We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude management, horrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Anthony's Restaurant

Anthony's Restaurant
4990 State Rd, Ste 3, Drexel Hill, PA 19026
(610) 623-6900
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 50 restaurants in Drexel Hill
Restaurant details
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rude management, horrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Unfortunately, on two different occassions I was cancelled last minute for a Christening and a bridal shower because Anythony's received an opportunity to host a larger affair. I did not return to their place of business for over a year and against my better judgement, booked an 80th birthday party there. We were bumped from a private room to the main dining hall. It took over 3 hours to be served our food. Guests were ordering drinks from several servers in hopes that one of the servers would bring one. Most of us never received our drink or even water. We had to eat our meals with nothing to drink. It was very embarrassing considering I was the host. One of the dishes had a piece of gum in the sauce. When the manager finally came to the table, he offered no apology. I'm confused as to how the restaurant continues to do well, when their service proves time and again to be extremely poor and management is ridiculously unprofessional. I can safely say, I will never book an event there and will continue to advise friends and family to do the same.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    6
    7
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place for a group gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My sister had a baby shower for her daughter-in-law at Anthony's yesterday and it was perfect! There were about 50 people at the shower and we had the upstairs room, next to the restaurant. The room was very large and accommodated all the attendees very nicely. Although it was located next to the restaurant, it could not be observed by the general patrons. The room was large and very nice. We had plenty of room for the gifts, a couple of beverage tables, a table for the cakes/shower favors and several smaller tables for the baby shower games. The decor was nice, but neutral, so that your personal decorations wouldn't clash with it. They made the room available for decorating 2 hours before the shower. The manager introduced the senior waiter to my sister beforehand and there were 3 other servers for our group.

The food was served buffet-style and it was delicious. We had a tossed salad with homemade Italian dressing , 2 meat dishes, stuffed shells, potatoes, green beans and fresh rolls. The servers poured coffee, hot tea and other beverages at the tables. We brought our own cakes, which they sliced and served with ice cream @ 45 minutes before the shower was scheduled to end. Throughout the shower, the staff were professional, courteous and did all they could to make sure our experience was wonderful.

If you haven't eaten at Anthony's before, don't be put off by its location at the back of a strip mall. Once you get inside the restaurant, you forget that you're not in a free-standing building in a remote locale. We were there on a Saturday afternoon and there was plenty of parking. Even though a lot of people were running their errands in the shopping center, we couldn't hear any noise in Anthony's.

Anthony's is a lovely venue for a family or group celebration. They provide good food at reasonable prices in a private facility. I've been to receptions in country clubs that weren't handled as graciously as at Anthony's.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorrie
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Excellent Facility, Do NOT Hesitate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

I wanted to let everyone know that if they are in the market for a good facility for a large party, do consider Anthony's. My brother held his wedding there some years ago and did not want to go the 'country club' route but did want a place that paid attention to detail, was attractive and with excellent food. Those were the criteria and Anthony's fit the bill beautifully. Then, for Easter this year, our family wanted to find a place that could accommodate 70 people (yes, the family is that large and we have alot of get togethers!) and so we chose Anthony's. We got a room on the lower level which accommodated handicapped, elderly members beautifully and the space had recently been added so it was newly done, fresh and very lovely, I must say. We decided on a buffet hot dinner that included fish, chicken and beef and a cash bar. It worked out perfectly. Our dinner was great, the wait staff was fantastic and our family had the very BEST EASTER anyone can imagine at a price that was beyond affordable. Perfect for children as they did not have to be "held back" as you would need to do in a restaurant--we had the entire, spacious room. Is it in a 'glam' location? No, it isn't. It is in the rear of a shopping center, but you won't mind a bit. If you are looking for a great place to hold a wedding reception and can't go the country club route, consider putting it on your list and I think you will be well pleased. Thanks, Anthony's--we will return soon!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

The management is rude, insulting and off-putting
Do not waste your time or money.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

very nice

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Anthony's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anthony's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.