We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experiece” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercer Museum

Mercer Museum
84 South Pine Street, Doylestown, PA 18901-4999
215-345-0210
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Doylestown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Managed by the Bucks County Historical Society, this museum pays tribute to Henry Chapman Mercer, noted archaeologist, antiquarian, artist and writer.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An amazing experiece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everything American hangs from the ceilings, the walls, the railings and sits on the floors in rooms at each level. Plan to spend an afternoon at this museum and wear comfortable shoes. This is an outstanding collection of Americana that draws you up and up through the levels of displays. Then, if you have time, visit the Moravian Tile Works or return for another day.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    56
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Interesting.... but could pass....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Maybe it's because I went here when it was 1,000 degrees out, and maybe it's because it was just boring... but I was not all that impressed with the Mercer Museum. If you live near or somewhat near the area, I would say it's a must go! If you are traveling here from out of state, or the country... I say, unless you have a ton of time on your hands in the area... you could skip this.... unless looking at old tools and things is your thing... then by all means, GO!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding collection of Americana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Mercer Museum is a fascinating place. Built from solid concrete, this museum houses a collection of all kinds of tools & artifacts from preindustrial labor. Rooms are devoted to specific trades. Henry Mercer was an eccentric artist. He devoted many years of his life to tile making. His tiles are placed throughout the museum. These, too, tell a story. This is a museum for people of all ages.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice place to visit..if you are in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Even though it was our first time to visit this place. It is packed full of history. I know one thing for sure, that I do not want to live back in that time. They worked hard.
Just too let you know, there is a lot of steps to climb. Your admission price includes a self guided tour. With ear phones.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and spooky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Staying overnight on their Halloween night was spooky and fun! Even had a treasure hunt! Need to get my husband to visit, he loves old tools!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercer Museum also viewed

Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to Mercer Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercer Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.