We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vine & Fig Tree Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Vine & Fig Tree Bistro
19 E State St, Apt 4, Doylestown, PA 18901
215-345-1555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Eclectic, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Vine & Fig Tree, a truly comfortable, warm and inviting BYO Bistro is now serving a relaxed all-day breakfast and mid-day lunch menu. Casual bistro dinners with simple desserts are available Thursday through Sunday evenings. Seasonal outdoor dining is available on our patio. Chef Drew Abbate draws his inspiration for Vine & Fig Tree from the informal celebrations that took place in his grandfather’s backyard filled with long tables of delicious food, trees strung with lights, homemade wine, and the laughter of family and friends.
philadelphia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went for lunch last Sat., and both food and service were very average, we were disappointed, had expected better.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Evening at Vine & Fig Tree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our party of 4 had a really nice first time experience at Vine & Fig Tree. This small byob is located in a row of stores just off the main drag in Doylestown. We joined all of the other diners in opting for outdoor seating (the weather was perfect) and were seated at a outdoor funiture style table with comfortable chairs. Service was friendly and relaxed (which matches the vibe of the restaurant itself). The menu is not huge but all 4 of us found several items for each course thar we would have happily consumed. The menu is geared towards "Mediterranean" which includes some Italian inspired dishes. My wife's salmon entree was perfectly cooked to her preference and my Halibut special was moist, flaky and flavorful. Our companions loved their entrees (hanger steak and rainbow trout.
We spent about 2 1/2 hours lingering over dessert and the wine we brought with us - we were never made to feel unwelcome.
We will definitely return to Vine & Fig Tree!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service was terrible and food was also”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Went their for breakfast. Ordered oatmeal with brown sugar.. It was terrible... just like paste and the service is slow to non existent. I would not go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good & unique Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I love to eat breakfast out on weekends. This place does a good job. Pricey for breakfast, but sitting outside on a nice summer morning is worth it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“breakfast/lunches are the best in town, dinner great too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It is amazing what Drew the owner can put together in his tiny kitchen. The omelets,waffles and other breakfast foods are a great value and truly the best in town. Dinner always thrills me as he has interesting options from small birds to rabbit as well as beef and salmon. While the front dining room is very cozy and nice in the winter my favorite is outside eating in the summer. They often have live music on weekends.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vine & Fig Tree Bistro also viewed

Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vine & Fig Tree Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.