We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Families or women staying alone....may want to steer clear” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Inns Dunmore

Scottish Inns Dunmore
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Scottish Inns Dunmore to your Saves list
Scottish Inns Dunmore
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1027 O'Neill Highway, Dunmore, PA 18512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunmore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Families or women staying alone....may want to steer clear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ok...so if your really looking to save or if you are traveling without kids this may fit your needs.

The woman at the desk was super nice but when I pulled into the lot I got pretty nervous about staying there with the kids. This place obviously serves as long term rental to some who are work assignments in the area or have little income. With that being said, the residents (during the day) were also very nice.

The rooms were very worn down and dirty (but surprisingly, no roaches that I saw.) The beds had hair inside the covers and stains/holes on sheets which made me question the cleanliness. No soap or shampoo was provided so bring your own.

Once we returned in the evening the people loitering outside were very "shady" characters. However, overall most of the noise was drowned out by the AC unit so we slept fairly well. Surprisingly, the 4 ATV's we left outside chained to the trailer were not stolen either. Check out went smooth and quick.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    2
    9
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

It was a decent priced inn. They offered room service every day and it was inexpensive. Staff is nice and helpful. It is a good place to stay if you are in Scranton for an event and need a cheap place to stay near the center but don't want to pay the higher Scranton prices. Rooms were okay. could use some updating but the staff is working on making things better and it shows.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

we just moved back to PA from AZ we stayed here for one night with our two children....NEVER AGAIN! children riding bikes in the parking lot, people sitting on the stairs all hours of the nights and we have bug bites all over our legs and torso! Seems fleas were in our room and we do not have any pets or any problems with any other hotels that we stayed at! Half the channels did not come in

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunmore hotels

Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

i Stayed in august 17 2012.. Really guys i was surprised with getting internet download speed of 24.66mbps and the bedrooms was so clean and hygienic i have no words to describe....
The guy on the desk was so friendly he firstly showed up the room and it didn't took a second to decide me to stay here. the price was cheaper as compared to other hotels in the area.it was a great experience to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

On a 3 night stay over, I found peace and quiet and warmly courteous staff. A safe place for women and family and close to North Eastern PA Medical facilities for those needing ease of travel. Comfortable room with good temperature control and good housekeeping. Highly recommended for those concerned with safety, safe parking of vehicles and level entry and exit to facilities, especially for those with health or mobility concerns. Enjoyed my stay. Will come again.

Room Tip: Nonsmoking room first level recommended .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Switched rooms because all the lights were burned out in the room and the staff couldn't change a light bulb. Old mattress are thrown on the side of the building and have been there for quite some time. Shower head was chest high. Bathroom door wouldn't close. Smoke alarm missing in the first room and hanging in the second room by it's wires. Old food and bugs on the floor and the carpeting was stained in quite a few places. Indian run and disgusting. Contential breakfast was never put out and frankly I would let my worst enemies dog eat from it. Shady group of patrons. Didn't feel safe in the back of the building.

The furniture was the only good thing as it was in pretty good condition.

Room Tip: Don't get one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I liked my stay with my husband. We stopped on our way to NYC and had no problems. Called in and they had rooms for a good price. Check in was quick. We crashed right away. The hotel manager gave us water bottles while we were leaving and also was nice to us at all times. We will recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottish Inns Dunmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inns Dunmore

Address: 1027 O'Neill Highway, Dunmore, PA 18512
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Dunmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inns Dunmore 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scottish Inns Dunmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Dunmore
Super Eight Dunmore
Dunmore Super 8
Dunmore Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish Inns Dunmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.