We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful house, and very friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bechtel Victorian Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn

Bechtel Victorian Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Berlin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bechtel Victorian Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Bechtel Victorian Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
400 West King Street, East Berlin, PA 17316   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 East Berlin B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful house, and very friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We just stayed at the Bechtel last night after a day at Gettysburg. We hadn't made a reservation and Carol and Richard welcomed us in, when we arrived at 6pm and let us choose one of two available rooms. The decor is amazing - as is the whole house. They were so friendly and helpful for our onward journey this morning. We also loved the breakfast - sharing the table with other guests. Only down-side was the lack of Wifi. Also loved their suggestion of the Restaurant Sidney.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I (30 and 28 years old, respectively) had the great pleasure to stay at the Bechtel Victorian Bed and Breakfast during our October Gettysburg Anniversary trip. At first, we were concerned that the proximity of the bed and breakfast to Gettysburg would be an inconvenience. As it turned out, Gettysburg is a very quick and easy car ride and we were able to park our car at the hotel (did not have to pay).

Carol, the hostess, and her husband are extremely hospitable. We felt welcomed in their home the minute we walked through the door. She quickly realized we were traveling and hungry and we quick to offer suggestions and reviews of local eateries.

We stayed in their smallest room and were still comfortable. Of course, with amazing breakfast food offered every morning, it was tough not to feel comfortable.

All in all my wife and I give this 10 out of 10 stars. We will certainly come back to this bed and breakfast should be in the area again.

Room Tip: Bring your own wine! They supply the glasses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just left the Bechtel Victorian Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn. What an absolutely wonderful experience! The owners, Carol and Rich, are so warm, welcoming, interesting and fun to talk with. The mansion is a feast for the eyes with all the beautiful woodwork and attention to detail. We stayed in the Master Bedroom. It was beautifully decorated. The bed was so comfortable with plenty of blankets and pillows. The sitting area was comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. (Carol said that the recipe for the French toast is on the website. I am going to try to duplicate it.) I highly recommend this B&B and will return. P.S. I am not sure if there is Wi-Fi because we did not bring our laptops and really, I think that the technology would take away from being transported back in time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Bechtel Victorian is very convenient to all the Gettysburg offers but away form the crowds. Outstanding dining at Sidney just a few blocks away. Hoping the owners can adapt to modern policies and technology (wifi) to keep it open.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a BEAUTIFUL inn! No detail was spared. The original woodwork and character was kept throughout the entire Inn and beckons you to adventure into every room. Rich and Carol, the owners, are very friendly and helpful. Being a short drive from Gettysburg, it was the PERFECT Inn to relax after a very hot day viewing the battlefields! The aroma of homemade cookies welcomed us upon our arrival, a nice treat! Breakfast was DELICIOUS, and plentiful! The history of the Inn was extremely interesting. After a brief conversation with Carol as she presented us our room, we discovered we had something in common! We grew up in the same town , bringing back fond memories! Carol's craftsmanship is to be envied, as she made the most beautiful window dressings for the Inn, as well as the fabulous quilts! AMAZING! Carol, Rich, and The Bechtel Inn!!! We'll DEFINATELY return!! And HIGHLY recommend!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Stayed here with my husband for our anniversary weekend and found the Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn through a B&B website that I get "Hot Deals" from each week. We stayed in "Beaulah's Boudoir" and it was absolutely beautiful. It is the only room that has a king size bed and is located on the 2nd floor; even tho I am physically challenged, my husband took my walker up the stairs each time we went in and out of the Inn. The Inn is located on the main road through town, so if you stay in any of the rooms at the front of the Inn there is going to be road traffic noise. Also, the Inn is literally right across from a beautiful church with a bell tower, and the church bells ring out each hour, 1/4 hour, 1/2 hour, 3/4 hour and there is a multi song "Carillon" (sp?). It was interesting and pretty to hear since we live in the suburbs of Washington, DC but it took me a little while to get used to it!! The owners Rich and Carol were so wonderful and so friendly and made us feel so welcome from the get go. And boy, can Carol cook a mean breakfast! One morning, we had a puff pastry stuffed with sausage and veggies that melted in our mouths and the next morning we had thick slices of French bread that were baked with sliced apples, cinnamon and sugar. Mmmmm Mmmm Mmmmm! And Carol had homemade cookies out all day that were so yummy. The Inn is only about a 15-20 minute ride from Gettysburg, so I don't understand why people would choose a square white walled hotel room over a beautiful room in this Inn?!?!?! We took time before we left to take pictures of the Inn and even got Rich and Carol to pose for a picture! This will be my next scrapbooking project. If you are looking for a beautiful house full of Boyds Bears and collectible Boyds dolls, a delicious breakfast each morning, and wonderful hosts to take care of your every need, then the Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn is the place to stay in the Gettysburg area!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This bed and breakfast is an exceptional Inn to stay at. The decore is beautiful with original woodwork throughout. The Innkeepers told us the history of the manion as well and some local history. We stayed in the downstairs suite, which has a sitting room and cherry woodwork. Breakfast each morning was a gourmet treat and just delicious. We highly recommend staying here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bechtel Victorian Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bechtel Victorian Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 400 West King Street, East Berlin, PA 17316
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Berlin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bechtel Victorian Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.