We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is ok, bar rip off” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maxwells On Main Street

Maxwells On Main Street
35 North Main St, Doylestown, PA
215-340-1880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 125 Restaurants in Doylestown
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Food is ok, bar rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We are locals and have been to MOMs several times for a casual dinner or lunch and the food has always been good, if not memorable. However, the last time we were there we were with friends of ours and we all had drinks. My friend ordered two glasses of wine and asked for "pinot noir" which she gets at every restaurant we go to. When the bill came we saw that her two glasses of wine were $14 each for a whopping $28. She did not want to call attention to it, but I asked the waitress why they were so expensive and she said that it was the only kind of pinot noir that they serve and that's how much it was. I told her that it would have been only right to warn us that the wine was double the price of a regular glass of wine and my friend would have ordered something else and her only response was there was nothing she could do about it. We were not happy, but we left a decent tip for our waitress and left. My husband wrote a letter to the restaurant several weeks ago, but never got a response and for that reason we will not go back. . Every other restaurant in Doylestown can serve a $7 glass of pinot noir except this one? And they can't take the moment it takes to tell you it will be that much? Who goes to MOMs to spend $14 on a glass of wine! Not me! The restaurant does not really care how they get their money or whether the customer is satisfied or not, so I do not feel the need to go there any more.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    10
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good lunch choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Easy walk from the Michener Museum. Sat in a booth in the front of the restaurant. Several local families with well-behaved children sat in the same section, so MOM's is definitely kid friendly. Good choice of reasonably priced appetizers, soups, salads, and entrees. I had the Reuben: corned beef, swiss, and kraut served on 2 very thick slices of rye bread (homemade?). It was delicious. My sister had a hamburger which was cooked exactly as ordered and her comment, "This is one of the best I've had in years." Beer selection was impressive although we didn't order any. Service was average. If I lived locally, I would definitely return for dinner and their evening entertainment upstairs.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Went for the fried chicken”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were disappointed. There are very few places that serve fried chicken in our area, so when we heard about this place serving great fried chicken - we excitedly invited another couple to try it out....we all ordered the chicken and and all came away with the same conclusion - not so great. Very sad.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had lunch here after visiting the Michener Museum. My friend and I shared a Philly cheesesteak flatbread that was meaty and filling. I had the Guiness chili and my friend had the tuna melt. She took half of it home. Service was friendly and attentive. Tables are close but that is part of the pub atmosphere. Many locals from the nearby courthouse appeared to be enjoying lunch here too. There is a 4 page beer menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Hills, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always a good place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Never had a bad meal @ this place. From the many craft beers & good cocktails to the fresh food never disappoints . Arugula salad was nice but produced my only complaint . The pears used were very limp and didn't seem fresh. The salmon was excellent as we're the accompanying asparagus & mashed garlic potatoes. My wife had the burger & was happy with it. It also has a upstairs & downstairs bar.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxwells On Main Street also viewed

Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to Maxwells On Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxwells On Main Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.