We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“86 West...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knight House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Knight House
96 W State St, Doylestown, PA 18901-4222
215-489-9900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 125 Restaurants in Doylestown
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“86 West...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

Very expensive while lacking the top notch service you would expect at the prices you will pay. Sub par at best. The atmosphere is nice, inside and at the outside bar. From the reviews, including mine, I certainly hope management reads trip advisor soon as this restarant and bar are in primo locations!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Shockingly Bad Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Just got back from the Happy Hour at 86 Main...Part of The Knight House. It was the worst time I ever had there. Happy Hour...I left un Happy! We literally had one cocktail in 1 1/2 hrs. Could have died or grown cobwebs sitting at the bar waiting for service. I have never had this type of service there. It was odd because certain groups of people were getting waited on hand and foot. And one of the bartenders told us she was bored. So much for boredom...make a cocktail silly girl! I don't know when I will be back. Yes the drinks are half price at Happy Hour but $7.50 for a cocktal even at half price is no bargain. Yes, the cocktails are $15.00 regular price! Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Place is OK - could be so much more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Took the family to Knight House - menu very limited and food was OK. Nothing on the menu is new - been there about 2 years ago and seems like same menu.
Service was slow and not many people.
They have place next door 86 West - looks interesting, but kind of small - can't fit too many people.
This is in center of town - seems like with this location; they would have a 5 star restaurant. Disappointing.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I was at the knight house a couple weeks ago with a couple friends at the outside bar for happy hour. We ordered 7 drinks between the three of us and a couple appetizers and bread.
We were charged for 11 drinks, $2.00 for bread that we never got. When we informed the bartender, he got nasty, asked us how much we wanted to pay for our bill (we said what we ordered), took the cup of ice water out of the one girls hand as she was going to drink it and threw it in the sink. Him and the floor manager gave us the dirtiest looks. We are in our 50's, we're not kids and the way we were treated was unbelievable. We conplained to the general manager who insisted that he would take care of it and call us the following day, which he never did. We each called and left a message a week later for him to call us back, which he never did. Anyone going there should be very careful with their bill, because if they did it to us, they have done it to other people. Higher bill, higher tip.....

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware-Sleazy Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Ordered a martini with Stoli and watched the bartender pour Smirnoff, ordered another that was advertised to contain Crown Royal and watched the bartender pour Seagrams. Who do they think they are fooling? The wine list was filled with poor quality, cheap wines that were marked way up. Food is average at best. Eat somewhere else!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knight House also viewed

Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to Knight House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knight House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.