We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an overhaul” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Eagles Mere Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eagles Mere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagles Mere Inn
Save
You added Eagles Mere Inn to your Saves list
1 Mary Avenue, PO Box 356, Eagles Mere, PA 17731   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Eagles Mere B&B and Inns
New York, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Needs an overhaul”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Eagles Mere Inn was once I assume, a great place to be. Now, it should be called Eagles Merely an Inn. While the owner/innkeeper is very nice and bubbly, she seems a bit overwhelmed regarding how to run an inn or maybe she’s been there too long. The rooms are in need of maintenance and updating and the food is well under par. The Inn’s bar has a great fireplace but the cardboard boxes piled nearby and general disheveled-ness make it hard to appreciate. There’s a pool table just off the bar area but with bright fluorescent lights blasting down on the table, you’ll need rose color glasses just to ease the glare. Perhaps you should keep those glasses on during your entire stay as you may have a better appreciation for the place. I used to think that a member of Select Registry, which this Inn boasts, meant that the Inn met rigorous standards, however after recently staying at another Select Registry Inn in Newfane Vermont, I now wonder if Select has become not so selective or at the very least can’t afford to check up on their members.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    42
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
17
137
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I really wanted to like the Eagles Mere Inn as much as I did on previous visits (see my review from April 2012). But this time I was disappointed. The inn is still quaint and lovely. Our room (which we requested) was on the third floor, and while the bathroom was sparkling clean, the bed was rumpled and looked as if housekeeping was either distracted or someone decided to take a nap on it. There was only one bar of soap in the bathroom. As a former B&B owner, I understand the necessity of controlling costs. But even inexpensive motels provide more than one bar of soap for guests. And because we were on the third floor (our request) and were tired after a day of driving and cross-country skiing, we didn't feel like walking downstairs to ask for an additional bar. Because there was no other body wash provided, we had to shift the soap from the sink to the bath. The front desk person was warm and welcoming but the staff in the dining room and kitchen seemed overworked. Our waitress took our dinner order twice (she didn't remember she'd done it the first time). We had to ask for bread and never received it. As to dinner, the menu is tired--it's the same one that's been in effect for a few years and could use some updating. Our trout was overcooked and rubbery. The rice pilaf, which may have been an interesting selection as an accompaniment years ago, does not pair well with the citrus sauce on the fish. At breakfast the omelette appeared alone on the plate--no garnish, nothing else. Perhaps we hit it on an off weekend. We've enjoyed the comfort, hospitality, food and service in the past and hope that it returns, so that we can come back to a place that had been very special to us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

While we are very familiar with the area and have been there many times, my wife and I never stayed at the Eagles Mere Inn. We loved the Inn itself and thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance, staff and wonderful five course dinners and breakfasts. Eagles Mere this time of year is not as busy with tourists so we had to go elsewhere for entertainment and shopping. The famous toboggan slide was not in operation either. The only negative was that the room was tiny and the bathroom/shower was miniscule. We did not stay in the Inn but rather in a building behind it. We had the opportunity to see other rooms that were there and they were much larger and quite nice. If you stay there please make sure that you don't stay in rooms 11 or 12, unless you are very small.

Room Tip: Stay in the main Inn and stay away from rooms 11 and 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We recently enjoyed celebrating our third anniversary at the Eagles Mere Inn. We stayed two nights and were blessed with a winter snow storm during our visit. We were the only guests and as a result I think we had a more special visit than perhaps some of the other reviewers.

We stayed on the top floor of the main inn and although our room did have the slanted ceiling we found it very warm and cozy. However, the bed was a bit uncomfortable and the toilet was sensitive, you had to jiggle the handle just so in order for the water not to run and keep you up all night. Barbie was kind enough to show us the other reviews so we could pick out our room for next time. I think we would keep to the main inn, especially if we return in the winter, for convenience to the meals.

The meals were more than adequate. From the french toast with it's delicious sauce and pumpkin pancakes for breakfast to the duck and salmon for dinner. We were the only guests so the dinner reservations and formal dining attire was waived, we did let Barbie know when we would be returning from our wanderings so dinner would be hot and ready. She was even so sweet as to save the special chocolate cream puff I didn't have room for the night before as a dessert treat for breakfast. Yum!

We enjoyed hiking around the lake in the fresh snow. So very peaceful and serene. Barbie even had some warm winter hats and gloves she was willing to lend us for our hike.Most of the stores were closed due to it being the off season and we saw very few people. We wandering around the surrounding area, although we were limited due to the fresh snow, we visited the Forksville Covered Bridge and High Knob overlook.

