We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK Dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Honey

Honey
42 Shewell Ave., Doylestown, PA 18901
215-489-4200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 127 Restaurants in Doylestown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Just OK Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went to Honey last night for dinner. It was full and on the loud side, but tolerable. I had been to Honey a few times in the last few years, including when they served lunch. My companion had never been there before. I found it not as good as previous visits.

We started off with the Red Salad, which we both liked, although we found it a little too heavy on the dressing. We then moved on to Kampachi Tacos, which were OK, but had a nice spicy kick to them. From there, we had the Black Tea Glazed Spare Ribs, which were a bit of a disappointment, with not a lot of taste to them. Finally, we had Oxtail Dumplings, which we both thought were the best of our choices.

It was a pleasant evening, but nothing out of the ordinary that would bring us back in the near future. With 2 drinks and a shared dessert and coffees, the bill came to about $125, including tip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    37
    19
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, PA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding is an accurate description”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

As a resident of Bucks County, PA, I have been looking for a restaurant that met my high expectations for service and food. If you are a meat and potatoes person, this may not be your place. Look at their menu before you go. If you would like to try the delicaties you see on cooking shows like oxtail, octapus, foie gras (sp?) and yuzu, this is the place to try them. It is not cheap but you get what you pay for. The service is extraordinary. I suggest the last seating so you can chit-chat your way through dinner as the plates are brought to you. Save room for dessert, if possible. Their chocolate coffee creme brulee is to die for...literally. I could write a page about how much I liked this restaurant and now have a local restaurant to meet friends with a sophisticated palette to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

People could look at Honey's portioning and prices and say they don't match up to be a good value. But when you think of what goes into those small plate entrees -fresh ingredients, great knowledgable staff, inovative menu, and a nice atmosphere- you're not paying for just food. The idea behind Honey is that it's not supposed to be "going out to eat;" it's a dining experience. I think it's the places that offer the dining experience that will stick out to you more than the others.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsville, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“you pay for service not food :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just left Honey in doylestown with my husband and adult daughter and have to say the food is just not good. Ally the manager however was awesome she did all she could to help make the night nice, she took off the bill two items that we could not even eat they were so awful. She is a great manager and the owners should be glad to have her, she was sweet and understanding concerning our dislikes. I want to say we love eating out it is our favorite thing to do we are blessed to do it often so I think we are able to review honestly we are not fussy but we would not return here for what they are charging and the quality of food, there are many other options to leave full and satisfied . We had the oxtail dumplings they were so over fried the meat disappeared from the center, the ginger ribs and cauliflower were okay maybe the best thing overall, the buttermilk chicken was an over fried glorified chicken nugget patty for $15 , the cheesesteak bread was so mushy and the taste was like liver, the stripped bass we simply returned as the fish was bad.Sorry to say but aside from the great service and atmosphere you will leave hungrey and disappointed as the other reviewer stated. This is one of the most awful places we have ever eaten:(

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I visited Honey last night and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We had the oxtail dumplings, short rib cheesesteaks (OMG they were good), and grits with pork belly. The service and meal were spectacular as always and we will be visiting again soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honey also viewed

Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to Honey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.