring us to nearby ADVENTURE SPORTS (highly recommended!) where their amazing staff brought us to a beautiful day kayaking down the Delaware River. Overall Mountain Vista is a clean, pet friendly place but I'm not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a good private campground in the Pocono area. The sites are typically well spaced and wooded. Camp store is stocked. Plenty of activities planned. As a note. BRING CASH As they do not take credit cards.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Was a little weary about staying because we were not able to get an idea, via map, of the layout of the campground. We were pleasantly surprised.... the sites are a nice size, plently of activities, clean pool and restroom. The restroom is situated closer to tent sites and has a lit trail that run along the back of these sites for evening runs. Although it was up a bit of a hill, not a big deal. Staff was really friendly. they are also extremely pet friendly. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Very family oriented. I have read reviews that said the campground is too strict. They have their rules and they stand by them. Which I appreciate. That's what makes it a good place for kids. Staff is excellent. All are very knowledgable and very eager to give assistance when needed. I found the rates comparable or better than other places I've stayed. So if you're looking for a nice , respectful place to stay with your family you can't go wrong here. If you're looking for a party campground this isn't the place. They will ask you to leave. I gave the rooms ( Cabins) a good review only because I saw them but did not stay in them.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Vista Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Vista Campground

Address: 415 Taylor Dr, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty lodging in East Stroudsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Vista Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mountain Vista Campground to your Saves list