All in all we found our visit to be exactly was we were looking for and would highly recommend the inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Virgin Islands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I've wanted to visit Eagles Mere for a long time and it happened to be on our way during a college visiting trip. We hit the height of leaf season; very beautiful. Our room was fine, not fancy but very comfortable. Our dinner was very good - most of the food from local sources. Breakfast was also good but there seemed to be an issue with the servers and we were ignored for quite some time. Since all the servers went by our table on the way to and from the kitchen, I couldn't quite get what the problem was. I think someone was having a bad day! I think the Eagles Mere Inn is what country inns used to be like before they went 'upscale' and became gentrified. We only stayed one night. I have no doubt a longer stay would be very relaxing in this beautiful, unspoiled town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The inn is absolutely beautiful inside. The rooms, halls and common areas are clean and nicely decorated. We stayed two nights in Room 9, a lovely pale pink room on a corner of the third floor. The room was quiet and comfortable. One problem I had was the slanting roof in certain areas of the room and bathroom - too easy to knock yourself in the head if you’re quite the klutz as I am. But the room was a good size for the two of us and the bathroom was large and well-appointed.

Yes, the inn is right on the street in the town but this is Eagles Mere. It’s a very small, quiet town so we were not bothered by traffic or lots of voices or any of what you would normally think of as city noise. Within the inn itself, there was very little noise from the halls or stairways and virtually nothing from adjacent rooms.

Breakfast and dinner are included with the cost of the room and the food ranged from good to very good, though not really what I’d think of as gourmet, and the portions were small. We did have a bit of trouble regarding having to make reservations for dinners eaten at the inn. We were on vacation and not really in the “have to be somewhere at a specific time” frame of mind. Meals were a bit on the formal side, something to be properly dressed for and well-behaved during. Having stayed at B&B’s and inns in the past, we were used to attending breakfast in our casual, hair-still-damp-from-the-shower mode, able to mix and mingle with other guests. The restaurant here, possibly because it’s open to the public as well as inn guests, was not the place for that.

Common areas at the inn include a sitting room and the pub downstairs. Unfortunately, the sitting room was quite small, certainly not an area for groups to gather for drinks by the fire. And it had too much foot traffic to feel comfortable sitting with a good book. That is, it didn’t have the cozy feeling we were used to in other small inns. The pub is OK with a big screen TV, fireplace and well-stocked bar. However, maybe because it was the off-season, there was no regular bartender on duty most of the time. You could sit and have a drink but had to go upstairs and locate someone to come down to serve you if you wanted another.

The town of Eagles Mere is small. The town’s marketplace consists of half a dozen little shops within walking distance of the inn. The crystal clear lake is also a short walk away with several very nice walking trails circling it. During the on-season, I’m sure there is a lot more activity in Eagles Mere – boating, swimming, etc in the summer and skating and a toboggan slide in the winter. It was quiet while we were there but everyone we passed walking on the street or stopping in the shops was quick to smile and say hello.

Don’t let reviews about “city streets” and “surrounded by garages” scare you away from the Eagles Mere Inn. During the warm months, I’m sure sitting on a rocker on the front porch with a good book is a great way to pass the time in this quaint, little town. But if it’s cold outside and you’re looking for a cozy sitting room with a roaring fire and that same book, this may not be the right choice for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We chose the Eagles Mere Inn because it was halfway between our homes for a two couples get together; and, because the majority of the reviews were positive. I think we were between the summer and winter seasons, so a lot of places were closed; but our purpose was for a laid back weekend of cards and conversation, and that was satisified. The inn met our expectations; although all four of us thought the mattresses were due for replacement as they were really too soft.
The food was good; better dinners on Saturday than Friday, but overall, were well prepared with good portions. Desserts were just OK. The staff was exceptional, and well worth the 15% service charge added to the bill.
We are open to a return trip; but usually seek different venues for this once a year get together.
There is a great potential for outdoor activities in the area that might draw us back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagles Mere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Mere Inn

Address: 1 Mary Avenue, PO Box 356, Eagles Mere, PA 17731
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Eagles Mere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eagles Mere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 19 room Bed and Breakfast located in the endless mountains region of Pennsylvania. Our room rates range from $179-$279 which includes a five course meal for two as well as a full country breakfast for two. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eagles Mere Hotel Eagles Mere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagles Mere Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.