We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worn looking motel with nicely updated rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1896 Rich Highway, DuBois, PA 15801 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in DuBois
Springfield, IL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“worn looking motel with nicely updated rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I was told by the desk clerk that this property was a Holiday Inn from about 25 years ago. The design certainly looked like it. However the clean room we had was renovated with new and comfortable bedding, shower, TV and so forth. Heat/AC was a window unit, walls had some markings. For a non-smoking room, it did have an oder which disappeared after we let the fan run. Lighting was ok but it just felt dim and old. No breakfast was included in the price so no comment on the restaurant. Not nearly as refreshing as other Clarions but still very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
13
24
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The Clarion Hotel was clean, easy to locate, easy access off of I-80 and the personnel were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

It's becoming a tradition. Coming to the Clarion for our yearly motorcycle trip to see the elk. We stayed for a full week this year. We like it here.

We were given a room that had been completely renovated (right next to the room we were in last year). It looked much better! We really appreciated the understated modern decor, which appeals to us much more than the country colors, art and furnishings most hotels opt for. Very nice!

As we found last year, everything in the room worked for us very well. Fast internet, great shower, nice bright light in the bathroom, good air conditioning, comfy beds, and all the tv channels.

Our housekeeper did a wonderful job, and was always friendly and helpful. It was always so nice to come back to a spotless room with everything refreshed.


Andrew and the rest of the staff really seem motivated to do what needs to be done to make people as happy as possible at their hotel. We enjoyed our stay last year and it was even better this year, and we're looking forward to coming back next year. We have no doubt we'll be pleased.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been nicely renovated. It wouldn't hurt to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Clarion in DuBois, and we were pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews below. The front desk staff was very knowledgeable and helpful, the Wi-Fi worked fine, TV worked good, the water temp in the shower was fantastically HOT, and the bed was so comfortable I wanted to try to sneak it home with me. Plenty of pillows on the bed, nice-sized bathroom, room was quiet and had no housekeeping problems. The a/c could have done a little better job keeping the room cool, but all in all, we were really pleased and will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our major problem with this motel was the maintenance. The "daily cleaning" of the room itself was okay, but there was a grody area at edge of bath tile. The carpet and upholstery need cleaning. The exterior door--right next to our room--did not lock; I believe a bolt was missing. We were in a non-smoking room--the only one in a smoking corridor.
The motel is just off the interstate making it quite handy; it is a couple of miles from other restaurants, etc. in town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I needed to stay at a hotel in DuBois on fairly short notice. In the past, we had stayed at the Hampton Inn, which is lovely. I thought I would save a few bucks by staying here. That was a mistake. Our visit, while not terrible, was not up to the usual standards I've found the Choice Hotels offer. Here were some of our problems:

1. Bathrooms badly in need of renovation. Our bathroom looked like it could have come from the 1970s, mold and everything.
2. Unresponsive staff. We traveled with an elderly relative who did not have a stopper in her tub. We tried to call the front desk - uh oh, no phones. ("They were hit by lightning last week," an employee said.) So I had to schlep all the way to the front of the hotel to ask for one. Of course, one could not be located, so they said they'd bring her one. They never did. No explanation, no apology - nothing at all.
3. I took a shower as soon as I got there (long drive) and found afterwards that my armpits were gunked up with some weird, sticky gumlike substance that was on one of the washcloths. It probably WAS gum.
4. Overbleached towels. I mean, the smell was overpowering.
5. Phones (see above). When I went up front to try to get the tub stopper, I asked the front desk person if they knew the phones were out. Her response: "Yeah, we know", as if the question was "Hey, did you know that you got a D on this test?"
6. PA Metal Fest 2011. Yes, this fine event, consisting of tattooed teenagers screaming into mikes, apparently takes place at the Clarion. Forget trying to have a relaxing dinner or drink at the bar while that's going on.
7. Continental breakfast is a carafe of just-OK coffee with powdered creamer. They have a full restaurant, hence no incentive to offer continental breakfast.
8. I booked a AAA rate, but at checkin they claimed there was no AAA rate. The price difference wasn't huge, but still... sheez!

On the positive side:
1. The pool was nice (although they could have used to turn on the filter) and long and wide enough to take laps in.
2. Our sleep was quiet and undisturbed by none of the denizens of PA Metal Fest 2011.
3. The beds were actually pretty decent and cozy.
4. Our housekeeper was a delightful friendly lady whose charm and willingness to help us out with a few things kept me from making this a 1-star review.

Overall, not such a great experience. Next time I'll opt for the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuBois, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I Stayed here on 8-23-2011. Front desk staff was very friendly, room was fine and clean, I have stayed in better. Price for hotel was a little high for hotel and the front staff said they were busy because of gas companies doing business in the area and they could hold their price high. Bar maid was very bad and should not be in the service industry, not even a hello or thank you when I left even when given a good tip, food was not very good either order out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 1896 Rich Highway, DuBois, PA 15801 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > DuBois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in DuBois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean & Affordable Rooms. Conveniently located off of Interstate 80 Exit 97 South on Route 219. Truckers Welcome. Currently, there is no restaurant available inside of the hotel, however, The Dutch Pantry is right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Dubois
Dubois Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.