We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slate Bleu Restaurant

Slate Bleu Restaurant
100 S Main St, Ste 105, Doylestown, PA 18901-4882
215-348-0222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 120 restaurants in Doylestown
Cuisines: European, French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Doylestown, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A perfect experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our family of four adults went to dinner to celebrate my wife's birthday. Our various meals were prepared to perfection and served with terrific courtesy and professionalism. An absolutely superb dining experience for all. We cannot recommend Slate Bleu highly enough and after only one visit, it has made our (very) short list of favorite restaurants.

Four local residents.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    35
    18
    8
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Salt please”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Food seasoning is so subjective that it can be hard for a chef to get it right. In this case something is better than nothing. After reading the menu I had some high hopes. After the first course came I began to lose all hope. The sautéed calamari was chewy but was properly seasoned. The duck confit and gnocchi were both lackluster. The duck itself had an off taste not the subtle sweetness that duck confit has. The gnocchi themselves were proper, the sauce was inferior to such a good gnocchi. Most of this could have been fixed with some seasoning. As a stated previously it is subjective but I'm not the only one to comment about it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice week day lunch, special treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Slate Bleu is open a few days during the week for lunch, last time I checked it was Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. We had a delicious meal, you can order small plates (many choices) or large plates (fewer). The service was excellent too. More than I usually spend for lunch but worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furlong, Pennsylvania
1 review
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We've been wanting to try this restaurant for several years. Ignore the negative reviews. We popped in without a reservation. They were hustling and bustling. We were offered a seat at the bar and decided to order dinner. The owner/hostess couldn't have been more accommodating. The bartender was great. Had one of the specials, filleted trout with a grain mustard sauce---ooooh lala! The butternut squash ravioli was delicious. The apple tart was so tasty...flaky pastry, homemade vanilla ice cream and the best caramel sauce I've ever had. Amazing attention to detail even in the midst of being packed with customers. Great atmosphere too. Love the fact that it's so close to home. No need to go to the city for fine French cuisine. Thank you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

one of the better in town. seating is odd and a bit noisy, somewhat higher priced at about the higher end of this town

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slate Bleu Restaurant also viewed

Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to Slate Bleu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slate Bleu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.