We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What has happened to one of our favorite local restaurants?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Villa Capri

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ristorante Villa Capri
51 West Court ST, Doylestown, PA 18901
215 348 9656
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 125 Restaurants in Doylestown
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
mainlinemadelyn
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What has happened to one of our favorite local restaurants?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We are sort of regulars at this local Italian restaurant. We have enjoyed it many times for its low key atmosphere, informality and wonderful food. The food is still great....IF you get it, that is. We are not sure what happened to the service, but, the last two times we dined, it was pitiful. Waitresses rush by table as diners frantically try to get their attention. Orders are forgotten or gotten wrong. It took us over an hour to get salads with about 3/4 of the restaurant empty. If you need something, be prepared to ask at least three times. Check you bill. Ours was totally wrong. We are not picky diners. In the past, we have received the wrong items and we have really never received the correct deliveries, but, it was tolerated as the food is good. This recent service, however, is a deal breaker.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

You can't tell from the street that the dining room inside is very pretty... or that they have a deck for outdoor dining. From the outside Villa Capri looks like a nice take out place. The Manager Matt is a guitar player and music fan and so Villa Capri offers live music on the first Friday of each month. The food is inexpensive brick oven pizza and hoagie fare - soft drinks and beer are offered too. Not one of the expensive high end gourmet eateries of Doylestown. Go to enjoy local musicians, wonderful food and bring friends for a relaxed and fun time! It is right across from a public parking lot in the center of town.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great pizza and customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We did not know about Villa Capri until lately, since it is a side street. But we are happy to have found it. Real NYC style pizza withe just the right crust. As a former NY resident we love or pizza a certain way. The selection of other Italian favorites is just a good as the pizza. The cashier that greeted us today was fantastic and very kind and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Take-out NOT dine-in”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We ate at Villa Capri tonight and waited 40 minutes for our pizza. Why? The take-out orders took priority. Dine-in customers have to wait until the take-out orders have been placed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't get anything that doesn't come out of a pizza oven”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I hate having to write a bad review about this place because we order pizza from it all the time and are generally happy with the quality of the pizza; however, we decided to eat in the restaurant for the first time on Sunday. It was truly as bad of a dinning experience as I can imagine. The service was poor, the food was far below average, and everything seemed generally unclean and unorganized (including the waiter). We only ordered soup and salads but even from that we could tell no one here cares about serving quality food. For example, the disgrace they call a Caesar salad which consisted of romaine lettuce, drowning in what I am nearly positive was Ken's Caesar dressing, and topped with Kraft Parmesan shake cheese straight out of the plastic bottle.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Villa Capri also viewed

Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to Ristorante Villa Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Villa Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.